We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with wife and 2 teenagers. $20 charge for car park, also occupancy charge. Staff at reception very friendly. Room spacious, beds comfortable. Very central location. In the morning explored Newport on foot, left car at Hotel. Room was clean, no problems with the decor unlike other reviews. Shower excellent.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are delighted to have received this glowing review on your family’s overnight stay. Our central location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport is certainly ideal for access to all of the best shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. We look forward to having your family stay with us again the next time you return to our beautiful “City by the Sea!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    377
    213
    90
    70
See reviews for
311
467
22
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendon, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I brought a team to the NHH for a Team Building & Meeting and we had a fabulous experience. We chose the "Meeting on Board" which included a sail with American Cup Charters (also fabulous), a meeting space and a dinner. The overall experience from initial reach-out through conclusion was outstanding. We worked with Greg Nawrocki to plan our day - he responded within moments of sending an email and helped work through the details quickly. They were accommodating to changes (having the included dinner at lunch) and made the process very easy.
On the day of the meeting, we had everything we could need. A secure space for our belongings while on the trip, an amazing "at sea" experience, a fabulous lunch and a well set up meeting space. Everyone was also pleasant and customer focused. Our server for the day Michael was attentive without being intrusive as was his support Moe. Julie helped get us ready for our sail and our hosts on the ship were amazing. We were on the American Eagle with Herb as our captain and his hands Garrett and Ben.
While it may be a bit pricey for a meeting - it was well worth every penny and I would highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this outstanding review regarding your Team Building & Meeting. We are thrilled to hear that our level of service met your expectations while addressing all of your needs expeditiously. Our Sales team is dedicated to ensuring every aspect of your meeting runs smoothly and according to plan. We thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you and your team back to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was so horrible, we checked out less than 1 hour after checking in. The hotel has a great location right on the main street in town next to the water, but that is about it.

The quality of the hotel is that of a seaside motel at the Jersey shore. There are few amenities at this hotel. No bellmen, no valets. It is a park yourself and walk your stuff to your room kind of place. The demographic of this hotel seemed to be that of recent college graduates who are looking for a quick cheap getaway to party without getting kicked out.

Our room was directly across from the elevator and you heard everything going on in the hotel. The rooms were paper thin. The bathroom was functional but basic. I think my dorm room in college was nicer. The room was equipped with an extremely noisy A/C unit that barely worked and two double beds that were hard as a rock. The rooms themselves were in need of love. Wall paper was pealing, carpet was stained and torn and the finishes were updated probably 25 years ago.

The only staff member I saw was the girl who checked us in. She was courteous, but I wouldn't say that this hotel had much service.

I would recommend this hotel to someone looking for basic accommodations and a low price. Keep in mind you get what you pay for at this place. I personally would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudence Island, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I usually stay here a couple of times a year. On this last stay, we spent 2 nights and 3 days. From the time we checked in up until we left, we experienced nothing but excellent customer service especially from Patti O’Neill. She is fantastic! She always comes by our table each morning in the dining room to make sure everything is alright and if there is anything that we need.
Patti’s personal touch in addition to the rest of the staff made this stay the most memorable experience. Patti found out that we were celebrating our anniversary. So when we came back to our room one afternoon, we found truffles and champagne waiting for us with a note from her saying “Happy Anniversary”.
The rooms are perfect and the service is excellent but mainly because of Patti, we return to the Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina again & again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cam_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Happy Anniversary! We greatly appreciate you allowing us to be a part of such a special between you and your husband. Your loyalty is very much valued as we understand that there are many choices in Newport. We cannot wait for your next visit to the “City by the Sea” so we can continue to provide you with the same level of customer service you have both become accustom to receiving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Before arriving, I looked at their website to see what the hotel offered. I saw pillow top mattresses and other things. Sounded amazing and noticed how pricey it was. Our room (king size bed) was maybe a Motel 6 standard. No pillow top mattress, if it was I couldn't tell at all. The pillows were thin and rock hard and the bathroom was the tiniest thing ever. The shampoo/soap/etc was already used, I threw all of them away, the lotion was HALF gone!! Gross!!! Hair from the previous vacationers was left for us to tip toe around. NOT worth the price of the room!!! My boyfriend has traveled a lot and even was grossed out by the room.
Some friends stayed in a double room and their beds and pillows were soooo much more comfortable than ours. I took one of their pillows for our last night (stayed two nights).

The only bonus about this place was the location. Amazing if you want to walk around and/or bar hop. I had little interaction with the staff, so cannot comment about that.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Syrup15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated regarding our guestrooms, as we truly value all guest opinions and take them into consideration when making improvements to our property We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, as our staff is available to assist and address all of our guests with any requests or concerns to make their stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was our second stay at “The Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina”, in Newport, Rhode Island. We stayed for three nights July 7-10, 2014.
Upon arriving we checked-in with Nasia ( Asst. Mgr.). She was so welcoming and very helpful, I told her about our wonderful experience last year. Coincidentally, we were given the same room as we had the previous year. The view of the harbor was spectacular.
Next we were greeted by Debbie in Marketing, before breakfast the next day. We had a wonderful conversation. Her friendliness and eagerness to help was so appreciated. She had brochures pulled for us and left at the front desk.
The next day we had a problem at breakfast, perhaps due to the fact that they were unexpectedly, short-handed. I talked to Nasia about the situation. She immediately went above and beyond to remedy the problem and to make sure it didn't happen again. I can’t say enough about how helpful she was. Her concern about making the guests happy was very apparent. I believe she is an asset to this hotel. Her wonderful personality and concern were so very much appreciated, and I felt she went way beyond duty, because she truly cared.
And then there was Michael – the restaurant manager--- after hearing of the problem that I had, from Nasia, he too, went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect the next two days. He was truly concerned and very accommodating. He came back frequently to our table, to make sure that we were enjoying our meals and to make sure that everything was alright. I felt as though he was a friend, by the time we left.
Although we neither wanted nor expected any problems, life is such that sometimes mishaps occur. I believe, in the end, it is more about how the problem is addressed.
All in all, we had a great time and hope to visit again this year. If you go, you will be pleased to meet Nasia -- she will greet you with a big smile and open friendliness, as will Debbie and Michael.

Room Tip: ask for the harbor side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Mrs_K2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this radiant review regarding your 3 night stay and your awesome experience with our staff. We strive to ensure everything runs smoothly during our guests stay, but unforeseen incidents do occur and we do our best to correct them. We value your loyalty and we await your next visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The staff at the hotel are some of the nicest that I have encountered in my travels. Our group was greeted by Courtney who was very welcoming. After randomly telling her we were on an annual girls weekend away Courtney graciously sent a bottle of wine to our room. We always look forward to seeing Jen and Chris at the bar. Although we only see them once a year, they always treat us like we are regulars. They are awesome. The location of the hotel is great with views of the harbor. I highly recommend this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieNeves, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
It is wonderful to see your weekend get-a-way was fabulous with superb service from Courtney and our associates here at The Newport! Seeing that your travel often we value your comments and were excited to see our service created the experience. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to having you back here with us at The Newport soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing