We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Excellent customer service, super friendly staff, couldn't have felt more at home. THe hotel is beautiful and in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marly0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Our hotel is truly unique and we take great pride in all that we try to achieve so that all of our guests have a superb experience during their stay. Our thanks to you for sharing this with us and others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,881 - 1,887 of 2,187 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

I recently (June 2012) stayed at the Hotel Viking for a girls weekend away in Newport. The last time I stayed here was probably in 1995 so, the hotel looks wonderful now. The lobby is beautiful and elegant. The rooms are very nice as well. The hallways are another story - as it is an older hotel, there is no easy way to get to your room. I was very very surprised that there were a couple of times when we needed to either go up or down a few steps (2 or 3) while walking to our room. While this is no big deal for me, having a family member with mobility issues, I realized no one mentioned the steps while I was making our reservation or when we checked into the hotel. If I were traveling with my family, I would have been upset. Also, there were 'cold' and 'hot spots' in the hallway - again, most likely due to the age of the building. Our room temperature was very comfortable as were the beds. Slept very very well.
Overall, you can't really beat the location of the Hotel Viking. It is in the heart of Newport - you can walk everywhere. Thirty dollars for parking is a pain - however - please know that it's $30 whether you self park or valet - so for the cost of a tip - you can valet guilt free. It's also nice not to have to worry about your car. I would absolutely stay here again - the staff was eager to please in a pleasant manner. Unfortunately, with so much to do in Newport, I didn't have the opportunity to do much at the hotel other than sleep!

Room Tip: I did call to find a larger room that slept 6 with a seating area so, we could sit and chit chat wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your pleasant comments about the Hotel Viking and your recent weekend stay with friends. As you mentioned it has been a long while since your last visit and the Hotel Viking has undergone some wonderful and incredible renovations with the oversight of Noble House Hotels and Resorts management team. Noble House Hotels and Resorts takes great pride in each and every resort they own and manage and adhere to in keeping within the culture of the community they are part of. Our hotel is truly one of a kind and is unique in its role in the City of Newport and retaining all of its elegant charm and ambience. Our guests are given the best in guest service that we can provide. When booking a room requiring special care or needs, our reservations staff is trained and will walk a potential guest through the availability of services. Upon arrival our Front Desk staff is able to provide assistance if needed in getting to one’s room. Thank you again for your thoughtful comments that will be helpful to others in visiting our hotel. We also hope you can come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Hotel Viking is an absolutely beautiful hotel in a convenient location. I stayed here during my wedding weekend (7/15/11) and I couldn't have been happier. All of the rooms have been recently renovated so it had the classic, elegant feeling without any of the wear & tear. We used the Marble House Suite as the wedding hub, and it worked out perfectly. The suite was large enough for my extended family and bridal party to lounge around while people were getting their hair & makeup done in the spacious area by the bathroom. The hotel lends itself to gorgeous wedding prep photos. Even the pictures of the groom and his friends relaxing in our smaller room were unbelievably beautiful. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and the beds were very comfortable. I can't recommend this hotel enough. It's a little pricey but in this case, you most certainly get what you pay for and it is worth it. We're definitely staying here again when we come back!

Room Tip: The Marble House Suite is perfect for wedding prep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugargookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

What a wonderful tribute to all of us at the Hotel Viking who are recipients of your kind words. Even though your stay was a little over a year ago, your description of that special day resonates loud and clear that all was a success. We hope you plan to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The location of this hotel is the best in Newport, within walking distance of most points of interest. Hotel was first class. Helpfulness of everyone from the valet, wait staff, as well as the front desk was amazing. My wife and I were not familiar with Newport when we arrived, but were experts on the city within hours because of the entire staff. I would never consider another hotel in Newport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therealdealhoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Knowing that all of the hotel associates you met while visiting were able to help you get around this great city proves that our Noble House Hotels and Resorts training program does work. Having happy and helpful employees is one part of the key to having a an organization run smoothly and efficiently. Since guests service has to be the very top priority each and every associate understands the importance of this. We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at the Viking while attending a conference in Newport. I was always greeted with a friendly smile. The room was beautiful and I slept so well that night on the most comfortable bed. The valet service was a little slow but overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Business travelers need a restful night’s sleep while attending conferences. So it is always such a pleasure when we hear back that all was well during the guest’s visit. Thank you for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

First about the pros. The place has a wonderful location in the heart of Newport. It is beautiful with some art deco touches. The service was outstanding. Bedding was beautiful and the beds were very comfortable. And now about the cons. Within half an hour from the check in both toilet, sink and bathtub were clogged. All that was promptly rectified, which reflects very positively on the service, but I think that they need a major plumbing overhaul. Also, there are problems often associated with historical properties, small rooms, small unload area in the front, long inconvenient corridors, which might be a problem with lots of luggage. I would have preferred to know about those in advance in order to be prepared. When hotel is this expensive, one expects a bit more perfection. Overall, it is not a bad place to stay, but hardly worth the full price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowball-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for your honest assessment of the Hotel Viking. The pro’s are all very positive comments and we appreciate this. As to the cons – we are always facing the challenges of keeping our property updated with the latest in modern plumbing. The owners have spent a great deal of money upgrading the hotel’s maintenance system of piping throughout the hotel. We take full responsibility for any maintenance issues that arise. However, the City of Newport also does its very best to keep up with the water/sewage demands of the residents and tourists alike. Sometimes issues arise with the water pressure which affects all of us in the hospitality industry. We also agree that keeping up with the care of a historic property is a gargantuan task and we accept the challenges with our best effort. As to the corridors, it is true there are twists and turns along the way throughout the hotel but very manageable to get around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Excellent Hotel in the heart of Newport. We dined at the restaraunt on a Saturday evening. The service was excellent including the valet, and waitstaff (we had Ryan but the whole staff is just as fantastic) at the restaraunt. The food is superb and the price is amazing for Newport. The stuffed prime rib is a bargain at $20. We had wonderful appetizers (muscles and littlenecks, scallops, salads are great), entrees (in addition to the prime rib the salmon is outstanding) and dessert (order the house specialty banana crepe with chocolate). We liked it so much we took another couple a few weeks later and they remarked it was the best prime rib they ever had! On weekends, they have music and they take reservations. If you're looking for something different - try the rooftop bar (they serve food also) it a magical night outdoors. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyoung09081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

The Hotel Viking is a wonderful unique hotel offering so much to our guests and you have captured the ambience of our One Bellevue Restaurant. Your description of the delicious items on the menu are mouth-watering and makes one want to enjoy the food as much as you and your guests did. We thank you for taking the time to share with others your memorable experience. And, our hope is that each visit to the Hotel Viking gets better and better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
731 reviews
1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $106 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing