We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pilgrim House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$559
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grace Vanderbilt(Newport)
$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Newport Marriott(Newport)(Great Value!)
$309
$289
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Newport Bay Club & Hotel(Newport)(Great Value!)
$149
$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$535
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
48
45
15
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
45
15
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop deckbagelsthird floorfree parkingspring streetbed and breakfastb bchurch parking lotgreat view of harborshort walkthe breakfast areabreakfast breadstop floorliving roomnoise from the streetbottled waterhard boiled eggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 117 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The location is perfect for seeing the Newport Mansions or the restaurants and nightlife on the Wharf. Nice rooftop deck for breakfast or relaxing with a bottle of wine after a day of sight seeing in Newport. The staff was courteous and friendly. Rooms were large and very clean. Exceeded our expectations in every category. Parking was a couple of blocks away but not an issue since we were mostly walking everywhere.

Room Tip: Top floor may be your best bet if available.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djjmcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I recently stayed at Pilgrim House Inn from June 22 to June 25. When I arrived I was greeted by Barry who is one of the innkeepers.He provided me with directions to park my car near the auto mechanic. Upon entering my room the air-conditioning was already running. The room was small but comfortable. The bathroom was in good condition and housekeeping did a wonderful job in maintaining the rooms. The deck on the 3rd floor has a great view of the harbor. If you look straight down from the deck you can see the Japanese garden that is maintained by the innkeepers. This prompted me to request a visit to the garden. Debbie who is a wonderful host allowed me access to this garden. Each morning breakfast was available (boiled egg, fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, bagels, english muffins, juice and coffee). And the other guests were also friendly. The innkeepers also keep sherry in their parlor as well as other snacks. The hospitality and the excellent service provided by the innkeepers and staff is something I look forward upon my next visit to Newport. During this visit I did the mansion tours and cliff walk as well as visit the harbor. Newport is a great city to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laguna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just got back from staying here with a friend(BBF) and had a wonderful time! The Inn is very old but quite charming! Our room was Rm#11 located on the third floor. Room was decent size with 2 queen beds and bathroom was small but managable. Breakfast is served on the third floor and the roof top deck is there also. Parking is located a couple of blocks away (2min walk). This was not a problem for us. The Inn is nothing fancy. But the location was fabulous, 1 block /street from Thames St (main st where all action is) Would reccomend to everyone looking for a good affordable and covenient place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor are where the roof top deck and breakfast is served.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The web page photography for the Pilgrim House Inn (circa 1800) is beautiful. The palor is very nicely done and comfortable. They even have a liquer and biscuits for late afternoon. It is really very charming. Breakfast is served on the third floor and the patio is off the breakfast room with a beautiful view of the harbor on a clear day. Really, if you don't have a problem with stairs, the breakfast area is wonderful. We stayed in room 8 on the 2nd floor - two queen beds. There is shallow armoire near the bath for a dozen hanging garments and a dresser between the beds. The room is nicely made up but it is small, especially for two beds. It isn't clear in the photo that the beds are pushed against the walls with very little walking space once luggage is added to the room. The bathroom is tiny - as our host explained, it was converted from one of the many fireplaces built into the original home. The shower door was moldy from the inside though it looks clean from the outside (housekeeping tip?). Our host was very nice and helpful; our hostess was a pretty cranky the second morning but that happens. WiFi is provided but impossible to access for whatever reason. There is no on-site parking but parking is provided about 2.5 blocks away. Centrally located for the harbor and pier, easy access to restaurants and historical sites. For the price, I really expected better planned rooms and a cleaner bath.

Room Tip: Be sure to state your requirements when you book your travel with Pilgrim House. If you can't use stairs, tell your host before booking. If you have an allergy, address it before booking! Be sure you understand the accommodation and what you expect. It's not fair to the Inn to expect them to address the issues after you arrive, though your host will try to do so. For those who haven't been to Newport, the streets are tiny and crowded. There is a lot of history but, if you don't like crowds, book your travel prior to the start of the season. The Pilgrim House Inn is right in the middle of everything you will probably want to do.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our overnight in Newport. This place was lovely and had a lot of the old Victorian charm you would expect in a historic home of this era. The innkeeper is lovely and her staff are helpful and efficient. The 3rd floor room was clean and loved that we didn't have to share a bath. While it was small there is a first floor sitting room and a third floor breakfast area. the little extras like water bottles and candies were nice and the towels were so soft. The parking was a couple of blocks away on a quaint street but appreciated that it is included. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawnbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews