We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your Money”
Review of Inn on Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn on Bellevue
Ranked #13 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Waste Your Money”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

'm so surprised at the reviews on this site because this B&B was old and unkempt. I have traveled SO many places and this was not as good as some $20 European hostels! We were in the Brinley. We were told when we got there that we had received "an upgrade". If that was the case, I would have hated to see the original room. I was there with 3 other couples, 2 of whom were in the same inn as us, the other was in the Bellevue House. All of us were IMMENSELY disappointed. Our furnishings were Spartan and there was nothing cozy about the accommodations. It's really too bad that whomever owns this collection of B&Bs has let them go to shambles, because the location is great and the potential for the building themselves is fantastic. It's just a result of pure laziness and money mismanagement that a $200+ per night location looks so awful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenGrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsonbellevue, General Manager at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
While we always appreciate when a guest takes the time to offer feedback of their stay with us, I am disappointed that you were not happy with the accommodations you had during your visit to Newport. While the Brinley Victorian Inn is a historic property, over 100 years old, we make every effort to maintain its historic significance while providing contemporary conveniences. It is unfortunate you did not stop by the front desk to mention your dissatisfaction during your stay with us so that we could have addressed the issues before you left. Please do not hesitate to call me directly if your travels bring you back to Newport in the future. I will be delighted to personally handle your reservations, and provide you with accommodations which you would find more comfortable.

Regards,
Paul W. Galluscio
General Manager, Inns on Bellevue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    148
    73
    32
    49
See reviews for
88
275
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This may not be the most charming B&B in Newport, but it is good value and very well situated. Our room was in another building two streets back. Free parking, which is not the case everywhere in Newport. Our room was average, clean and functional. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuPel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Room was dirty ans smelled like sweaty moldey feet, the smoke detctor was disconnect, the tv was old and in poor condition, could not open legs when sitting on toilet because the walls were too close to the seat, so after a poor nights sleep it left early before the 8am breakfast

Room Tip: Stay at any othe b&d....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsonbellevue, General Manager at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
While I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, I appreciate that you took the time to bring these issues to my attention. I did go personally to inspect the room in which you stayed. While I did not observe any offensive odor, I did find that the smoke detector was removed, and it was immediately replaced.
I feel I should mention that this is an economical, smaller room, which can only be reserved by calling the inn directly. It cannot be reserved online. This gives us an opportunity to explain that this room is smaller, and best suited for a budget minded traveler. This room is often requested by return guests who enjoy staying in an ideal location at an affordable price. It is unfortunate that you did not bring your dissatisfaction to our attention while you were here so we could have addressed your concerns prior to your departure.
If your travel plans bring you back to Newport, please feel free to call me directly so I can personally handle your reservations.

Regards,
Paul W. Galluscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Every thing was so nice at this inn,rooms designed with antique furniture with a european feel,breakfast with expreeso coffe,fresh friut,asparagas omelett,We parked our car and walked every where,staff was wonderful,friends have been here before and very glad they recomended this small hotel.For the price we paid the value was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our stay in Newport was highlighted by the warm and friendly staff. Breakfast is a complete meal!!! Our room was just perfect and met our expectations. Its location is just perfect to walk down to all piers and around. I recommend it as a great stay in Newport!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenaez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The most uncomfortable bed in all my 30 years of travel: hard, creaky. So loud that when either of us moved we would wake the other person up. Woke up full of aches and pains. Shower stall so small I had to step out of it torinse my legs off. Totally disinterested innkeepers. The only saving grace was that off-street parking was available.

Having stayed in Newport many times over the past 30 years I have been in accomodations of all types/budgets and this was the most dissppointing. You can do much better at a similar price point!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The staf was wonderful with assiting us with hotel and things to do in newport,We started with great breakfast fruit was fresh and french toast was so tasty we had capocchino.and on our way we walked down the hill to center of town,went on a great big sailing tour of habor,newport is beautiful fron the water,That evening there where many good restraunts to pick from,we walked back up to the inn,and got a great room,with high ceiling and origanal woodwoking,it felt very european,we had a four poster bed that was a little high but was very conforble,next morning another wonderful breakfast,and went to visit some great mancions,the inn was in a great location convenience to every thing,The was very clean and our house mad was very nice to use,we very enjoyed our european hotel.

Room Tip: inn on bellevue rooms 1,2 ,7,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Bellevue

Property: Inn on Bellevue
Address: 30 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on Bellevue 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn on Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Bellevue Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing