We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
America's Cup Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$599
$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$699
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$770
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$367
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melville House(Newport)(Great Value!)
$249
$239
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$356
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
$995
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
159
14
17
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
14
17
9
7
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 206 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Our decision to take the plunge into the unknown realm of bed breakfast inns was one without regret. We encountered an ambiance of class, comfort and tranquility. Our expectations were exceedingly met with Brian's gracious hospitality and the breakfast he created with the ingredient of love, as well as with the inn's close proximity to historic Newport, Cliff Walk and the mansions on Bellevue Avenue.
We especially enjoyed Nick taking the time to give us a tour of all the rooms at the inn as we were the first guests to arrive the weekend we stayed. The entire place was immaculate and beautifully furnished. The Easter decorations elicited an emotion of feeling at home. The wood burning fireplaces were a highlight in every room. We appreciated the personal recommendations for places of interest and dining.
Our experience at the Architects Inn was very much enjoyable, memorable and one we have already shared with, and recommended to, a number of friends. In fact, our decision to give this inn a try was based on a recommendation from friends of ours.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mostblessed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

The building was breath taking on the inside and outside. The service was extremelly great with the friendliest host, that just made you feel like you were at your own house. The room that we had was clean, and nicely done with the decorations. We were able to see the other rooms and all where great. The people that run the house must really take pride in what they do, because you can tell it in every detail that they have put into the place...

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

The owners were very nice and attentive. Breakfast was good and Brian made sure that he prepared food according to the guests' liking. The place was very clean and beautifully decorated for Christmas. The place was freezing & the fireplace in the common area was never used. The fireplace in the dining room was only on during breakfast. Most places love to give out their recipes. This B&B is not one of them. Be sure to bring cash. They don't like credit cards (they charge extra). I didn't feel very comfortable paying in this manner, as there was no proof of payment.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Namaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnBliss, owner at Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2009

It always surprises me about the amount of detail that is left out of these reviews. LOL

Well, to start from the beginning...when they called to book a room, they were really haggling me on the room rates. They offered to pay in cash in exchange for a discount. We accepted. We ended up giving them 40% off the room rate PLUS only charged them weekday rates when they should have been charged weekend rates. Their comment that we charge extra for credit card was ridiculous because that was the arrangement from the very beginning. The fact they were expecting us to forget about that by the time they arrived almost made me think that they were a little dishonest themselves.

The comment about the recipes.....well like any gourmet chefs who have talent, we guard our recipes. Can you go to a gourmet restaurant and just expect the chef to give you the recipe for anything on the menu??? We are a bed and breakfast not the Rachael Ray Show. It was especially upsetting about the one recipe we gave to her. That recipe has been in our family for three generations and she treated like it was something off the internet. Most of the time, the recipes are not written down or if they are written, they have modifications or special ingredigents that don't have set measurements. When a very special guest who genuinely has a good heart and a kind personality asks for a recipe, we will take the extra time out of our very very busy schedules to write down and translate a recipe. I guess the lesson we learned from this negative review is that we should keep a few Bisquick recipes handy just to appease pushy customers. LOL

I tried to explain to them about the heat but for some reason the guests did not understand. Many of our customers live in very small apartments with low-average height ceilings so keeping the rooms at 85 degrees is simple. Our house is a MANSION with 12 foot ceilings and an architectural design meant for cooling the rooms in the summer. We have very good techniques for keeping the rooms warm however, if one chooses to not listen to the owners of the house, the rooms will be cold very quickly. Their bedroom was 70 degrees and very comfortable but the guests never stayed in their room. They "chose" to sit in the common room next to the breezeway of the front door on the north side of the house in the winter time with the room doors wide open as to allow any ambient heat to escape. DUH! Of course it is going to be cold. LOL I tried telling that jokingly but I guess they couldn't take a hint.

The last bit of detail so carefully left out of their review was that it was Christmas time. We were probably the only bed and breakast in town open aside from the hotels. Most people are at least understanding that we have family obligations even though they might be on vacation. I apologize if I was not there to light the fireplace in the living room every evening when I was celebrating the holidays with my family, but in our defense, it is not like they couldn't go to their bedroom and light their own fireplace to spend a romantic evening together in their canopy bed, two person shower, television, etc. I mean, isn't that the whole point of the trip???

It cracks me up. LOL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

After spending many hours trying to find a nice place in Newport to surprise my husband for our anniversary, I came across the Architects Inn. My husband and I had never stayed at a B&B before, and we just loved it. We stayed in the Redwood Room, and it lacked nothing. It is so beautifully decorated and Brian and Nick are wonderful hosts. We really appreciated the time and energy it took for them to keep this B&B so beautiful. The breakfasts were wonderful, and it was nice to meet people from around the world who were guests at the same time we were. Brian and Nick gave us all the information we needed to enjoy the weekend, and told us what not to miss.

We've already recommended the Architects Inn to our family and friends and know that we will be back. It was a wonderful weekend, not far from our home, but it felt like we were worlds away. If you ever decide to visit Newport, please stay here. You will love it!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank celame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Our stay at the Architect's Inn was lovely. The B&B is a beautiful historic mansion, well-appointed with tasteful furnishings and period decor, and the autumnal decorations for the season made it feel even cozier. Innkeepers Nick and Brian went out of their way to accommodate our needs (my husband doesn't like egg dishes, so none appeared at breakfast!) and to recommend their favorite restaurants and attractions. They provided gracious conversation over scrumptious breakfasts (including Portuguese French toast with bacon; pumpkin pancakes with sausage; and corn waffles with baked apples), and when we encountered the BEST MUFFINS EVER -- Brian's Banana Scotch muffins -- our host willingly provided a hand-written recipe. Fresh-baked cookies every afternoon were also a highlight. We stayed in the Belmont room, which was clean and very comfortable, with a charming wood-burning fireplace. We took advantage off the off-season half-price rate, which was a welcome surprise, as we planned our trip to Newport around a wedding we needed to attend and weren't sure we'd find someplace this nice that was also affordable. Only one caveat: as is the case with old, large homes, the mansion was cold, even with the heat on. In the winter, be sure to pack a sweater and warm pajamas, and consider a room with a wood-burning fireplace, which heated it up nicely. Overall, we had a great stay and would highly recommend the hospitality of Nick and Brian at the Architect's Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank abstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews