We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel. Excellent service. Good location”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel. Excellent service. Good location”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A friend and I went for a "girls getaway". The hotel has a spa.pool.restaurant.valet parking and is a short walk to shopping and restaurants. The staff was very attentive from the moment we pulled up to the door. We were not there long enough to use the spa and do everything else we wanted to do. The hotel is old world and beautifully appointed throughout. It was busy and there were a fair number of families because of the indoor pool. The room was gorgeous and clean and the beds and linens comfortable and luxuries. If there was any downside the sink was across the hall from the toilet and shower in our room and the sink did mot drain properly. As others have noted the walls are a bit thin and you can hear. People in other rooms.I have to web at other hotels where it is much worse. We ate at the bar and the club sandwich was excellent bit skip the risotto winter veg appetizer. All in all a great stay and I will return and have already recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Isn’t it great to be able to enjoy a “girls getaway”! We are always glad to provide that little extra special touch for our guests to enjoy. We are sorry though you were not able to pamper yourselves at Spa Terre’ – and hopefully on your next visit will be able to schedule this. At least you were able to go to the pool. It is unfortunate the sink didn’t drain properly. Our maintenance crew is always at the ready to resolve any of these issues that arise. Thank you for your honest and forthright review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    588
    240
    119
    49
See reviews for
423
976
48
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I am beyond impressed with the Spa Terre ! Especially Rose and Arron the 2 massage therapists my wife and I had for a bali style massage. We received this as a wedding gift from a friend and I must say they were EXCELLENT. All the services were great we enjoyed the steam room, pool, jacuzzi and sauna area after our hour long massage. I would highly recommend this spa to my RI and Mass friends and my wife and I plan to return every year. The girl at the front desk Penny was over the top nice and helped us with our lockers and provides us water and snacks . She was beyond excellent as well. Be sure to ask for ROSE and ARRON when you book a massage at this fab spa inside a beautiful historic hotel. And they are "LGBT" friendly which is #1 in our book! Thanks again- Catrina & Angela Austin :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Your review is great! We are so pleased that our Spa Terre’ therapists provided you and your wife with an excellent experience. Your friend “picked” the right wedding gift for you both. It is always appreciated by all of us at the hotel to know we are able to provide our guests with outstanding service and yet we always know we can do better. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Recently stayed here with my boyfriend. We usually stay at the Newport Marriott but we wanted to give the Viking a try. The room was quite nice as was the pool area. However we were somewhat disappointed with the bar. The atmosphere there does not seem to match
with the overall atmosphere of the rest of the Viking. There were 3 big TV's tuned to sports channels which to us seemed totally out of place. Seems like nice backgound music would be much better in that setting than sports on TV!
Overall we enjoyed our stay but feel the location and the view from the room does not come close to the Newport Marriott. Better location, nicer rooms, nicer bar area, water views at the Marriott.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailor221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit. We are sorry you did not enjoy our bar in One Bellevue. We realize that each and every guest has their personal preferences and in this case we fell short of your expectations. At least you were able to enjoy the pool and the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I booked a last minute stay at Hotel Viking for an overnight while visiting my son at college. Since it was off season in Newport rooms were available at great rates. I love the location on Bellevue Ave as it's just down the road from Salve Regina, the Cliff Walk and mansions as well as easy walking distance to most shops and restaurants in town. The hotel has great historic ambience which is apparent as you approach it from the street; it is both large and welcoming. A friendly bellman ran out as soon as I drove up and offered to park my car and also showed me where I could self park right across the street (valet or self park for $15). Check-in was easy, and the desk clerk spent a few minutes choosing a room he thought I would enjoy - a basic queen room which overlooked the courtyard. I stayed in Room 2019 and it looked like most of the odd-numbered 2000's faced the pleasant courtyard. Except for some wear and tear behind the reception desk, the hotel looked very fresh, pleasantly antique, but airy and light. The room was lovely and good-sized with traditional, subdued decor and clean, modern amenities. It had a Keurig coffee maker and a small, honor-system bar and fridge, and my only complaint was that there was a sign explaining the coffee/tea would cost $3 a cup - jeez, even a roadside motel let's you make free coffee in the rooms. There was a Continental breakfast available for $9.95 which looked fresh but limited. A complimentary local newspaper was delivered to my door in the morning. The bar and restaurant looked inviting, but I did not have a chance to try it out.
Overall, a very lovely experience, and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard are a pleasant, quiet choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bab6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
We are pleased you chose to stay with us while visiting your son at school. Your cheerful demeanor shines through in describing the hotel, our associates and the proximity of various historic landmarks around town. When you visit again we hope you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Good hotel in excellent location. Parking a little expensive for middle of winter but overall a very good hotel with lots of amenities

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reelfine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We agree the location couldn’t be better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel a weekend in january. when we drove up the hill and saw the hotel we were struck by how beautiful it was.. they still had the outside dressed for christmas. the room were beautifully decorated and spacious. i would definetly return and would recommend !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwolf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
What better way to spend a weekend in January than being at our wonderful Hotel Viking. We are so pleased you picked us and that your visit insures you want to return when in Newport again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Viking -again - it was was excellent!!! This is one of the main reasons I continue to visit Newport! The staff are always so welcoming and personable. The room we stayed in on this visit has been recently updated and the decor and amenities were just beautiful. Even though January is the off-season, it is still one of my favorite times of the year to visit and the hotel never, ever disappoints!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agr1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
We wish everyone could come join us at the Hotel Viking for an inviting January stay. There is nothing more welcoming and warm than staying at our unique style historical hotel. We offer the latest in conveniences with the charm of another era and our associates enjoy treating our guests with that special touch of personable professionalism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
645 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing