We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Anniversay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samuel Durfee House
Ranked #6 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Samuel Durfee House and the hosts, Michael and Heather dePinho was a superb place to spend our 35th anniversary. The rooms were immaculate, the bed was very comfortable, the food magnificent. Both Michael and Heather were so helpful and friendly. We would highly recommend this B & B to anyone coming to this area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GretchenB33915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing our inn to celebrate your 35th anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 280 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the best B and B I have ever stayed in. The innkeepers are so generous! There is a real parking lot (does not require a ten-point turn). Breakfast is fresh and delicious. The bathrooms are magically large and modern. Stay there if you can.

Room Tip: The Jackie O.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks for sharing your stay with future travelers! So glad you had a great visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Heather and Michael are wonderful hosts and they accommodated our needs. Our stay was comfortable and refreshing...the food was wonderful and there was a beautiful white lilac bush right outside of my window. We had the option of opening the windows which was nice and refreshing as an option to the central AC.

So glad we chose Samuel Durfee House! We will go back.

Room Tip: Location is very near shops, restaurants and attractions. We parked the car and walked Newport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rfahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

So glad that your visit to the Samuel Durfee House left you feeling renewed and wanting to return! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Newport where we celebrated our first anniversary. We could not have been more pleased with the Samuel Durfee House! Michael and Heather are fantastic, thoughtful and friendly. They were very helpful and informative when it came to the area and were eager to hear where we had been so they could share the information for future guests.
They even left us anniversary cupcakes- which was a nice touch!

The breakfast is delicious- one day we were served a spinach and tomato frittata with sides of bacon and potatoes and the second day belgian waffles with a berry sauce. Both days we started our breakfast with a bowl of fresh fruit and baked goods. The coffee is also excellent.

Our room was quiet and clean with a comfortable kind sized bed. The B&B is within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and other local attractions. They also provide off-street parking. The house is historic and charming.

We will be back and would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys charming B&B's with owners who make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julieanne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We are so glad that you felt at home here and that you chose our inn for your anniversary getaway! We look forward to seeing you the next time you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for several days in October. It was our first time in Newport. We had a great visit and Heather and Michael made us very welcome. The location is well located and within walking distance of most of the sites and restaurants in town. The room was well appointed and breakfast was top-notch and delicious. Very nice historic home and they even provided parking. It is a very comfortable and charming place to stay while in Newport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rockluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with future guests. Fall is a wonderful time to visit and we are happy that you choose the Samuel Durfee House for your visit! If you find yourselves back in Newport, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

As titled, Simply Amazing! My wife and I are new to the B&B scene and decided to give the Samuel Durfee House a shot. After reading all the positive reviews about this place, we tried it and couldn't agree more to everything positive we read. First off, Heather, Michael and son Jaxson are amazing. They couldn't have been more helpful and giving us suggestions on dinner and site seeing. Second, their breakfast is out of this world. Saturday morning, Michael served a crepe benedict with a hollandaise sauce along w/bacon and potatoes and on Sunday morning, Heather served a Belgium waffle w/warm fruit and sausage. Also, their coffee was delicious.
We stayed in the Doris Duke room located on the 2nd floor in the back of the house. This room had a king size bed, small fridge and private bathroom. The bed was very comfortable.
This was our first time in Newport as well and wished we had another day here. There is so much to do in this small town and everyone is nice. We will be back to Newport and will stay at this B&B again.

Room Tip: While staying here, we looked at 4 other rooms and they all looked great. I think any room you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank erick4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Wow, thanks for the kind words! It means so much to us that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our trip to Newport, RI was a birthday present to my husband. I wanted to stay in a clean, comfortable and charming B&B, that's why I decided to choose Samuel Durfee House. It is a historic house in the heart of Newport, close to all landmarks. Keepers Heather and Michael are the best. Very friendly, ready to help with everything. And what about breakfasts and afternoon snacks and fresh baked cookies? They are amazing! After spending 4 days in Newport in spring, we have a dream to come back during the summer or early fall. And no doubt about it: we will stay again only in Samuel Durfee!

Room Tip: We stayed in Jackie O room. It is very charming, but a little bit small. But perfect to stay for 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaplunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your spring getaway with us! On your next visit, you may want to try the Harrison Suite or Durfee Room as they are our largest rooms. We hope to see you this summer or early fall! Thanks for sharing your thoughts about your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,116 reviews
1 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#10 of 96 in Newport
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
0.1 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 96 in Newport
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuel Durfee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Durfee House

Address: 352 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $178 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samuel Durfee House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1803 Federal period inn located downtown in Newport's Yachting village, just a block from the harbor. A complimentary full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments are served daily. Enjoy the ambiance of an historic building with modern amenities. All rooms are uniquely decorated and feature private bathroom, television, small fridge, robes, bluetooth alarm clock, iron, and ironing board. Complimentary parking and wifi are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samuel Durfee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing