We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location is everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

No matter what our small complaints might be, the location of this hotel is fabulous. they need more front desk staff. I think they would be friendlier and more accommodating if they weren't under such stress to deal with so many people. we would definitely stay here again because of the view and the location. We walked everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zsrollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    330
    190
    82
    64
See reviews for
267
403
16
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Location of hotel is excellent as you are overlooking the marina and right on the main tourist drag for shops and restaurants. There is also convenient parking restricted for hotel guests only. However, hotel is very three star. We had two rooms Fourth of July weekend, so we paid alot, had dated Holiday Inn type rooms, and not much in common areas. Water did not drain well in one bathroom, printer did not work with computer designated to print boarding passes, and staff was not overly well informed or friendly. Boat owners from marina use steam room and bathrooms on first floor. Pool is hot and very noisy if children are in there - it is enclosed, not open. Bedding was good and bed was comfortable. No door on closet so we were nervous about storing a family heirloom we had with us. It was out in open which I did not like. If you are looking for location and convenient parking especially on a very busy weekend, you can overlook the hotels deficienciesl.

Room Tip: Paid up to have one room with marina view - window was not very large so really did not mean much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjjtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your visit with us. We appreciate you highlighting our location and convenient parking, but are disappointed to read about other setbacks you encountered during your stay. Should anything be unsatisfactory, we always strongly encourage our guests to immediately contact our staff so we can quickly remedy the situation. Most importantly, we certainly understand your concern about traveling with a family heirloom, which is why we offer complimentary and secure safety deposit boxes located at the Front Desk for guest’s valuables. We strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations and are willing to do Whatever It Takes (W.I.T.). We look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ‘won’ the Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina through a Priceline bid back in December. After reading the TA reviews I became a little anxious. Based on some of the information posted, I told the Mr. I might have booked us into a dump. Rest assured dear readers NOTHING could be further from the truth. The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina is a nice place to stay. The location is perfect and within walking distance to so many places of interest. Yes, our room and bathroom were somewhat dated, but they were both clean and comfortable. We enjoyed having a Keurig coffee maker in our room and used it every morning during our three night stay. Finally, we had rented a car when we landed in Logan so having a designated place to park it was great. I believe they charged us $30 for the luxury.

In short:

PROS: Location, friendly staff, clean, comfortable room, on site parking, and Keurig coffee maker with supplies in the room.

CONS: If you want to call it a ‘con’ – dated décor but having dated décor doesn’t keep me from visiting Grandma!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacher91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We would like to thank you for following-up with a positive review regarding your experience at The Newport! It is pleasing to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel amenities as well as being in the heart of downtown Newport. We certainly look forward to you visiting us (and Grandma!) again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend in June with family. Best location in newport, RI! Everything is walkable and easy to get to. Room was comfortable and clean, though a bit dated. Staff was great. Parking is easy and got a great rate on priceline.

Our room didn't face the water but the location and the price beat the views. Free internet is a big plus!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countdrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Friend and I just returned from a girls long weekend in Newport. We arrived at 1:00pm on Saturday, our parking pass was ready at the gate and we were allowed to check in early. The desk staff gave us a choice of first floor room with sliding door outside to a grassy spot with adirondack chairs or an upper level room with a better view of entire harbor. We chose first floor and enjoyed sitting outside overlooking the marina and harbor. Room was clean and comfortable, if a bit small. The main reason we chose hotel was location and that was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank th13027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Newport Harbor & Marina in July 2013 in a semi- harbor facing room. Standards of the rooms are rather poor/ outdated, particularly considering the price tag. The bathrooms are tiny and seriously mediocre/ like from the 80's, very outdated in style, no wardrobes in the room- just some simple hangers. Availability of parking and central location are positives; some rooms facing the Bowens landing can be rather loud in the evenings ...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Y G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. It is extremely disappointing to read that you perceive our hotel as being in “poor condition.” In an effort to offer beautifully appointed hotel accommodations for our guests, we use professional interior designers. It is our hope to provide comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings. We are regretful that our property did not meet your guestroom appearance expectations, but are grateful you were pleased with the parking and central location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Newport Harbor Hotel with a group in June 2013 and can't say enough about the hotel. The central locaton of the property allows easy walking to shops, restaurants and boating activities. I stayed in a harbor view room and the views are amazing. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and go out of their way to assist.

Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and our property suited your needs so well. We welcome the opportunity to host your group again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing