We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, perfect location, downhill from there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Newport. The location is great for someone who wants to park the car at their hotel and leave it. It is also in the middle of the harbor so many of the rooms have a great view.

The rooms are in serious need of an update. Everything is showing age and in some cases appears dirty. I was surprised to see them this way based on the price and the level of competition in town. When this was the Treadway Hotel there were only a couple of other places to stay. Now Newport has a number of options and this hotel should feel the need to compete. The worst part of the room had to be the bathroom. I honestly have never seen a hotel bathroom this small in the United States. If you are claustrophobic you will probably need to leave the door open.

I really enjoy Newport but the next trip will not include a stay at this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank DJA1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write on review on your recent stay. We appreciate you complimenting our location and harbor views, however are disappointed that we were not able to meet your standards beyond those two attributes. We understand there are many accommodation choices in Newport, but we absolutely take pride in offering the best location, service, and value. It is our hope that you will reconsider staying with us again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were here for a wedding in October. Accomodations were very good, but the employees we worked with were exceptional. Ana on the from desk, conceirges Paula and Freida, and Leo in housekeeping all helped us through different concerns. I left a new pair of pants in the room. Leo not only found them, called me, but came in on his day off to send them FedEx overnight.

Room Tip: Beautiful harbor view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 819barbk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We are truly overjoyed with your glowing review. Thank you for highlighting the exceptional service you received and mentioning specifically Ana, Paula, Frieda, and Leo. We are proud to have such wonderful staff members on our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My family spent a weekend there for a wedding. We found it to be noisy and the rooms are small. The people that work there are very nice and the view of the harbor is great The location is great also but they need to update the hotel a little more and fix the noise problem as you can hear your neighboring rooms.

Room Tip: I would ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your overnight accommodations. We appreciate you commending our service, views, and location. However, it is concerning that noise was an issue during your stay as we have a “zero tolerance” policy in place regarding excessive noise levels. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. In the future, we would like to recommend that a Manager on Duty be contacted immediately should you encounter something unsatisfactory so it can be addressed appropriately. It is our hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

For a property's that is pricey they need to put some money back into this place.
It's an older property in Newport and the rooms are small. You can hear most things happening next door as well as anyone in the hallway. The bathroom was huge if you compare it to the head on a 40' sailboat. Seriously, the bathroom is pretty tight. The width of the tub narrow is a bit daunting. It's hard to turn around without hitting yourself on the soap dish (I'm average size)
There was mold in the tub, the towel rack was loose as was the hair dryer. I thought they might fall off the wall. Plus you had to flush the toilet three times for a successful flush. It's funny, trying to be "Green" they ask you to reuse your towels, but they have dated toilets with several gallons of water in them...... "Green, I think not"
No closet, just a small rack, no luggage stand, NO SAFE, PLUS two terrible mattresses in our room.
The view is outstanding on the bay side. The parking lot, not very scenic.

Lots of seniors around. Maybe they don't mind since you are in the center of things.

For what you pay, the only extras you receive is the morning paper and flavored water in the lobby.

The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Get a bay view but prepare to pay for it $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarvardPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Please know that we take great pride in offering the best value in Newport, especially with our outstanding location and service. Aside from this, it is extremely disappointing to learn of your unsatisfactory experience. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations during your stay. We take all of our guest’s feedback wholeheartedly and into consideration when making improvements to our property. Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were here for a wedding in the area October 12, 2013.The location is perfect. Great view of harbor. Rooms were clean but small and you felt a little cramped. Not much closet room either. Average hotel. For the price we paid we should have gotten free parking. We had a king size bed which was very comfortable. The pool was really nice although we didn't use it but it looked inviting.The staff were very courteous and friendly. We didn't visit the spa or fitness center so really can't comment on that. We enjoyed our stay here.
.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willliam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. We take pride in providing a perfect location, clean accommodations, and friendly service so we appreciate you highlighting these attributes. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in town – we’d love to welcome you back to The Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

As part of a conference we spent several days at the hotel. Sitting on the harbor with a bayside view, the location was great. The hotel is older but, in my opinion, it adds to the atmosphere of a small New England town. We were there when a cruise ship was in the harbor so there were much more people around admiring the fall colors. even though it was a but crowded, it never felt closed in. The staff at the hotel was exceptional; very helpful and friendly. Rooms was a bit older dated and some of the electrical outlet didn't work, but well worht the stay, even if it is for business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOM A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. We couldn’t agree more that our harbor view location creates an idyllic backdrop for conferences being held at our venue! We strive to maintain our small town charm, all while providing the best service and accommodations. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having another opportunity in the future to host you and your company again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina is located right in the Newport Harbor, with amazing views of multi-million dollar yachts. Unfortunately, the hotel is older, with standard hotel rooms, that have been nicely renovated, but are still older hotel rooms. The bathrooms have nice marble counters, and the bathtub is full sized, but the bathroom itself is very cramped, and hard to move in. The bed is comfortable, with a new mattress, and the furniture on the whole is nice. The overall room is just a standard hotel room, nothing very exciting, especially for the high end price. I will stay there again if in town for business, but it is just a standard hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are the only way to go. Rooms facing the road are not anything worth spendin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your overnight accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed our amazing harbor view! We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time business brings you to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $91 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing