We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good spot in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, MA
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A good spot in Newport”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A group of four of us stayed here over the weekend.We had two double rooms overlooking the harbor.The price was fair and we all felt the hotel was a good choice; it's right on the harbor, lots of restaurants, shopping, interesting things to see and do nearby.
the strong points almost had this hotel up to a four rating:
the strong: good parking (no charge), decent sized, clean rooms, competent and friendly staff, location, nice amenities (newspaper at the door in the morning, complimentary bottled water in the rooms, bathrobes)
The not so strong: bathrooms, while very clean and servicable, had very little room for toiletries (pedestal sinks); lighting could have been better in the bathroom and in the bedroom (only lamps-no overhead lighting - hard to do make-up); some noisy guests in a room next door that could be heard late at night.
The weak: There was a bar on site (also a restaurant which we did not use) where we enjoyed a pre-dinner cocktail. On Saturday night after dinner we decided we would have a night cap when we returned to the hotel at 10:15 PM. The bar was closing and the bartender was not at all interested in serving us. One of the things we look for in a hotel is a lounge/bar where you can relax and have a drink after dinner. Even pre-season closing at 10:00 on a Saturday night seemed odd and somwhat off-putting
For the most part we enjoyed our stay; we liked the location and lots of things about the hotel.
we would consider it again

Room Tip: Ask for the water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeharriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    401
    222
    92
    73
See reviews for
342
491
25
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a little getaway the weekend before New Years this past December. It was the perfect weekend! The staff was friendly, the hotel was clean, and our room had a great view of the bay. For the location alone, you can't go wrong in staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrissyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I imagine the cost was a function of when I was traveling, but the cost did not justify the service I received. Additionally, I only had a parking lot view, and you can hear the traffic/street noise from the 4th floor. The room was clean enough but a bit run down. Parking was an additional costs, which was expected. The desk staff were courteous but the line for check in was a bit long so I was unable to ask questions/for suggestions about the area. I would recommend this hotel only if you weren't able to find something more affordable/accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenadethesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your overnight stay with us. Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of your guestroom and friendliness of our staff. We apologize you experienced a long line while at the Front Desk and we will use this constructive criticism to reevaluate our staffing needs. We strive to personally deliver the best customer service to each and every one of our guests all while working effectively and efficiently. Your business is very valuable and it is our hope that you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is perfect in terms of location. It is right in the heart of the Marina and wharf, close to the Mansions and cliff walks and easy to get back onto the main roads to travel in and out of the centre. It's a bit of a pain not being able to check in until 4pm, especially if you are only staying a night.
We had a lovely room that provided a sliding patio door onto a lawned area overlooking the harbor. We were able to watch the sunset with a glass of wine, which was a real unexpected pleasure.
Staff go out of their way to provide excellent service and the amenities offered in the rooms were good. It is a standard hotel room with the benefit of excellent views (very comfortable beds!)
We would recommend this hotel when staying in Newport and will hopefullly be back one day.

Room Tip: Splurge for the harbor view, ground floor if you can with the sliding patio doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLA94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay at The Newport! We are pleased that you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations and were able witness the breathtaking sunsets over Newport Harbor! We appreciate you complimenting our location, staff, and the service you received. We certainly look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a Newport vacation! Located centrally to everything Newport has to offer, this hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy Newport's shopping and restaurants. From booking to check-out, the staff was professional and courteous. The rooms are very nice, clean, comfortable with all the amenities you need. We ate breakfast in the restaurant every morning ... very nicely done. The bar on site made the weekend's evening's nice. This is a great place to stay ... book now!

Room Tip: Our rooms were located on the first floor with a Harbor View ... with a sliding door access and our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJW1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My friend and I traveled to Newport to check out the mansion tour and cliff walk. This hotel was great! Perfect location, clean rooms and friendly staff. My friend accidentally lost her ring when we left, and the staff found it and called us to pick it up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We appreciate you choosing our property for your overnight accommodations while traveling to Newport! We are glad your visit was an enjoyable one and are pleased to hear we were able to locate your lost item. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Since moving to Boston in August I had my first visit to Newport over the Easter weekend. Having read some of the reviews on here I was a little concerned after booking this hotel. However, from the moment I arrived my fears were put to rest - the reception staff were friendly and helpful, the room (a King with Harborview) was fantastic (with coffee-maker, very comfortable bed and a sliding door right out onto the marina) and the location (right in the thick of it) was just what I wanted.

I will certainly be returning to Newport over the summer, and will be hoping to stay at this hotel when I do - great hotel, thank you so much for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with harborview give you a wonderful view to wake up to each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDuBois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,995 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
583 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing