We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location, Overall Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Overall Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We got a fantastic secret Priceline Express rate here for a mid-week stay before the Labor Day holiday. The location coudn't have been better right in the heart of downtown Newport. Just park your car with the hotel ($15 per day) and walk everywhere! Yes, the room and bathroom were on the smaller side, but the beds were extremely comfortable! There was a nice indoor pool and deck area overlooking the marina. If paying top dollar there are hotels in the area I may have preferred (the regular rate of $300 would have been better spent at the Viking) but for the rate I got, we had no complaints whatsoever! Don't let the reviews mislead you if you can get the right price. We were very comfortable here!

Room Tip: The street side can be a bit noisy during the high season if you sleep with your window open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLIsabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    375
    213
    90
    70
See reviews for
311
464
22
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Harbor Hotel is situated so perfectly in downtown Newport. You can walk out your door and be among all the festivities and fun...once inside it is quiet escape to relax and recharge. The hotel is waterfront so access to sailing or boating is so easy. The mansions are a 10 minute ride and not to be missed...The Breakers and Marble House are stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for water facing room, little more money but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NycHappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My older sister decided to have her bridal shower here, and i will say the downtown location is nice, but my stay was not so pleasant. My room 306 had a broken toilet, and the shower pressure was horrible in the sense that it was a mixture of hot and cold. If you want breakfast you have to go into town to get it. Another thing was they had to fit 2 small beds so 2 people per bed could stay in it. I would have much rather stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
It is with great pleasure that we were able to host your sister’s bridal shower here, although we are certainly disappointed to read the review regarding your overnight stay. We always encourage our guests to report any concerns to the Front Desk during their stay so we can immediately address the situation, especially with any guest room fixtures that are not functioning properly. Breakfast is also served at our onsite restaurant, Pier 49 Seafood and Spirits, until 10:30am daily and 11:00am weekends (seasonally). Our staff continuously strives to exceed our guest’s expectations so if there is ever something in question, please do not hesitate to reach out at any time and we will be more than delighted to help to the best of our ability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is located right in the good spot in Newport downtown.
I enjoyed the ability to walk outside my room and sit on the Marina. View on the water & docks are good!
Exceptional location close to the boutiques, restaurants & docks. Just park your car & walk around!
Great services from the hotel staff. The advice from the hotel concierge was very helpful.
Hotel seem to be old but greatly maintained.
Bathroom was too small.
There are plenty of parking available (15$/day) for all hotel guest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. We couldn’t agree more about the location of our property being perfectly situated on the harbor in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to world-class shopping, sumptuous dining, exciting entertainment and famous local attractions! We are thrilled that you had the pleasure of experiencing all that Newport has to offer while lodging at our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at hotel last week and can"t say enough about the location. Perfect for visit to all things Newport. Hotel a little dated. Needs some new rugs and a coat of paint. Bathroom definitely dated. Clean but sink wouldn't drain. I'd give it one more try based on location, but not again if room had any more functional problems. Hint: Instruct cleaning staff to report any problem with room.. You can't tell me maid didn't know sink had a problem.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just got back from the two night romantic getaway to celebrate our anniversary and I must say was not disappointed..prior to our going on this trip I read some if the reviews and were a little concerned..just want to say that the staff could nt have been nicer..the hotel was ve,ry clean and the floors shined..our room was pretty nice on the first floor with a slider facing the marina where we could sit on adirondack chairs and watch the breathtaking sunsets. This package was perfect ...first they let us check in at 1230 which was a Plus..we left the room only to return to find a bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting fr us. My lobster dinner that night at pier 49 was delicious...the bartender very friendly...the concierge explained where everything worth seeing was located and couldn't be more helpful..just wanna say this was one of our best vacations...Newport Rhodes island is a very pretty place to visit..m sure you take in the mansions and definitely the cliff walk..the view was breathtaking. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLM058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing our property to celebrate your romantic getaway! We are pleased that you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations with picturesque harbor views and Newport sunsets. We are also delighted to hear that you relished in the bottle of champagne, chocolates and lobster dinner at Pier 49 Seafood and Spirits. We appreciate the warm compliments regarding the friendliness of our staff, including our concierge. Newport is truly a fantastic destination and we are very proud that our property accentuates all that Newport has to offer. We look forward to your return visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Great location central to all of the bars and restaurants. They have an indoor pool and parking is easy (although $15 a day). Rooms were clean, staff seemed friendly. We had no issues. Comfortable bed. Rooms could use an update, and a fresh coat of paint. If you're looking for a medium scale resort in a good location, I would recommend the Newport harbor hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nolan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#7 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing