We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have stayed here several times. I really like the location - right in the heart of downtown Newport. Easy to walk to MANY restaurants and shopping. The rooms are very clean and nicely updated. The bathroom is a little small for a weeks stay (no countertop to put your toiletries bag), but we are usually only in town for 1 or 2 nights. Beds are very comfortable as well. This last time we went with a "Wharf View" thought is was a great view of the water and boats at Bowen's Wharf. We park when we arrive and no need to use the car again unless we want to go to the beach or mansions. Nice area right on the water/harbor to sit outside on a nice day and just enjoy the beautiful view.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharoncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,294)
There are newer reviews for Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

We enjoyed the hotel but I must admit we didn't spend much time there. It was comfortable and cozy with a magnificent view but what we appreciated most was the location. Everything we wanted to do or see was right there, excellent restaurants, wonderful boutiques, musical venues plus sightseeing within walking distance.

I may have been lucky but the few staff members that I encountered were very polite and helpful. I can't remember the ladies name but at that time in June 2011, I wrote the hotel to express my gratitude with one of their employees for offering to drive my husband and I to a nearby attraction.

Needless to say, August of 2012, we intend to so back to Newport and stay at the same hotel. I hope that we receive the same courteous treatment we received in 2011. We'll cross our fingers!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniors75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night. It was a very comfortable room and we were pleased with the room, but not entirely with the service. The man behind the front desk was rather cold and not helpful. We requested a room with a king size bed instead of 2 queens and he told us no because we had requested the best rate available (AAA) and that it would be more expensive for us to get a king size bed. I dont think i would ever pay their rates to stay there during the summer, but it will do if you are going in the fall or winter. I would recommend staying at a B&B instead though.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

A quick review- I had never stayed at the Newport Harbor Hotel but just wanted a quick get away for New Years Eve where we could park and walk everywhere. This was it. The location was great all kinds of little shops and restaurants within walking distance. We also got the package for the night which included a dinner. I must say the dinner far surpassed what I thought is was going to be on a night like this. I enjoyed every course. The bar and the DJ was an added bonus. We in our 50's and enjoyed and danced the night away. I would not hestitate to stay at this Hotel again. A big thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here for the first time because it was a hotel and not a B&B because we had our children with us. Normally we stay in a B&B but we were taking the kids to the Polar express train ride so we thought a hotel would be better. I was a little disappointed with the hotel, everything seemed small. The elevator was small/tight, the room was small and the bathroom was very small with no vanity just a pedistal sink. There was nowhere to put your stuff. The hotel was clean and neat but nothing spectacular. The pool area was very dark and was under construction which was understandable being the off season, but very dark, a little creepy. The restaurant was very nice, the prices reasonable and the staff super nice at the restaurant. Overall the hotel was ok, but I would not pay the summer prices for this hotel just not worth that money for the accommdations.

Room Tip: Both the waterview and town view were very nice, either is a good choice.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LIMomOfTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Hotel is in the main stream of Newport i agree. It was clean and the the beds are comfortable. Now here are the down side to this hotel. I have Government credentials in which i get a better rate. The value is not a big deal at all. I usually stay at the Hyatt on goat island right nearby which is the upmost best deal you will get in Newport. The room have been renovated, pluming behind the walls is poor and there is not much water pressure. The hotel was 90% vacant when i was there. Signing in at the register i had asked if there were any upgrades, like a room on the water side,answer was sorry no. I asked for a king bed being i was alone, answer was no. I asked if there were a complimentary breakfast, answer was ,no. You get all this at the Hyatt with a smile and more. In the morning construction was going on in the parking lot. At this time of year with a ninth percent vacancy i think they could have done better. I was there to look for a summer rental for the americas cup and tall ships. Now read my review on the Hyatt which is next. I left and checked into the hyatt the next morning of 11/29/2011 Captain Bruce R

Room Tip: For your best value check out the Hyatt on Goat Island right in that area
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed over one night... I agree the location is great. But the night we stayed I needed to get up at 4:50 AM to participate in the Newport Bridge Run. Unfortunately it was a holiday weekend & after the bars closed, the party moved to the room right next to ours. We called the office at 1:30AM asking them to help. That lasted about 10 minutes. So we called again at 2:30AM. Supposedly there is a one strike & you are out of the hotel but we did not find that to be true. Ear plugs are a must...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caseycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $111 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing