We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & drinks, and all else average”
Review of Safari Room

Safari Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Safari Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 235 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $15 - $42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Harrison Avenue
Transit: Seasonal
Description: The Safari Room is located on the famed Ocean Drive, set against the cliffs of Narragansett Bay. The Safari Patio is open seasonally from May through October, providing you with an open-air dining experience with exceptional service. Enjoy fresh local seafood and a variety of hand crafted entrees while dining among sunsets, starlight and the UN-paralleled views of the bay. Our culinary team utilizes only the finest ingredients to make each dish distinct, creating a unique sense of culture and place in every bite. Relax with a sunset cocktail, and redefine romance while telling us of your travels. The Indoor Safari Dining Room is open for weekend dining October through May, and open year round for special events.
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great view & drinks, and all else average”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place has the most fabulous view going. Ended up here on graduation weekend after not being able to able to get reservations at one of our usual haunts. The Sunday brunch menu looked great but the food was average. Would have preferred to be able to choose off the standard menu. Our server had deer in the headlight look throughout our meal. Not sure if he was new or what - but service was spotty. Drinks were great - one of the best Bloody Mary's I have ever had - so that was a plus. Probably not go here again. Better options available.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddyLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    16
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Drinks”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Only the bar was open not the restaurant. We ordered 4 drinks. 2 gin and tonics, a beefeater martini and a beer. The beer was the only one poured correctly. The gin and tonics were made with soda not tonic. The martini came with a slice of lime no olives! Yikes. I hope the bartenders in the summer are better trained.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great place to dine on Ocean Drive”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We made the famous Ocean Drive outing while in Newport, Rhode Island. As we were driving, we saw a beautiful old hotel from the road and pulled in. The building was the Ocean Cliff Resort, NOT the timeshare next door. This gorgeous home was built in 1864 and is now an intimate boutique hotel that is a perfect spot for a wedding. They have a restaurant on-site, the Safari Room, and we were hungry, so we took a chance. We had a feeling this could be pricey, but the setting was glorious so we went on in. We had an excellent and enjoyable lunch. Rob, our waiter, was great at telling us about the history of the site and guiding us to choices on the menu that we all loved. Three of us had the Lobster Roll with the best salad I was to have all week. Fresh, big, chunks of lobster that was perfectly paired with the salad. Rob got the dressing recipe for me but, I was enjoying the wine and my lunch, and forgot to write it all down. My husband had a pizza which he didn't love but, pizza at this place is a weird choice anyway. We toured the hotel afterward, snuck some incredible cookies and hot chocolate that were in the lobby hallway, and could not get over what a gorgeous spot it was. The restaurant has a good, varied menu and is a great choice for lunch when you can appreciate the view. It wasn't the least expensive meal but it was worth every penny. If you can't afford to live along Ocean Drive; at least you can dine there and own the view for an hour or so!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful views & service ... but pricey”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great spot away from the Newport madness on the weekends. Wonderful grounds to stroll before or after the meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank G-KinEuroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dining pleasure”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The staff was great and the food even better! Try this some weekend and you won't be sorry; especially sitting on the deck and watching the sailing boats go by with a cool drink of choice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Safari Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing