We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Architect's Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
Ranked #47 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We stayed here for two nights this past weekend. The inn was everything we expected and then some. Our hosts, Nick and Brian, were very personable and catered to our every need. They even joined us in lively discussions at various times throughout our stay. The inn itself, situated on a very quiet, charming street within walking distance to downtown Newport, was everything a New England inn should be...19th century charm with modern amenities, clean and well appointed, historic, comfortable, and QUIET. Even a special dietary menu for breakfast (as well as a flourless chocolate cake made especially for us for a late afternoon treat!) was embraced by our hosts and made our experience that much more special. This is a wonderful getaway, one that we would not hesitate to book again on our next trip to Newport, which, if you've not been there before, should be your next destination spot for a truly enjoyable weekend. Lean on Nick and Brian; they know Newport, they'll suggest restaurants, and they'll make you comfortable. GREAT PLACE!. GO!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank craigjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 205 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2007

Architect's Inn has just been purchased by two chariming hosts. I was fortunate to stay there on their fist evening as owners. Nick and Brian extended a warm welcome and catered to our every need. They have owned and operated another inn in Newport for several years and clearly know the business well. The rooms are beutifully decorated. Architect's Inn is just a short walk away from the hustle and bustle of Newport on a quiet tree-lined street that leads to the ocean. It is the perfect escape in any season.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SEAuLATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2007

We booked this B&B to experience Newport and staying in a B&B. The innkeepers were very detail-oriented, patient, and flexible in the booking, confirming and arriving process. They wrote us a personal welcome letter and left a map and key for us since we arrived when they were not home.
We had a a cozy room with our own bathroom and fully functioning amenities. There was AC, multiple fans, and windows to control the climate in the bedroom.
We took advantage of the easy ability to walk or drive wherever we wanted from this B&B. We also took advantage of the afternoon tea, coffee and snacks as well as the evening sherry on the first night. On another night we were able to grab a movie from the library and play it in our room.
They did a wonderful job with breakfast! They had something different each day and took custom orders to suit everyone's tastes. We dined in the dining and on the porch, both alone and with other guests.
It was such a beautiful place; one couple got engaged during our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2006

I've stayed at Architects Inn seven times now - and it's like coming home to the best home you can imagine. The inn is grand and romantic - a showcase of Newport style. Located in the heart of the "Top of the Hill" historic district, the inn is wthin walking distance of the beach, Bellevue Avenue, and all the sites and shops. On every day of every stay, it is spotless; the rooms delightfully decorated and maintained. Bathrooms are luxurious and convenient; beds comfortable. Local papers, magazines, DVDs, and brochures about local attractions are always handy. Experienced innkeepers Sheila and Harlan are the perfect combination of gracious good spirits, lively conversation about Newport and the area, and unobtrusive attentiveness. The full breakfasts - a changing menu of eggs benedict, french toast, pancakes, fruit, bacon, sausage, and fresh pastries personally served in a charming dining room - are never to be missed! In short, the best of the best in fabulous Newport.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gadshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jechath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank putterace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nycmeisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#19 of 96 in Newport
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#21 of 96 in Newport
45 reviews
1 mi away
Sarah Kendall House
Sarah Kendall House
#8 of 96 in Newport
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilltop Inn
Hilltop Inn
#11 of 96 in Newport
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House

Address: 2 Sunnyside Pl, Newport, RI 02840-3321
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $252 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Architects Inn - George Champlin Mason House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing