We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”
Review of Inn on Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn on Bellevue
Ranked #14 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
1 review
“great experience”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The staf was wonderful with assiting us with hotel and things to do in newport,We started with great breakfast fruit was fresh and french toast was so tasty we had capocchino.and on our way we walked down the hill to center of town,went on a great big sailing tour of habor,newport is beautiful fron the water,That evening there where many good restraunts to pick from,we walked back up to the inn,and got a great room,with high ceiling and origanal woodwoking,it felt very european,we had a four poster bed that was a little high but was very conforble,next morning another wonderful breakfast,and went to visit some great mancions,the inn was in a great location convenience to every thing,The was very clean and our house mad was very nice to use,we very enjoyed our european hotel.

Room Tip: inn on bellevue rooms 1,2 ,7,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    145
    72
    33
    49
See reviews for
85
274
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I'll start with the good things about this place: the breakfast and the parking. We stayed at the Bellvue Inn, and our room was not clean, particularly the carpet and air conditioner. Saggy mattress. Electrical cords were all over the room. Be prepared for uneven floors. For the price, which can be negotiated down if you're willing to pay cash, it was OK. This probably is not "average" for Newport; I'd give it only 2.5 stars.

Room Tip: Get your room confirmation in writing when you make the reservation. There are no elevators, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMANewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Inn on Bellevue is a great place to stay in Newport. Up the hill from Thames St., across from the Hotel Viking, it's a picturesque walk to the restaurants and shops of Bannister's Wharf. The Inn is a series of Victorian Houses and each room has it's own unique charm. I stayed at the Brinley Victorian house twice and enjoyed the antique Victorian furniture, the interesting vintage photography and prints on the walls, the cute porch swing and the fantastic hot breakfast with really good coffee. The people who run the inn are very nice, too, and everything was spotless! Definitely recommended, and I would stay there again in a minute!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallingdollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R.I.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband & I decided to take a couple of days vacation in Newport. It was our first time at a bed & breakfast. What a pleasant experience. This inn is centrally located and we could walk to most places in Newport. We found the inn to be immaculately clean. The room was quaint & very comfortable & we had no problem sleeping thru the nite on a most comfortable mattress. The staff was very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was awsome. What a variety and very tasty. You would not be able to get a better breakfast from any restaurant-assorted pastries, quiche,blueberry pancakes, french toast, ham and much more. It was a very relaxing atmosphere at this inn. We are planning another trip next year in Newport. It was such a great experience that we will definitely be coming back to Inn on Bellevue next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
412 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place is really just okay. It has a good location, but that's about it. The room I had (in the Brinley) was very dated. It had a bit of a musty smell. The shower took forever to warm up. I was only there for a night and glad to leave. It is a less expensive option in a good location, but I think you can do better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were here for 2 nights for labor day weekend. Our room was in house no 15 on 3rd floor.
The room size is decent, there was enough space to keep the luggage and move around. The only thing is, this place is very very old, everything looks very outdated. Breakfast was good, didnt like the coffee. The lady at the breakfast counter made me a cappuccino, and that was nice.
The best thing about this place is location. Its right on Bellevue ave, close to the mall, mansions and newport downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsonbellevue, General Manager at Inn on Bellevue, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank your for taking the time to send your review on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at the Inns on Bellevue. We are a collection of 4 bed and breakfast properties, all located on the same block of Newport. Your reservation was made on the same day of your arrival, so there were very limited options during that sold out Labor Day holiday weekend.
Bellevue House, where you stayed, was built in the 1700's. This historic building is our most economical option, and the room you reserved, the "Economy Room", offers clean accommodations at reasonable prices.
If your travel plans bring you back to Newport, please feel free to call me directly (with a few days notice), and I will be happy to arrange accommodations at any of our properties, many of which include luxury accommodations, suites, and more recently renovated rooms.

Regards,
Paul W. Galluscio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We looked for a relatively inexpensive sleeping hole close to the fabled Bellevue Avenue that would feature a parking spot, a hot breakfast, and Wi-Fi access. Given a severe shortage of affordable hotels in the area, we booked a Bed & Breakfast place rather than a run-off-the-mill network hotel, and that will likely be the last time we do so. For all we care, European chic should be restricted to Europe.

Location:
The location of this hotel is likely its primary selling feature. The bustling downtown is within easy walk, and so is the famous Touro synagogue, while the fabled mansions of Bellevue are a couple of minutes driving away (30-60 min walk, if you feel sporty) and have free parking areas. Despite being so prominently located, the hotel is totally insulated from street noise due to the virtue of facing a rarely-traversed side street. Grade: Five points out of five.

Amenities:
That's where most B&B inns fail, this one being no exception. The interior design was tasteful but not spectacular. The swimming pool and the gym advertised in the description are in fact 5 minutes away in another hotel, and cost $20 per day to access, which pretty much defeats their relaxation purpose. There was no ice machine in the building, which was a serious bummer in summertime. To the inn's credit, Wi-Fi worked spectacularly well. Also, there was an unannounced bonus of a fridge, a cooking range, and a m-wave (all thoroughly run down but operative) available on the top floor. Grade: Two points out of five.

Room Facilities:
The room had two queen beds and a serviceable TV, as advertised, the shower worked, unspectacular as it may be, and so did the toilet. That's, unfortunately, where the good things ended. The beds had a few sparse metal rods in place of the headboard (good luck fishing your pillow from the floor every sleeping hour), both tables were about knee-high (if you want to eat, write, or use your laptop, tough luck), and there wasn't a single chair to be found! The A/C was present and fully functional (and even relatively modern) but strategically placed right above my bed to make half of it unlivable. The phone - even intercom to the reception, not to speak of local or long-distance calls - was not available. An additional point of annoyance was the huge mirror artfully placed between exactly the bed and the bathroom; it might afford a nice piquant view when one's spouse shows up naked, but can be quite convenient with kids in the room. Grade: Two points out of five, and only because "one" is reserved for truly unmitigated disasters.

Room condition:
Did I mention truly unmitigated disasters? The room floor was visibly dirty, the air smelled of cheap cleaning chemicals, and the window couldn't be opened to get rid of the smell. The first hint of what's to expect was given to us when the room wasn't ready to move in at 3pm. Later that day, water started pouring down from the ceiling, thanks to a plumbing problem. We reported the problem and were assured that it will be taken care of. The water flow soon ceased (likely due to the fact that our neighbors upstairs couldn't shower eternally), to be replaced by an occasional hail of plaster pieces the size of my finger. On the next day, we were entertained by the smoke alarm blaring for no obvious reason until the technician came over and shut the system down. The day after, the water flow resumed. At that point, we were offered to move to another room but we were about to leave the next morning, and thus past caring. Grade: One point out of five, and even that is a stretch.

Breakfast:
While the breakfast menu checked all the proper checkboxes to qualify as "full breakfast", the choice was inferior by a mile to what we used to receive in network hotels. Hot dishes were limited to boiled ham and overcooked asparagus omelet - the former a very iffy choice for an hotel bordering a famous synagogue. The breakfast room was rather small, and plagued by the same curse of knee-high tables. The hostess - a good-looking young lady with a smile so radiant it could ignite water - was the breakfast's only redeeming feature. Grade: Two points out of five, plus extra half-point for the hostess.

Personnel:
Outside of the room service, not a bad word is to be said of the people working this inn on a shoestring budget. They are professional and polite, they smile - helpfully or helplessly, depending on the situation - and they try their very best to keep the guests happy. It is not their fault that sometimes, even the very best is not enough. Grade: Four out of five.

Conclusion:
If location and unique style matter to you, consider this place. If amenities and comfort are the key, stay away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.8 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Bellevue

Property: Inn on Bellevue
Address: 30 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on Bellevue 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn on Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Bellevue Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing