We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brides and Grooms Beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brides and Grooms Beware!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I can't express how very disappointed I was with the treatment our wedding guests received for the weekend of my daughter's wedding, July 22, 2012. Many guests who had booked rooms well in advance of the event were turned away once they attempted to check-in due to "over-booking". I rather feel it was because the hotel had raised their rates but were obligated to fulfill our contracted rates from 12 months previous. I was embarassed and and chagrinned at the treatment we received and would warn anyone from using this venue as their go-to hotel. There are many other options in Newport where you receive respect and honorable treatment for all your guests. Boo, hiss Newport Harbor Hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
While we understand your dissatisfaction, the overbooking situation mentioned was a result of a human error on our part in July, not a conscience decision to do so because of rates or any other reason. When an unfortunate situation like that arises, we have to compensate the guest by relocating their stay at another property and paying for the incurred charges, so it certainly does not make financial sense to do so purposely. In this particular case, the guest was relocated because their reservation was not made within the wedding party block so we were unaware of the guest being a part of your group. We absolutely try to avoid these situations from occurring and apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    402
    229
    95
    75
See reviews for
351
499
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A view of boats at dock in the harbor could not compensate for a violent and threatening drunk pounding on his door, sobbing from within, unidentified spots on the tub, and thin walls; what a sorry stay for a hundreds of dollars. Sorry I came.

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor over harbor should have been pleasant; this was a horror.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anais T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We apologize that you were exposed to a “violent and threatening drunk.” We strongly encourage guests to call the Front Desk immediately for security whenever there might be a loud or threatening situation. The occurrence you encountered is taken seriously and we have security personnel on staff at all times to take the appropriate safety precautions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fantastic location right on marina. Room faced the harbor with fantastic views. Rooms are smaller and dated but are clean and well maintained. Don't waste your time at the hotel restaurant. try Fluke, Talullahs or Bowen 22. You can check out out Garys Lunch for a great breakfast

Room Tip: Get a room with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oilman050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

My first time to Newport, so I didnt know where to stay, and just so happen to pick this hotel. It was so nice! A great view along the dock with all the boats and the water, and centrally located right in the heart of downtown Newport!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candacebryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are elated that you stayed with us during your visit to Newport! As a first timer here in “The City By the Sea,” our property's location surely provides a true Newport experience with spectacular harbor views. Thank you for choosing The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina and we look forward to your return visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We got a fantastic secret Priceline Express rate here for a mid-week stay before the Labor Day holiday. The location coudn't have been better right in the heart of downtown Newport. Just park your car with the hotel ($15 per day) and walk everywhere! Yes, the room and bathroom were on the smaller side, but the beds were extremely comfortable! There was a nice indoor pool and deck area overlooking the marina. If paying top dollar there are hotels in the area I may have preferred (the regular rate of $300 would have been better spent at the Viking) but for the rate I got, we had no complaints whatsoever! Don't let the reviews mislead you if you can get the right price. We were very comfortable here!

Room Tip: The street side can be a bit noisy during the high season if you sleep with your window open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLIsabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Harbor Hotel is situated so perfectly in downtown Newport. You can walk out your door and be among all the festivities and fun...once inside it is quiet escape to relax and recharge. The hotel is waterfront so access to sailing or boating is so easy. The mansions are a 10 minute ride and not to be missed...The Breakers and Marble House are stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for water facing room, little more money but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NycHappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My older sister decided to have her bridal shower here, and i will say the downtown location is nice, but my stay was not so pleasant. My room 306 had a broken toilet, and the shower pressure was horrible in the sense that it was a mixture of hot and cold. If you want breakfast you have to go into town to get it. Another thing was they had to fit 2 small beds so 2 people per bed could stay in it. I would have much rather stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
It is with great pleasure that we were able to host your sister’s bridal shower here, although we are certainly disappointed to read the review regarding your overnight stay. We always encourage our guests to report any concerns to the Front Desk during their stay so we can immediately address the situation, especially with any guest room fixtures that are not functioning properly. Breakfast is also served at our onsite restaurant, Pier 49 Seafood and Spirits, until 10:30am daily and 11:00am weekends (seasonally). Our staff continuously strives to exceed our guest’s expectations so if there is ever something in question, please do not hesitate to reach out at any time and we will be more than delighted to help to the best of our ability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
590 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing