We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
Ranked #43 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Architect's Inn for 5 nights for a nearby work conference. I have nothing bad to say. From the moment we checked in and were given information on the area until the moment we left everything was great. We loved meeting all the different people at breakfast and not to mention Brian's wonderful breakfast. I wish I could of stuffed him in my suitcase but Nick wouldn't let me. Nick and Brian were superb hosts and I never expected that we would of left feeling sad as if we were leaving friends behind. They easily accommodated our requests for an upgrade and we were pleased with the suite that we got. To our luck a couple rooms were having some upgrades so we were given the Perry Suite. Beautiful! I really hope that we will get to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halfdozenmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

The location is great. We had a superb bedroom which we loved. It was beautifully clean with a huge bathroom. We found the downstairs dark and gloomy and very clutered, but I am sure that a lot of people would like this as it is decorated in the original Victorian style. There was no choice at all for breakfast and it was a problem for me as I did not like the combination of flavours. There are wonderful wooden floors throughout, however it would have been nice to have been warned about no shoes as my feet got cold...but they often are cold !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaTrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found the Architect's Inn totally by luck. We will absolutely come back and we just hope they have room for us. This is the cleanest, classiest and friendliest bed and breakfast ever!!! We were treated like royalty and yet we felt like we were family. Nick and Brian are the coolest hosts and the information they share about all the hot spots to eat at and visit was priceless. Enough said because if I praise them too much they'll be booked for the next 20 years and we will not get a room when we want to go back. The best Inn and the tastiest breakfast. Merci to Nick and Brian.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurentlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We just spent three nights at the Architects Inn and we will be returning! This place has it all! Perfect location, great hospitality, and beautiful, cozy rooms! The breakfasts were plentiful, original and perfectly prepared; you will not be disappointed! Nick and Brian are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to ensure you're stay is comfortable and fulfilling. They are very aware of what Newport has to offer and will point out the best places for you to spend your vacation. Overall, staying at the Architects Inn made our vacation absolutely perfect and I recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the Newport area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jah1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A truly wonderful B&B. Spent a few nights here recently and was amazed at the level of service, the attention to detail in the rooms and throughout the inn and the reasonable rates. Add to this the fact that the entire Inn is immaculate, the bed in the Perry Suite was extremely comfortable and the bathroom very roomy. The house itself is gorgeous, with the outside property equally beautiful.

The location of this inn is wonderful as well. Close to just about every area of Newport - the mansions, the "downtown" area, the bayside/harborside, shopping, restaurants, etc.

Lastly, the owners Nick & Brian are incredibly friendly and helpful. They also offer delicious breakfast each morning and a nice plate of cookies and brownies for afternoon tea. All included in the room rate.

You cannot go wrong with this place where you get to meet other guests as well, and the next time I find myself in the Newport, RI area, I will definitely be staying here again.

Thank you gentlemen for a wonderful, comfortable, truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were floored at the beauty of the Architect's Inn from the moment we walked through the front door. Every inch is decorated with antiques and the house itself is very well preserved (floors, wallpaper and doorknobs looked old but were very functional). Our room looked great (we immediately sent pictures to our friends) and was very comfortable (despite the Victorian foundation the bed was more comfortable than at home and the shower had excellent hot water pressure). Nick & Brian were wonderful hosts, providing a great breakfast each morning and great tips of things to do around town (all of which were a short walk away). We had a great time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Architect's. Beautiful Old house (1873) !!! This house was decorated properly for the age of the home. It was beautiful, elegant...unique! It was very nicely preserved. We had a Standard room with private shower that was down the hall. We loved our cute room. Great Value. I loved our shower. It was modern with all kind of ways to spray yourself with water. Good location in Newport. Good parking. If the parking lot gets full, there is plenty of street parking on Sunnyside place. Nick, the innkeeper, was a great and friendly Guy. And for you superstitious folks...NO GHOST! lol Thank you Architect's Inn! We will be back some day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 95 in Newport
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marshall Slocum Inn
Marshall Slocum Inn
#7 of 95 in Newport
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#9 of 95 in Newport
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Beach Inn
Old Beach Inn
#45 of 95 in Newport
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House

Address: 2 Sunnyside Pl, Newport, RI 02840-3321
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $254 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Architects Inn - George Champlin Mason House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing