We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great B&B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samuel Durfee House
Ranked #10 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great B&B experience”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We do not normally choose B&B accommodation when travelling however our experience at Samuel Durfee was very pleasant when in late September we stayed for 3 nights at the start of our New England travels. The location was great including parking ,the room (Perry) was very clean and well equipped and excellent breakfasts to start the day topped off with obliging hosts in Michael and Heather. We would highly recommend SDH to anyone looking for Newport accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deaken47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We are so glad that you chose to stay at our Federal Period Bed and Breakfast for your visit to Newport. Many of our guests are first time B&B guests and are pleasantly surprised at how much they enjoy their stay. We strive to give you what you expect from a hotel, with a more personal touch as well as respecting your privacy. Many thanks for sharing! ~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
186
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I have been going up to Newport for New Years the past 3 years and we have stayed at Samuel Durfee House for the past 2 and will never stay anywhere else now. This B&B is in a great location on a quiet street, but still close enough to the downtown area where we were able to walk to everything pretty quickly. The rooms are all very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are all delicious (their Portuguese French Toast is amazing!).

Heather and Michael, the owners, are the best! They are extremely friendly and have great suggestions of things to do in the area if you have down time. While we aren't able to make it up to Newport this year, we will definitely be back in the near future and stay at Samuel Durfee.

Room Tip: Stay in the Ida Lewis room if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thanks for sharing your past experiences with future guests! Sorry you weren't able to visit this New Year's but we hope to see you again soon! ~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Heights, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in December. We had a fabulous time! The inn keepers were extremely nice and very helpful with suggestions on where to eat. The inn was very clean, rooms were nice, and beds were comfy. The breakfasts we ate were delicious! They were better than if you went out to a restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lmhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed our breakfasts so much! Thanks for sharing ~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at the Samuel Durfee House with my husband, sister and brother-in-law. My husband and I had the Durfee Room; my sister and her husband stayed in the Ida Lewis room. Rooms were comfortable, roomy, and spotless. The location is great (within walking distance to shops and restaurants). Parking at the inn was very convenient since parking is limited and can be tricky in Newport. Breakfast was always delicious (especially the potatoes). Heather's cinnamon bread was amazing; Michael's French toast was excellent. Afternoon tea, coffee, and homemade goodies were a treat (especially the chocolate chip cookies). In general, Michael and Heather are great hosts. I highly recommend the Samuel Durfee House for your Newport getaway.

Room Tip: Durfee Room was very comfy; loved the high bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarriedTravelers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. The Ida Lewis Room was recently redecorated-hope you can check it out in a future visit. Thanks for sharing your stay with others! ~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I received a gift certificate for this B&B a while back and we were finally able to make time to getaway and visit one of our favorite places, Newport RI. We were able to book a suite on the main floor just off a sitting area.....It was perfect! The Inn is very clean, very comfortable and Michael and Heather are excellent hosts. We highly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
What a great gift! So glad you enjoyed your visit and the Harrison Suite! ~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for two nights with Michael and Heather during our tour of New England in mid October. We stayed in the Durfee Room which is on the second floor and though it is at the front of the house it was very quiet. We had quite a lot of luggage but the room was large enough to spread out, was spotless, and beautifully decorated with an enormous high bed with steps which we thought was great fun!! The bathroom was nicely laid out with a good shower, hand made soaps and top quality toiletries. We really enjoyed the coffee and "treats " laid out downstairs in the afternoon.
The Inn's location is perfect. It is within walking distance of most attractions, bars and restaurants and has private off road parking. As we only had one full day in Newport Michael sat down with us and gave his recommendations. They were perfect. We toured The Elms, then went on to Breakers, before returning to The Elms for the guided Servants Tour which was fascinating. We did the Cliff Walk and then the Ocean Drive, stopping at the Castle Inn for cocktails!! Michael had also recommended the Clarke Cookhouse and we had a wonderful dinner there on the Friday night.
The breakfasts on both mornings were delicious and we really didn't need to bother with lunch. It was good to meet and talk with other guests in the dining room.We were so fortunate to have visited Newport in such perfect weather with clear blue skies and warm sunshine. Staying at the Samuel Durfee was great. Michael and Heather were perfect hosts and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joangra129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with future travelers! So glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Durfee Room. We hope to see you again! ~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

First off, let me say that I can't recommend this inn enough! We stayed for a few days at the beginning of October and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The owners were so accommodating and helpful, and their attention to detail and good nature was evident - even down to the cupcake for my birthday and some gluten-free treats for my wife!
The inn is situated perfectly to explore Downtown Newport, or take a stroll past the mansions. The breakfasts were great and the afternoon treats were a lovely touch.

First rate and I would definitely stay here again when in Newport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeakysDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Many thanks for writing about your stay! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. ~Heather and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuel Durfee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Durfee House

Property: Samuel Durfee House
Address: 352 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samuel Durfee House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1803 Federal period inn located downtown in Newport's Yachting village, just a block from the harbor. A full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments are served daily. Enjoy the ambiance of an historic building with modern amenities. All rooms are uniquely decorated and feature television, small fridge, robes, beach bag with towels, CD player, iron, and ironing board. Complimentary parking and wifi are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Samuel Durfee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing