We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly We Went Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Sadly We Went Back”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

One, two, three strikes your out!
Musty, mold, dirty, horrible service, front desk staff are rude at best.
Let the pictures do the talking!

Was hoping of season would be better HAH!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTTravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    402
    228
    94
    75
See reviews for
350
498
24
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Every staff person we spoke to was friendly, helpful and treated us as old friends even though this was my first visit to this hotel. Our room overlooked the harbor and couldn't have been nicer view. The room was a typical large chain style room, but the addition of binoculars to watch the boats coming and going was a nice touch. The breakfasts were good and gave us plenty of energy to walk around the town and a must do cliff walk. The cliff walk was the highlight of our stay. This hotel is in walking distance of many historic sites as well as a large number of restaurants, shops, and entertainment. You can even book a boat trip just outside the hotel on the warf side. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was good albeit pretty standard fare for a hotel (not awe inspiring). The area of the hotel that needs the most work is the pool/sauna area. The sauna had graffiti all over the walls and the showers made my skin crawl. There was a used razor in my shower that looked like it had been there a while and the floors definately needed to be retiled. Pool (indoor) was on the cool side and deck could use a little updating as well. All in all, I enjoyed my stay and would return hoping some updating would have occured since my last visit. The staff made up for any physical detriments.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina for your recent vist to our lovely town, we apreciate your business. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiance with Trip Advisor as well.
I wanted to let you know that during this slower time of the year, we have been taking the opportunity to refresh areas of the hotel that are difficult to address when hotel is busier, such as the pool and sauna area. I do appreciate the kind remarks regarding our staff. The description that you gave of the staff treating you as "old friends" is exactly what we strive to do. I will most certainly read this at the next staff meeting and thank them for their efforts.
We will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Stayed here this past weekend for a getaway with my husband. Been to Newport many, many times but this was our first time staying here since we got it on a bid from Priceline. Hotel location can't be beat, walking distance to shops and restaurants which was great. Hotel was average, nothing special. The Newport Marriott (where we have stayed before) is much better. The hotel overall I think needs some updating as far as painting, floors,etc.. It was a fine place to stay though for what we needed, as we weren't in the room much.
HOWEVER, the walls are paper thin. We could hear the people in the room next to us going at it in the middle of the night and early in the morning both nights. It was like listening to a porn movie. Loud and clear. I can't even write about exactly what we heard since I'm sure it would be removed. Hey, I mean, good for them and all, but I really don't need to hear it while I'm trying to sleep. I could never visit this hotel with our kids out of fear they would hear this and it's not really something I want to explain...Our room was also across from the elevator and we could hear it dinging and opening all the time. Also could hear the toilet and shower from the room next door.
We probably wouldn't stay here again, would rather go to the Marriott which is also in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momto3nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Wife and I had group of friends out on the town for her 40th birthday. Checked in, front desk was play music and just seemed disinterested in us. No one heped us with our bags. Checked in the room which I reserved as "wharf view", only to find out that is just a view of the busy road and parking lot (need to them understand what a "wharf" is). Just portraying as a wharf was just outright misleading . The room was $350 an night the room was average and the bathroom was small and you can tell Bathroom Fitters came thru not outright dirty but not clean very plastic. Now I am not a high end person as I have spent 6 month living in the woods but for $350 a night I would expect more. the room was hot, the person that came back at 2 am sounded like he was in our room. The only saving grace was the inroom breakfast was good and rather cheap. We did realize we forgot our tooth paste so we asked roomservice they said room service person would be able get it for us. When they arrived they said the front desk was to busy where the toothpaste is stored but we can just wait until the cleaning people are in the hallways and ask them. When I compare this to other hotels of the same price they have a much more customer focused philisophy.
The location is great, breakfast is cheap but other than that I would not stay the again, shoot for more predictable high end chain hotel (marriott, hyatt etc) so you know what you are getting or stay at one of the many unique and historic hotels / inns or bed and breakfasts that are there that are just great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starbuck2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The hotel itself was in a fantastic location, right downtown. However you might think it would be a bit nicer. The walls are paper thin, I could hear someone going to the bathroom in the next room! The bed was like a rock, the TV hasn't been updated since the 90's and the remote didn't work. Good thing: It had a Keurig coffee maker in each room. I know I was expecting WAY more that I did when I arrived, especially for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Location, location, location. My wife and I were able to walk to shopping and all lunches and dinners. After Columbus Day parking was free. Huge pool was great for morining lap swims. Room was small as was bath but had been refurbished and with the fourth floor view of the harbor (boats and sunsets) this was a minor issue. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet for sleeping and beds were comfortable. All in all a great two day stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrwets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Newport is an expensive area but this hotel was ridiculous. So over-priced for the small, outdated rooms and tiny (tiny!) bathrooms. Worst part was that our bathtub didn't drain properly so by the time you finished your shower you were ankle-deep in water. Thin walls meant I could hear others too easily, and I'm always a bit miffed when paying $200+ for a hotel that doesn't give you conditioner. Don't be deceived by the nice pictures online--I stayed at a Comfort Inn recently that was nicer than this and a whole lot cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyBiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
588 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Property: Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing