We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn on Bellevue
Nearby Hotels
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
$212
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Newport Marriott(Newport)(Great Value!)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$265
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grace Vanderbilt(Newport)
$595
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$535
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$450
$425
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveler rating
202
156
80
35
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
156
80
35
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench toastb bfree parkingeuropean stylequichewalking distanceperfect locationbed and breakfastfront porchbreakfast was includedyogurthot breakfastjacuzzi tubfirst floorhotel vikingtennis hall of famethe cliff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 523 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We stayed at the Inn at Bellevue with our two-year-old and 6 month old boys. We were travelling to town in the high season and really wanted more of a suite so we didn't have to go to bed at 8 o'clock with the boys. Anything like that at one of the pricey hotels would have been at least $500 a night.

We were given a small apartment to stay in at the Bellevue with two small bedrooms, a bathroom, a living room and a kitchen. The suite was very clean and worked perfectly for us. Yes it had old bedding and mismatched furniture, but we were staying in downtown Newport in the middle of August for under $200!! I was very happy with everything, including the breakfast the next day. The hotel reminded me of some places in Europe I stayed in college while backpacking around.

Many of the other reviews were way too harsh. If you are going to squawk about "ratty bedding" then go across the street to the Viking and pay $400 for a room with the same location, same level of cleanliness but nicer sheets!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innlooker, Owner at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2008

This is to the traveler who stayed in room 15 with the Jacuzzi we were at 95% with renovations. For the festival we were full. For walk-ins we just have one room available and this is why we discounted. Sorry for your bad experience. In 2008 we will finish all renovations.

Owner
Inn on Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We were invited to have dinner at a friend's house in Newport and went on a Saturday in August without a room reservation---not our best move and made worse by the Folk Festival being the same weekend. Tried two places we had stayed previously but they were booked. One of them called the Inn on Bellevue and they had a room.

Lobby area was fine and desk staff very nice. Went to see room and it was beynd basic but seemed clean and was airconditioned. They wanted $220 but my husband bargained down to $175. We also got the thing others have mentioned about paying cash and figured we would do it---although it did seem odd.

Only when we actually got into the room did we begin to realize just how bad it was. First, it had such a strong disinfectant smell that it gave me a headache. The bedspread was old and ratty. The sheets were clean---trust me we checked. The room had a HUGE jacuzzi and then a tiny shower head----since we were only there for one night and had showered at home we opted not to even try it. The sink---which was in the room--had the reverse of the problem others have mentioned. It had no cold water---great to brush teeth with hot water. The furniture was worse than thrift shop. the mattress was saggy. We had one had towel and no face cloths. The breakfast was served on a pleasant patio and the coffee was good but the food was awful----fruit salad still frozen.

The staff we encountered were all very pleasant but I would NEVER stay at this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mmob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innlooker, Owner at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2008

This is to the traveler who stayed in room 15 with the Jacuzzi we were at 95% with renovations. For the festival we were full. For walk-ins we just have one room available and this is why we discounted. Sorry for your bad experience. In 2008 we will finish all renovations.

Owner
Inn on Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

This is a comic parp hole if I have ever had the misfortune to stay in one. Stayed over the weekend for a wedding in Newport. No bath water. No hot water tap attached to the pipe for the shower. Mentioned to the hotel owner who simply told me to go away as I was ruining his evening. Nice one. Unfortunately they rest on the fact that Newport tends to run at 100% occupancy during the summer. Whatever you do, however, do not bother wasting the cash on this place. Wash and eat on the beach and sleep in the motor. If you can't do that chew off your own arm and beat yourself over the head with it before considering the temptation.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank London_123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innlooker, Owner at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2008

This is a family owned, European Inn. We don't have the same amenities as a hotel. You were here at a very busy time. If many people are taking a shower at the same time, you have to let the water run a few minutes.

If you have issues and let us know about it, we give a free night or a discount on the bill, as we did to many of the people who complained.

Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

I cannot believe the board of health hasn't shut this place down. The bedrooms were disgusting, the sheets filthy and the hallways smelled like camel! ...and good luck getting a maid to show up to your room. FAT CHANCE.
The fact that they actually had the audacity to take our money is a complete JOKE.
Do yourselves a favor and stay far, far away.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Amanda000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innlooker, Owner at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2008

We have served over 18,000 people over the years. Many of the people return year after year. If your room was not clean, you should have brought it to the attention of the management. Since I did not receive your complaint, I assumed your stay was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Just a terrible place for the price. Actually, a terrible place, period. It just hurts even more that it cost as much as it did. Small rooms, poor service, tiny showers (that didn't even work at first. They had to put a new shower head in), a bed that sags in the middle. You would think that for $200 per night, they could buy a new bed...
Bottom line: there has to be a better place to stay in Newport.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innlooker, Owner at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2008

We have served over 18,000 people since 2001. When you report problems, as you did with the shower head, we make every effort to respond right away. We have a variety of rooms available from romantic rooms to suites which can accomodate up to six people. We continue to be the best value in Downtown Newport. We do renovations every year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews