We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grace Vanderbilt(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Newport Marriott(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,403)
Filter reviews
1,403 results
Traveler rating
532
441
239
107
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
441
239
107
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalt watergreat locationdock masterharbor view roomhotel restaurantbowen's wharfnewport harborindoor poolwithin walking distanceadirondack chairsfront desk staffparking feerestaurants and shoppingpastryfirst flooroff seasoncoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,131 - 1,136 of 1,403 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We got a fantastic secret Priceline Express rate here for a mid-week stay before the Labor Day holiday. The location coudn't have been better right in the heart of downtown Newport. Just park your car with the hotel ($15 per day) and walk everywhere! Yes, the room and bathroom were on the smaller side, but the beds were extremely comfortable! There was a nice indoor pool and deck area overlooking the marina. If paying top dollar there are hotels in the area I may have preferred (the regular rate of $300 would have been better spent at the Viking) but for the rate I got, we had no complaints whatsoever! Don't let the reviews mislead you if you can get the right price. We were very comfortable here!

Room Tip: The street side can be a bit noisy during the high season if you sleep with your window open!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLIsabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Harbor Hotel is situated so perfectly in downtown Newport. You can walk out your door and be among all the festivities and fun...once inside it is quiet escape to relax and recharge. The hotel is waterfront so access to sailing or boating is so easy. The mansions are a 10 minute ride and not to be missed...The Breakers and Marble House are stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for water facing room, little more money but worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NycHappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My older sister decided to have her bridal shower here, and i will say the downtown location is nice, but my stay was not so pleasant. My room 306 had a broken toilet, and the shower pressure was horrible in the sense that it was a mixture of hot and cold. If you want breakfast you have to go into town to get it. Another thing was they had to fit 2 small beds so 2 people per bed could stay in it. I would have much rather stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

It is with great pleasure that we were able to host your sister’s bridal shower here, although we are certainly disappointed to read the review regarding your overnight stay. We always encourage our guests to report any concerns to the Front Desk during their stay so we can immediately address the situation, especially with any guest room fixtures that are not functioning properly. Breakfast is also served at our onsite restaurant, Pier 49 Seafood and Spirits, until 10:30am daily and 11:00am weekends (seasonally). Our staff continuously strives to exceed our guest’s expectations so if there is ever something in question, please do not hesitate to reach out at any time and we will be more than delighted to help to the best of our ability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is located right in the good spot in Newport downtown.
I enjoyed the ability to walk outside my room and sit on the Marina. View on the water & docks are good!
Exceptional location close to the boutiques, restaurants & docks. Just park your car & walk around!
Great services from the hotel staff. The advice from the hotel concierge was very helpful.
Hotel seem to be old but greatly maintained.
Bathroom was too small.
There are plenty of parking available (15$/day) for all hotel guest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. We couldn’t agree more about the location of our property being perfectly situated on the harbor in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to world-class shopping, sumptuous dining, exciting entertainment and famous local attractions! We are thrilled that you had the pleasure of experiencing all that Newport has to offer while lodging at our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at hotel last week and can"t say enough about the location. Perfect for visit to all things Newport. Hotel a little dated. Needs some new rugs and a coat of paint. Bathroom definitely dated. Clean but sink wouldn't drain. I'd give it one more try based on location, but not again if room had any more functional problems. Hint: Instruct cleaning staff to report any problem with room.. You can't tell me maid didn't know sink had a problem.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews