We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Average place”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Place was ok. Super expensive but it's good location if u plan on staying in downtown newport. Still have to pay for parking $15 a day. Rooms were average kinda small and little dirty for me. I did like that they had robes. Next time I go to newport we will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. We continuously strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations on all levels and it is our hope that you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    386
    218
    90
    71
See reviews for
321
476
22
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Location great!! couldnt find the bar the only one we found that was part of the hotel was the one outside. Pier 49 but... since it was raining........ that was out. check in was fine, hotel staff treated me professionally, courteously, and promptly. Getting to the room was another issue. Walked in and it was MUSTY!! The must was coming from the air conditioner, call front desk and they sent someone up while i was out. I think they just sprayed the room because the moment the A/C turned on the smell was back. I had to leave the A/C off all night so it wouldnt trigger my migraines. for the 289$ i spent on the room you would think that everything was working efficiently and they would upgrade the walls within in the rooms. So PAPER THIN that i could hear the conversation next door which included children which i specifically asked them not to put me near any families. I dont think i will be going back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your overnight accommodations with us. We appreciate you highlighting our great location and the professional customer service you received, however we are disappointed to read of the unsatisfactory occurrences that you encountered during your stay. We strive to provide the best accommodations possible and we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I held a 2-day business event at the Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina. The rooms were clean & had good views of the harbor. Meeting room space was plentiful & laid out as I had requested. The staff was very attentive to the guests. Many of the attendees even commented on how good the meeting's lunches were at the hotel. Location was beautiful. I wouldn't hesitate to work with this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the recent business event we hosted at our hotel. Thank you for your kind words regarding the guestrooms, meeting space, staff, and food. We take pride in delivering the best service, value, and location in Newport and we are delighted to know that we met all of your expectations. We look forward to working together again so we can welcome both you and your group back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I would never have thought from pulling up to the hotel, with it's gorgeous views of the marina and boats, that complete incompetence awaited me inside.... The front desk staff were lazy, the room was nothing special and I awoke the next morning an discovered I had slept on DIRTY, STAINED SHEETS!!!! The pillowcase I slept on, the sheets and blanket all were stained.... When we complained to the front desk we were told, "Oh. I'm sorry".... If you are reading this, FIND ANOTHER PLACE TO STAY!!! Show them how "sorry" they really are!

Room Tip: Here's a tip.... Go to another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It is with great regret to read this review regarding your stay. We are dedicated to providing the best accommodations and service. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for overlooking the cleanliness of your guestroom and unfortunately not meeting your expectations. In the future, please do not hesitate to contact the appropriate manager directly, in this case, our Executive Housekeeper to address your concerns so we can remedy the situation during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I just returned from a business trip which caused me to stay in this less than desirable hotel. It has a great location and some nice harbor views but that is where the superlatives end. This is an old hotel that has very poor infrastucture and function. I walked in to find a rather aloof hotelier who took his time even to acknowledge my arrival despite the late hour. His service was slow and apatheitc as if I had interupted his evening. He could only offer me a room with two double beds despite my obvious height demanding a king. The elevator is incredibly slow and antiquated which matches the decor. Rooms are small and the bathroom is literally 4 feet by 4 feet. There is no room for a counter in the bathroom and the shower/tub is fit for a child but not an adult. There are minimal amenities and no ceiling vent. Water pressure is poor and the plumbing fixtures rattle and hum with rust and age. They have attempted to upgrade the look somewhat with better towels and linens but there is only so much lipstick that you can put on a pig. The bed is fairly comfortable but that won't matter because the AC unit is so loud you will have troube sleeping. The TV malfunctioned regularly and the phone did not work. No place to plug-in your electronics save one light outlet or balancing your iPhone/iPad on the sink in the bathroom. No closet in the rooms, just an open rack for hanging clothes. There is no fitness center, just an old pool that was not inviting.This property is a tear down and I cannot recommend it. Newport was one of the first playgrounds for the rich and famous but none of them would ever stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelgavel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Newport Harbor Hotel for a quick weekend getaway. The front desk staff was courteous and check-in was easy. Our room had a king-sized bed, clean bathroom with nice toiletries and a great view of the water. Overnight parking was only $15, which is a bargain in Newport. The room was equipped with a Keurig coffee machine for the morning.

This is a great hotel located right on the water within easy walking distance of all the great restaurants and shopping located in downtown Newport. I recommend it for short one or two night getaways.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runnergirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located and a perfect place for enjoying the downtown and harbor shopping in Newport. It has a nice indoor pool (no hot tub - bummer) and pool deck on the water for sunbathing. The rooms are average and not a lot of bells and whistles, but for the location, you can't beat it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing