We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Viking, Newport RI”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Branford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Viking, Newport RI”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Excellent location, service and accomodations. A great place to stay for a long weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BranfordDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
To be answered: 4-16-12 “Hotel Viking, Newport RI”
Reviewed April 13, 2012NEW Excellent location, service and accomodations. A great place to stay for a long weekend. Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends

Answer: There is nothing more refreshing than a long weekend away from the daily schedules we all have to deal with. So the fact that we were able to provide you with all the right ingredients for a fun-filled weekend with friends, pleases us immensely. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    581
    235
    118
    46
See reviews for
416
968
47
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell junction,ny
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Being seasoned travelers and used to staying at finer hotels we were quite pleased staying at Hotel Viking which is more than just conveniently located on Bellevue Ave. Not being our first choice via Trip Advisor ratings BUT being one of the top five we hoped for the best. Here is where all the historic mansions are situated yet far enough removed from the distractions of the accompanying crowds/noises and minutes walking to the waterfront district. Yes you may find a certain antiquarian feel to the lobby but more so elegance than being "run down". Think old friend welcoming instead of harsh modernism/eclectic. The entire staff from their welcoming curbside manner through the entire check in/check out process was top notch and extremely courteous. We stayed in a King Estate room on the second floor and loved the cleanliness and tidy use of the limited space. All amenities were stocked & present for our use. Large shower area with rainfall fixture made for plenty of room for a romantic shower for two. "Extremely" high marks for the comfort of the bed/bedding. Our room was facing a fairly busy street on Easter weekend and we are light sleepers to start but traffic quieted down early enough both weekend nighst for us to sleep well. THEN (there's always something isn't there?) we were awakened on our checkout day at 7am Monday morning by the hired maintenance crew power washing and leaf blowing the arrival/departure area in front of the hotel directly outside our room. I understand the need for this BUT AT 7AM?? Maybe ask them to start a couple hours later? No other issues but interrupting guests' sleep at this early hour is inexcusable. Regarding parking you will pay for it but the valets are always attendant and your vehicle will be secure on site instead of street side. Finally if you have children they will be happily find a very inviting indoor pool to play in and enjoy while Mom & Dad can soak comfortably in the adjoining hot tub. We had breakfast here upon check out and thoroughly enjoyed it and more so our servers. Well mannered and independently went out of their way to search for AND find a menu item that we were first told was sold out. These are all the little things that add up to our enjoyment staying here and negate the one short lived inconvenience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from street side check in will be quietest if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsthateasy5813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
It is extremely helpful to travelers when they read reviews about places to stay. The fact that you checked on Trip Advisor prior to booking your trip to insure that you and your family could enjoy a weekend visit to Newport and possibly stay at the Hotel Viking. We also are glad that you did choose us and appreciative we were able to meet and in most cases exceed your expectations. We do apologize for the maintenance issue that occurred on your checkout day. Overall though your stay seemed to be a pleasant and memorable one. Thank you for taking the time to write to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dOUGLASTON
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Never disappointed when I stay here . The hotel is awesome! a Great place for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDWARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed during a holiday weekend. I love when a hotel has happy, and friendly staff and that's just what greeted me at the hotel Viking! It's a historic hotel so rooms are large but bathrooms are very tiny and walls are thin. That said, decor was pleasant, rooms are very clean and updated. My king bed was like sleeping on a cloud; comfy sheets and fluffy bedding. Dreamy. The only cons I had were: no ice machine within 2 floors and my kurig coffee maker (a nice touch) didn't work. But the lobby had coffee every morning. I'd stay again. :)

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bookgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We are fortunate to have wonderful associates here at the Hotel Viking who genuinely enjoy their jobs and it shows throughout the hotel. Noble House Hotels and Resorts has a purpose and mission that whoever visits any of their hotels worldwide receive the same warm and welcoming greeting and treatment throughout the guest visit. Our associates attend workshops and follow up meetings to insure our guests are foremost in all of our minds. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

When we arrived at the Hotel Viking, a valet steward ran out to our car and offered to park it for us, $30 a day whether we valeted or self served. So from the start, there was a surprise. And little did we know, around the entire hotel there is free street parking off season! So, anyways, since we arrived in the morning we were pleased to find our room available. So upon entering our room we were a little in design stimulation overload. Every single thing in the room had a different pattern from the walls, to the side walls, to the carpet, bedspread, and table. It was like being in the Willy Wonka Movie! Then we noticed we were in a handicapped room and the shower and toilet area were across the hall. I requested an exchange and was told there were no other rooms at our rate unless I wanted to pay for an upgrade! This was at 11:00 a.m. So we stayed put. Later on that evening a family moved in next door with screaming kids. All night long doors were slamming, kids were screaming, and there was a lot of noise.
They also forgot to put hand soap in the bathroom and when we called for some, it came quickly. The house cleaning staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin,. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Our worst fears are when nothing seems to go right for a guest that stays at the Hotel Viking. Our hotel management team is always extremely concerned and upset when guests have a totally unpleasant experience from the time they arrive until the time they check out. And, unfortunately words cannot change how your experience reflects this. All we can say is we are sorry we could not live up to your expectations from the décor to the noise from the room next door that kept you awake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have had the pleasure staying at the Viking for many years. Always first class helpful staff. This is a VERY NICE hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Your comments express it all .. and it is a tribute to us that you are a returning guest time and time again. We thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was so impressed with the staff and the rooms. The beds were so comfortable I could have just stayed in it all day. Everyone from the bell boys to the cleaning ladies were so so nice and overly accommodating. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandypllm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Your review is excellent and reflects what we are trying to present to all of our guests and that is to maintain a level of guest service that is always consistent and of the highest quality. We are appreciative of your comments and really cannot wait to have you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing