We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced a tad”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Beautiful hotel and very comfortable. Stayed one night and was very disappointed on check out to realise that we were charged 74 dollars for 2 short phone calls to a car rental in Boston. I felt this was completely extortionate as one of the phone calls didnt even go through upon querying this we were told thats the total and it was non negotiable. Like i said a nice hotel but would advise against using your room phone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Your comments are welcomed and we are pleased you enjoyed the hotel. We are concerned you were charged for a call that never went through and hope you were able to get this adjusted. If not, please contact the hotel so we can take follow up on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,940 - 1,946 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

First class hotel. The beautifully restored Georgian Colonial building reflects the style of Newport's historic homes and attratctions. Staff very helpfull, restaurant had fresh seafood and also a lovely breakfast buffet.
Central, withing walking distance of shops, restaurants, cliff walk, tennis hall of fame and the waterfront.
Indoor swimming pool, fitness center, body treatments.
We asked for a double room with two twins. As these rooms were not available we received a suite.
Perfect !!! Thank you for this unforgetable stay !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvdzavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Noble House Hotels and Resorts are all so unique because they truly are one of a kind! Traditionally Noble House chooses hotels that are reflective of the area they are located in. In our case, the Hotel Viking is a wonderful example of Newport’s historic past combined with modern day conveniences. We are so pleased you not only had a wonderful and unforgettable visit, you were able to sightsee as well as take full advantage of all of our amenities. We hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

A beautiful, historic building, in a very convenient location. We were able to walk to the waterfront easily, and there were a number of restaurants nearby including a small place that did a great casual breakfast menu, if you were not already on a B&B arrangement at the hotel. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit-warren - we were in a newer block and finding our way to the room seemed like an excursion in itself. The bedroom was elegant and very comfortable, although I felt that being charged extra for using the coffee machine in your own room was unreasonable.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank By_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for your review. There is no doubt we are in a great location for our guests to walk around Newport easily and enjoy the city. Our hotel does try and provide guests with a memorable and elegant place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hotel staff was very polite, and ready to help. The hotel is centrally located and one can walk to the wharf area, to the start of the Cliff Walk and it's also an easy walk to a few of the Mansions. The room was well decorated, the bed and pillows were very comfy!!!!! A great experience and a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstevesNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

The Hotel Viking takes great pride in all of our associates and their professionalism and genuine enthusiasm in working with all of our guests. We realize and are appreciative that we are in a wonderful location and in a great city and can offer a wonderful experience.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The Viking is a classic hotel-in every meaning of the word. Don't expect large spaces unless you are paying the big bucks--it is an old hotel but with new features in the rooms. Bathrooms are small (but very nice). I don't recommend it for a long term (several week) stay unless you have a big room. Perfect for a weekend away. Great bar and food, and located within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobmac31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Elegant, classic and filled with nostalgia of the memorable past of Newport’s gilded age is how many guests have described the Hotel Viking. Your emphasis on what to expect is realistic and how we present ourselves to the public. The hotel is a wonderful place to take that getaway weekend – or even an overnight trip. It has all the amenities and comforts and you have shared that. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a historic property, and the rooms are not standard. Other reviewers have commented on the small size of the rooms, but they are unique, and very clean and comfortable. I visited Newport with a friend, to tour the mansions. The Hotel Viking was perfect for our stay. The Viking's excellent, attentive, and helpful staff really made the visit memorable. From restaurant recommendations and reservations to touring suggestions and assistance with local transportation, they were always there to help. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

It is always appreciated when a guest can capture what the Hotel Viking really is and that is - a small charming unique historic hotel located close to the downtown, the wharfs, the mansions, and the beaches. The management team continues to guide and train all associates so we can be the best in the industry. We all work hard to try and achieve this and we thank you for seeing the results.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We've stayed at the Viking 3 times and every room is different. This room was carved into a corner so it was very unique but had small bedroom area with too much furniture. The only mirror in the bathroom was the make up mirror on a pull-out extender so it was challenging to get dressed for the wedding we were attending. The food at the restaurant was fair. The hummus app was loaded with red raw onion. The "Chef's special" chowder was served luke warm so I sent it back to be zapped, which is always suspect.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before deciding. Room 418 would NOT be good for a heavy set person
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

The Hotel Viking is a small unique historic boutique hotel located in a great area in Newport. Our accommodations vary in size and we make the very best of the space that we have for each room. We also take full responsibility if a guest has not had a positive and memorable experience. We ask and encourage our guests to let us know when something needs to be addressed and corrected. One Bellevue is a great place to dine and we do apologize your food wasn’t want you expected. Once again with a guest 's honest and forthright comments, we can change what needs to be changed. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
711 reviews
1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $125 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing