We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Great Staff”
Review of Inn on Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on Bellevue
Ranked #13 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitestone, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay, Great Staff”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Returned to the Inn on Bellevue for a weekend getaway. We always enjoy staying there, and this was no exception. The Manager (Owner?) was nice enough to show us the renovations they are doing at the properties. There are 4 of them. Seems like they are redoing all of the bathrooms, ripping out the carpets, and a lot more. Nice to see they are taking care of these historic properties. While we may not be returning to Newport for awhile, when we do, we will go back to the Inn on Bellevue.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsonbellevue, General Manager at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review. It was my pleasure to show you the work we are doing here at the Inns on Bellevue. Feedback from Trip Advisor was a helpful factor in determining the needed renovations for our properties. As you had seen, we have taken up ALL carpeting at the Brinley Victorian, and will have beautiful hardwood floors throughout. We are remodeling 75% of our bathrooms, and adding a new breakfast room at the Bellevue Manor. I hope you will return to see the finished product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    148
    73
    32
    49
See reviews for
89
275
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was here for a wedding reception, very clean very pleasant staff clean rooms and not to mention the food was excellent, if you are go to visit Newport this is the place to stay, reasonable pricing. Very nice outside patio to enjoy a drink or two Ina nice summer night

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsonbellevue, General Manager at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
It was my pleasure to have you and your family here at the Inns on Bellevue. I was delighted to meet your entire family, and you all looked terrific heading out for the wedding reception!! I hope your future travels will bring you back to Newport, and to the Inns on Bellevue.

Regards,
Paul W. Galluscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Loved the place, all the comforts of home, nice sized antique rooms with jacuzzi, very comfortable, convenient and walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Close to historic mansions and Tennis Hall of fame. The service and staff was exceptional and very pleasant. The breakfast was delicious!! I loved their fresh pastries as well. I definitely recommend this B&B and will be returning for another weekend stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSdiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsonbellevue, General Manager at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
The staff and I truly appreciate your kind comments. We are all so happy we could make your weekend getaway so memorable!

Regards,
Paul W. Galluscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Newport was our first date 10yrs ago. We decided to stay at the INN on Bellevue. What I loved the most was the decor and the jacuzzi right in the bedroom. The inn was quiet and we have no complains. The best part was walking next door the the main house for breakfast. I thought it was a cold breakfast but there was someone waiting to cook whatever we wanted. There was fresh coffee and fresh fruit and pastries. I also loved that the INN is a walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. We had fun at the blues cafe and walked back to the inn. Had a fabulous stay I cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask about jacuzzi in most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsonbellevue, General Manager at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for sharing your comments about your experience. I will be sure to share your review with the staff.

Regards,
Paul W. Galluscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here in December of 2013 for a weekend getaway. We were a little leery after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor but were pleasantly surprised by the quality and cleanliness of the room. The staff was very friendly and responsive, the breakfasts were delicious and the location ideal. We did have an issue with hot water on the first morning we stayed, but the hotel had fixed the problem by that evening and we didn't have the problem recur. We stayed in room 123 in Bellevue Manor, which is a queen jacuzzi room through a living social deal. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends going to Newport for the weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ortis142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsonbellevue, General Manager at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Your feedback is truly appreciated by all of the staff at the Inns on Bellevue. I enjoyed meeting you while you stayed with us, and hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
Paul W. Galluscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My family recently stayed in Newport for our reunion. Inn on Bellevue was perfect! We reserved six rooms at the Inn and even had our own private lounge area and use of a kitchen. A wonderful surprise when traveling with little ones. Breakfast was the best. They offered such a spread we were stuffed! Staff went out of their way to offer recommandations. We loved it here and will definitely return next year!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travel20133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsonbellevue, General Manager at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
How nice to hear your great feedback about your stay with us here at the Inns on Bellevue. Your review will be shared with the staff, as they always appreciate being recognized for a job well done.

Regards,
Paul W. Galluscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived on Sat afternoon and found our suite in Brinley to be clean and adequate, but cold! We asked the young lady who was checking us in to show us the thermostat. She couldn't find one in the room. Out in the hallway, at the other end of the house, was the lone thermostat for the ground floor of the house. She said, "I think that should work." We went out for a few hours, came back to a still-cold room. Walked over to tell the young lady that the suite was still cold. She assured us it would be taken care of. Came back in the evening to no heat, still. At this point we telephoned the front desk. New young lady. We complained that at least we could be provided with a space heater. Evidently the on-site staff for the four properties consists of one young lady who sits at the reception desk in the main hotel and really can't leave very easily. She told us she would try to call the owner. Meanwhile my husband resourcefully investigated whether the thermostat at the end of the hall had any effect on the radiator in our room--it didn't. In the process he discovered that the back door to the Inn was wide open, and a window in the front parlor also was wide open. (not very safe, and adding to the cold temperature since it was about 55 degrees outside.) My husband found the stairs to the basement and went down to see whether the furnace ws fired up. It wasn't, but he did find a space heater and that is how we managed to stay warm that evening and the next morning. Very very poor for more than $250!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenhE6366DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,995 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Bellevue

Property: Inn on Bellevue
Address: 30 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on Bellevue 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn on Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Bellevue Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing