We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Pricey for hotel however the location is great. The room service was terrible. We were not able to have our room serviced because we got back to our room at 330 and it was not cleaned yet. The woman who was suppose to service our room left at 4 even though the front desk told us it would be serviced later. Overall experience okay. The room was clean however very expensive for what you get. Reminds me of a fancy motel. Paying for parking each day is also a drag!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kpp1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Our housekeeping staff does its best on servicing all of our guestrooms in a timely fashion and we apologize for getting to your room later in the day. In the future, please do not ever hesitate to contact the Front Desk to make housekeeping aware that you are out of the room for the day so we can service it at your earliest convenience. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next visit to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,294)
There are newer reviews for Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is nothing special as hotels go and as such, it seemed very overpriced. The rooms and bathrooms are very cramped for space. There were three of us and we ended up having to take turns putting out our toiletries for use because of lack of space. It felt like having to check out every day of the stay. It seems that their rates are based on the fantastic waterfront location in downtown Newport. We definitely enjoyed the proximity to beaches, the Cliff Walk, the mansions, an arcade, great shops and restaurants, etc. The hotel's restaurant is average and we weren't allowed to sit inside, so we got some light blankets from the car so that the chill didn't ruin the experience.

Room Tip: The waterfront room had a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the close proximity to all of Newport’s best attractions that are within walking distance from our hotel. Although we appreciate your honest feedback, we are regretful that we did not meet your guestroom expectations. We understand your concern for the lack of extra space for storing toiletries in the bathrooms and will certainly look into improvement options. Again, we value your remarks and look forward to exceeding your expectations during a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Expensive hotel in good location but nowhere to sit with friends/children other than the outside bar - even though it was cold outside. Parking is extra each day which is ridiculous when you a resident.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is modest and convenient at its best. The rooms are small, the hotel and amenities are dated, and the service includes the basics, but the location is unbeatable and the pricing is reasonable. I enjoyed the trip to Newport and the ability to walk wherever I wanted to go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We sincerely value all guest feedback and appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. Thank you for highlighting that our location is unbeatable and the pricing is reasonable. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Newport and we certainly look forward to having you return to our property again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were greeted by a blonde women, who I believe is the concierge, she was snobbish and rude. And made it a point to make us feel unwelcomed. Upper management wasnt any better. I've stayed at many hotels from 5 stars to 2 star and have never been made to feel like dirt. If we had not prepayed for the room I would not have stayed.. The check in staff was pleasant. The rooms were small and outdated. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rose_S569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We would like to extend our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Hospitality is our specialty and we want to ensure that each and every one of our guests receives a warm welcome upon entering our hotel. It is with great regret to hear that we fell short of this important standard. Again, we apologize for this and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review so we can better improve our customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Place was ok. Super expensive but it's good location if u plan on staying in downtown newport. Still have to pay for parking $15 a day. Rooms were average kinda small and little dirty for me. I did like that they had robes. Next time I go to newport we will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. We continuously strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations on all levels and it is our hope that you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Location great!! couldnt find the bar the only one we found that was part of the hotel was the one outside. Pier 49 but... since it was raining........ that was out. check in was fine, hotel staff treated me professionally, courteously, and promptly. Getting to the room was another issue. Walked in and it was MUSTY!! The must was coming from the air conditioner, call front desk and they sent someone up while i was out. I think they just sprayed the room because the moment the A/C turned on the smell was back. I had to leave the A/C off all night so it wouldnt trigger my migraines. for the 289$ i spent on the room you would think that everything was working efficiently and they would upgrade the walls within in the rooms. So PAPER THIN that i could hear the conversation next door which included children which i specifically asked them not to put me near any families. I dont think i will be going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your overnight accommodations with us. We appreciate you highlighting our great location and the professional customer service you received, however we are disappointed to read of the unsatisfactory occurrences that you encountered during your stay. We strive to provide the best accommodations possible and we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $111 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing