We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
Ranked #37 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2007

The Architect's Inn was one of the most romantic inns that we have ever visited. It had exceeded our expectations! We were celebrating a special anniversary, so an environment that would enhance the occasion was just splendid.

Nick, the innkeeper, was fabulous in giving us a wealth of information before we arrived. He has an extraordinary sense of the diverse array of restaurants. We were delighted with all the terrific suggestions that he had for us. He has an incredible knowledge of the history of Newport. This made our discovery of the town even more enjoyable.

The inn itself was in a historic location of town - very beautiful and peaceful. You were able to park your car at the inn and walk to town or the beach . The location was just perfect. Most impressive was how gorgeous the inn was - it was a slice of history that is treasured.
The decor and comfort elements of the inn were superb. We truly felt as though we had come to stay with old friends.

We look forward to returning to Newport and the Architect's Inn next year to create new memories.

Shelley Bayne and Ron Capozzi

Helpful?
3 Thank musicbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    14
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
128
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

this inn was the perfect way to enjoy the weekend of wedding bliss for our nephew. we wanted a place we could all gather since we are scattered all over the u.s. Nick and Brian were gracious hosts and chatted with us as if they were part of the family. the rooms were large, beds perfectly comfy and the entire place was immaculate. i would definately stay there again should the occasion arise.

  • Liked — cleanliness and large spaces to roam
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thepizzalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danbury Ct
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

Our stay at Architect's Inn was delightful. The inn was beautifully decorated and immaculate. The room was absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. The innkeepers were helpful, pleasant and made you feel right at home. A tray of cookies or brownies was always on the dining room table and in the evening, wine glasses were left iout f you needed them, sherry was available and they had a great selection of teas. It was also in a great location. I would recommend this inn to anybody.

  • Liked — beautiful inn and room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank buttercuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed one night at Architect's Inn in early July and we wish we could have stayed longer. The inn is beautifully decorated and is located in a very convenient location - we walked to all of the downtown sights and it was a short drive out Bellevue to the mansions. Most importantly, the innkeepers are superior hosts. Nick was very friendly, helpful, and very hospitable in providing afternoon snacks, etc and in serving us a delicious breakfast. You can't go wrong with Architect's Inn!

  • Liked — The inn was beautiful and the innkeepers were a pleasure to work with
  • Disliked — It's hard to think of something
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bailey6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

I really enjoyed my stay at "Architect's Inn." Nick and Brian, the Innkeepers were very accomidating and very hospitable. I highly recommend this Inn if you are interested in the mansions of Newport, RI because it's right near Bellevue Ave., where the mansions are located. The breakfast that was served was awesome, I recommend the Cinnamon French Toast....Delicious!!! The rooms were very cozy and Victorian, my overall stay at the "Architect's Inn" was definetly 5 stars! :)

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
closter,new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2007

We stayed here for two nights this past weekend. The inn was everything we expected and then some. Our hosts, Nick and Brian, were very personable and catered to our every need. They even joined us in lively discussions at various times throughout our stay. The inn itself, situated on a very quiet, charming street within walking distance to downtown Newport, was everything a New England inn should be...19th century charm with modern amenities, clean and well appointed, historic, comfortable, and QUIET. Even a special dietary menu for breakfast (as well as a flourless chocolate cake made especially for us for a late afternoon treat!) was embraced by our hosts and made our experience that much more special. This is a wonderful getaway, one that we would not hesitate to book again on our next trip to Newport, which, if you've not been there before, should be your next destination spot for a truly enjoyable weekend. Lean on Nick and Brian; they know Newport, they'll suggest restaurants, and they'll make you comfortable. GREAT PLACE!. GO!

  • Liked — Our hosts..very personable and very accommmodating!
  • Disliked — Perhaps a little high priced.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank craigjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2007

Architect's Inn has just been purchased by two chariming hosts. I was fortunate to stay there on their fist evening as owners. Nick and Brian extended a warm welcome and catered to our every need. They have owned and operated another inn in Newport for several years and clearly know the business well. The rooms are beutifully decorated. Architect's Inn is just a short walk away from the hustle and bustle of Newport on a quiet tree-lined street that leads to the ocean. It is the perfect escape in any season.

  • Liked — Beuatifully decorated and outstanding hospitality!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SEAuLATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#20 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#12 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#34 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#6 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House

Property: Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
Address: 2 Sunnyside Place, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Architects Inn - George Champlin Mason House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing