We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Newport Marriott(Newport)(Great Value!)
$379
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
$204
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grace Vanderbilt(Newport)
$595
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$425
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wellington Resort(Newport)(Great Value!)
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$245
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,403)
Filter reviews
1,403 results
Traveler rating
532
441
239
107
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
441
239
107
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalt watergreat locationdock masterharbor view roomhotel restaurantbowen's wharfnewport harborindoor poolwithin walking distanceadirondack chairsfront desk staffparking feerestaurants and shoppingpastryfirst flooroff seasoncoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,065 - 1,070 of 1,403 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Location of hotel is excellent as you are overlooking the marina and right on the main tourist drag for shops and restaurants. There is also convenient parking restricted for hotel guests only. However, hotel is very three star. We had two rooms Fourth of July weekend, so we paid alot, had dated Holiday Inn type rooms, and not much in common areas. Water did not drain well in one bathroom, printer did not work with computer designated to print boarding passes, and staff was not overly well informed or friendly. Boat owners from marina use steam room and bathrooms on first floor. Pool is hot and very noisy if children are in there - it is enclosed, not open. Bedding was good and bed was comfortable. No door on closet so we were nervous about storing a family heirloom we had with us. It was out in open which I did not like. If you are looking for location and convenient parking especially on a very busy weekend, you can overlook the hotels deficienciesl.

Room Tip: Paid up to have one room with marina view - window was not very large so really did not mean much. On 4th floor and heard no noise outside which I would think those on first floor would have.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjjtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your visit with us. We appreciate you highlighting our location and convenient parking, but are disappointed to read about other setbacks you encountered during your stay. Should anything be unsatisfactory, we always strongly encourage our guests to immediately contact our staff so we can quickly remedy the situation. Most importantly, we certainly understand your concern about traveling with a family heirloom, which is why we offer complimentary and secure safety deposit boxes located at the Front Desk for guest’s valuables. We strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations and are willing to do Whatever It Takes (W.I.T.). We look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ‘won’ the Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina through a Priceline bid back in December. After reading the TA reviews I became a little anxious. Based on some of the information posted, I told the Mr. I might have booked us into a dump. Rest assured dear readers NOTHING could be further from the truth. The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina is a nice place to stay. The location is perfect and within walking distance to so many places of interest. Yes, our room and bathroom were somewhat dated, but they were both clean and comfortable. We enjoyed having a Keurig coffee maker in our room and used it every morning during our three night stay. Finally, we had rented a car when we landed in Logan so having a designated place to park it was great. I believe they charged us $30 for the luxury.

In short:

PROS: Location, friendly staff, clean, comfortable room, on site parking, and Keurig coffee maker with supplies in the room.

CONS: If you want to call it a ‘con’ – dated décor but having dated décor doesn’t keep me from visiting Grandma!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbor!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teacher91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

We would like to thank you for following-up with a positive review regarding your experience at The Newport! It is pleasing to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel amenities as well as being in the heart of downtown Newport. We certainly look forward to you visiting us (and Grandma!) again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend in June with family. Best location in newport, RI! Everything is walkable and easy to get to. Room was comfortable and clean, though a bit dated. Staff was great. Parking is easy and got a great rate on priceline.

Our room didn't face the water but the location and the price beat the views. Free internet is a big plus!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countdrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Friend and I just returned from a girls long weekend in Newport. We arrived at 1:00pm on Saturday, our parking pass was ready at the gate and we were allowed to check in early. The desk staff gave us a choice of first floor room with sliding door outside to a grassy spot with adirondack chairs or an upper level room with a better view of entire harbor. We chose first floor and enjoyed sitting outside overlooking the marina and harbor. Room was clean and comfortable, if a bit small. The main reason we chose hotel was location and that was perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank th13027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in the Newport Harbor & Marina in July 2013 in a semi- harbor facing room. Standards of the rooms are rather poor/ outdated, particularly considering the price tag. The bathrooms are tiny and seriously mediocre/ like from the 80's, very outdated in style, no wardrobes in the room- just some simple hangers. Availability of parking and central location are positives; some rooms facing the Bowens landing can be rather loud in the evenings ...

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Y G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. It is extremely disappointing to read that you perceive our hotel as being in “poor condition.” In an effort to offer beautifully appointed hotel accommodations for our guests, we use professional interior designers. It is our hope to provide comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings. We are regretful that our property did not meet your guestroom appearance expectations, but are grateful you were pleased with the parking and central location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews