We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top place in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samuel Durfee House
Ranked #11 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top place in Newport”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you want something special in Newport, this is the best choice in the BB panorama of Newport.
Great room!
Everything was perfect in the room and it was very clean!
Parking available, no worries!
The location is walking distance from everything in Newport.

The owners were great.

The breakfast was different everyday but always delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IcyHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your recent stay with future guests. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Samuel Durfee House and we hope to see you again in the future! ~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
180
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just got back from a two night stay at this B&B. We were in the Ida Lewis room, which is in the back of the house. The room has an elegant feel to it with a very comfortable high four poster bed and a nonworking fireplace. We never had a chance to use the little porch, but it looked nice and was private. The room had everything you could imagine needing and throughout the house there were different touches that showed the innkeepers wanted to make sure their guests were comfortable. Heather took us around the inn upon arrival and made sure we knew where everything was. They even have chilled glasses and water or coffee/tea to go with their afternoon treats. The location cannot be beat. It is an easy walk to the best parts of town. We brought our bikes down and Heather offered to let us keep them in the carriage house. If you stay here, make sure you tell Heather what some of your plans are. She will not only give you honest suggestions, but on two occasions she was able to offer discount tickets to the attractions available to her guests through the Newport B&B association. We were even able to borrow a street parking pass to go to a restaurant in a part of town that only had resident parking after 6:00pm when we told her we had reservations. Another tip for future guests is to tell them in your booking if you are either allergic or just don't like a particular type of food (e.g. nuts). Everyone eats the same fantastic gourmet breakfast, and they will tailor their menu to exclude foods that the current guests do not like. Liked the stay so much, we can't wait to go back in another season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank csmith_612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your extremely kind words! We are thrilled to hear that we were able to make your stay so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again! ~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a good but short stay in a convenient location in Newport. Took advantage of their discounts to Doris Duke House and Newport Vineyards. A comfortable in the Doris Duke room and a good breakfast. Michael and Heather helped make our short stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your short visit to Newport and the Samuel Durfee House. Wonderful that you took advantage of our discounted packages! We hope to see you again, hopefully for a longer visit! Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in Newport, and we're so glad we chose to stay here -- hosts were great, location can't be beat...

Great breakfasts each AM on nice garden patio. Rooms were cleaned promptly in the AM: we also had a private entrance and patio with the Harrison Suite, and overall would highly recommend and look forward to returning!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bkbl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Newport and the Samuel Durfee House! Thanks so much for your kind words, we hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had an amazing time at the Samuel durfee house. While I felt the house was small at times, the rooms were a nice size and we did not feel like we were with other guests other than at breakfast. Heather and Michael were very accommodating and were great hosts. Breakfast was amazing and always started our day off right. I recommend that everyone take advantage of the affordable packages available on the website, really made the trip even better than expected and we always had things to do.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aparkes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of one of our packages! Since the Inn was built in 1803, we are somewhat limited on space so if this is a concern, we recommend booking the Durfee Room or Harrison Suite as they are our largest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was the third time that we have stayed at the Samuel Durfee Inn. As before, the innkeeper, Heather, was very welcoming. Our suite was as lovely as we remembered it to be. The delicious breakfasts are served outdoors on the slate patio which is surrounded by beautiful hydrangeas and geraniums and other blooms. The towels are thick and it was a good shower. Every afternoon there are freshly baked cookies at 3 PM. Yum! Great location; you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aliasjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
It was great to see you both again, so glad you had another nice visit! We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at the Samuel Durfee House and we have nothing negative to say about our experience!! It was wonderful! We stayed in the Ida Lewis room which has a private deck. We sat out on the deck in the evenings and had wine and privacy and were surrounded by beautiful trees and gardens. The bed was extremely comfortable and we heard no outside noise from either the inn or the street we were on and it was perfect. Also, the location could not be better. It is a very short drive to a swimming beach and we were able to walk into town for dinners and shopping. Also, we were within walking distance to the ferry stop which will take you to Block Island. Heather's breakfasts were amazing and she was able to provide us with tons of helpful tips about which mansions to see and beaches to visit. She was fantastic!! We would most definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Choose the Ida Lewis room. It is definitely nice to have the private deck. Also, check with Heathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FootballFanTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your long weekend in the Ida Lewis Room at the Samuel Durfee House! Thanks so much for sharing your visit! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#7 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuel Durfee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Durfee House

Property: Samuel Durfee House
Address: 352 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samuel Durfee House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1803 Federal period inn located downtown in Newport's Yachting village, just a block from the harbor. A full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments are served daily. Enjoy the ambiance of an historic building with modern amenities. All rooms are uniquely decorated and feature television, small fridge, robes, beach bag with towels, CD player, iron, and ironing board. Complimentary parking and wifi are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samuel Durfee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing