We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Harbor Views from the Room...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
River Edge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Stunning Harbor Views from the Room...”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous harbor views, we enjoyed watching the sunset over the water as the sailboats went past our window. This hotel is in a tremendous location with great access to Thames St., and several wharfs nearby (easily within walking distance) with entertainment, food, drinks, shopping. The staff is welcoming. They provided complimentary water bottles for us during our stay. Quiet hotel, with a beautiful salt water indoor pool. No fitness center, no spa. We have no complaints except: the one (major) drawback? The bathrooms are in sore need of updating, and a little TLC. In our bathroom the fan didn't work, a bulb was missing from the light fixture over the sink, they forgot to leave soap for us...just the beginning.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the harbor provides gorgeous evening viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you were able to take full advantage of our tremendous location – right in the heart of historic downtown and just steps away from the city’s best shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions! We appreciate your feedback regarding our guestroom bathrooms, as we greatly value all guest commentary and take it into consideration when making improvements to our property. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    397
    221
    92
    73
See reviews for
336
491
24
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Staff was top notch, food was good hotel fare, view was spectacular, pool was perfect for kids and location was great. I was nicely greeted by staff by name and they helped us w everything we needed. Only downside was lack of refrigerator in our room. I would strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Requested adjoining rooms when we arrived... they easily accommodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent experience at our property. We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your family’s expectations in every aspect including our service, food, views, amenities, and location. While our guestrooms unfortunately do not have refrigerators, we do offer them based upon availability and for an additional fee by inquiring with the Front Desk. It would certainly be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great rooms, with a wonderful view on the ocean/bay. When your there, ask for Keith Taylor.
The hotel has free WiFi, and it's pretty fast. We had a room with two big queen size beds, that were very clean and neat.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asafgim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your harbor view guestroom accommodations as well as the wonderful service from our Front Office Manager, Keith. We look forward to providing you with another enjoyable hospitality experience the next time you’re in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at the Newport Hotel and Marina for a weekend to celebrate my husbands birthday. The hotel was an average rating with a great location. I was able to take nice pictures of the sunset from our room. The restaurant Pier 49 was excellent. We were treated to excellent service by Cris and the chef Aga. The meals were delicious, we loved the fried calamari. It was cooked in a butter/lemon sauce with just the right amount of breading. We would travel the 2 hours to have it again...

Jeff and Michele

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for writing a review regarding your guestroom accommodations and Pier 49 dining experience. We are glad that you were able to capture the picturesque views of Newport Harbor right from your guestroom! Your kind words are greatly appreciated, especially the commentary highlighting the excellent customer service you received in our restaurant from Cris and Chef Aga. We look forward to welcoming you both back the next time your travels bring you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Recently in Newport and stayed at the Newport Harbor Hotel (3/29/14) to celebrate a 50th birthday. I worked with Sr. Sales Manager Greg Nawrocki to book the room block and he was able to secure harbor view for all guests (6 rooms). Greg was a pleasure to deal with as he seemed to be genuinely happy to assist me and to have us stay at the Newport Harbor Hotel. Couple of especially nice touches were early check-in and a dessert plate and bottle of wine in the room of the birthday boy. We also had a drink in the bar (and breakfast the following morning) in the hotel and I must say everyone we dealt with was the same as Greg. Eager to assist and wanting to be sure we had a great visit. NHH is so centrally located, it made it easy to walk to anywhere we wanted to go, even though it rained most of the trip. I have seen the complaints about $8 for parking and if that upsets you, stay somewhere else and then see how much you pay for parking each time you drive into the heart of Newport. I would recommend the NHH to anyone looking to be treated very nicely in a comfortable setting in a superb location. Nice work Greg and team.

Room Tip: Harbor view is worth the extra dollars in my view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We are truly overjoyed with your glowing review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our superb location and staff’s attentiveness. Thank you for highlighting the exceptional service you received, specifically from our Senior Sales Manager, Greg. It was a pleasure having all of you as our guests to celebrate a 50th birthday and our team looks forward to hosting your group again for a future event or overnight getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The room views on the marina side are great, the lounge with a fireplace was nice and the location is excellent. All hotel staff contact was as it should be, but the building is in need of serious soundproofing between rooms. On Friday night we were awoken to the sounds of some energetic lovemaking to the east whereas Saturday night a vile high volume argument broke out to our wild wild west. Needless to say we used our wisper voices and ducked out of this O.K. corral early Sunday with our heads down!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed the breathtaking views of Newport Harbor and Pier 49’s fireside lounge. However, it is concerning to learn of the distractions you encountered during your stay from surrounding guestrooms as we have a “zero tolerance” policy in place regarding excessive noise levels. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. In the future, we would like to recommend to immediately contact a Manager on Duty should there be anything that we can do to improve your stay. It is our hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great location. The rooms themselves are okay. Shower didn't drain, shower head was moldy, desk light didn't work, mattress was worn and uncomfortable, streamers from a previous person stay were still tape in the corner with a web around it. Charge for parking $8 per day off season and $20 during the season. This was new starting this December. We explained our issues to the manager. She thanked us, was sorry to hear about the problems indicated above and told us they will address the room. They didn't offer any compensation for us being unhappy and didn't seem to care. They made no effort to make this right.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We continuously strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations and sincerely apologize for falling short during your recent stay. All of your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and has been forwarded along to the appropriate mangers so that these areas of concern may be addressed immediately. It is our hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property during a future visit to Newport to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing