We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant hominess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
Ranked #38 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Elegant hominess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We just returned from three really wonderful days at Architects Inn where everything -- from the beauty of this old manse to the relaxed and generous hospitality of our hosts, Brian and Nick, was perfect. We needed to get away during a stressful time and this was the absolute right place to be. The old house has been lovingly decorated, restored and preserved. You walk barefoot or in slippers on the gleaming curved staircase and it looks and It warms the soul. and there are the many thoughtful touches Nick and Brian add -- homemade cookies in the afternoon, easy access to the kitchen, and fantastic breakfasts! Nick and Brian seem genuinely interested in their guests doings, and are only too happy to offer tourist tips. The location is ideal -- five minutes from everywhere, yet off the rowdy main drag, so blissfully quiet at night. we opened the windows and let the breezes flutter the lace curtains...the "bible" or guest guide book is hilarious. Take the time to read the restaurant reviews. You'll not only know where to go, and not, but enjoy your hosts'. hmm, wicked humor. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: We didn't have a choice and ended up with a higher end room on the second floor. Recommend it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooznham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    14
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
128
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nick and Brian were such wonderful hosts, in their beautiful Inn. Everything was perfect. Breakfast yummy with beautiful presentation. Great suggestions on local activities and dining. Walking distance to much. Loved the history, the beauty, and the ambiance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have just again, returned from a summer stay in Newport, a place I really enjoy going to each summer for a "turn of the century" experience. The Inn, I usually go to Is this one.Of all the Newport places to stay, this one is a KEEPER! The place has a wonderful Victorian feel to it.I,upon entering the front door, feel as if I am transported back in time, a hundred years, a feeling I just love and can not get enough.The Inn is furnished beautifully..I go from room to room, just taking in the ambience.And the side porch is so special, aplace outside,that is so inviting and relaxing,with the sound of a waterfall on the property.The rooms are large and comfortable, nicely furnished and very quite.Sleeping there is perfect, as it is quite and peacefull in the house and, more important, the surrounding neighborhood.The morning breakfast is worthy of your pallate and your digital camera.It is served so beautifully!The Innkeepers are two special, very nice guys.They can guide you to a perfect vacation, and always offer good advice.I would recommend this place to everyone .I have never had a bad experience there, and can not wait for the next return trip.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are more beautiful, but more money....worth the extra cost, in my view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a two night stay at the Architect's Inn. What a find! It is conveniently located in the center of the historical district within a few minutes walk of Thames street and the waterfront. The Inn is historically delightful with elegant woodwork and inlaid floors yet modern enough to have central air. Nick and Brian have done a wonderful job decorating the Inn with antiques except for our bed which was as comfortable as our own at home. We're truly looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: The Redwood Room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

A very cozy cotel and a very interesting experience. Beautiful house. When I arrived, the owner had left the keys by the window and I spent the holy time alone in this house, furnished like a haunted mansion. Fortunatelly there was a very nice wireless free conection and I could stay in touch with friends, showing them the house and having fun while I waited for ghosts. Very nice and I had fear, but a lot of fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank marcolopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Architects G, Owner at Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
lol I love that people think they are alone in the house. We were actually full but the house is pretty quiet overall.

I hope he got some paranormal activity. Just do not youtube it without checking with us first. lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The inn is a perfect home away from home and is close to everything Newport has to offer.
The rooms are spacious and clean with lots of details that makes them warm and welcoming and the decor makes you feel as being a part of the gilded age.
One of the best things about the place is the innkeepers that make you feel welcome and they are also a great source of information about Newport and surroundings. The breakfast is amazing with new dishes every day where quality and attention to the details is never forgotten. The only bad thing we have to say about The Architect's is that we unfortunately aren't able to go there more often.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our family (two adults, two children) recently stayed at the Architects Inn. We had such a lovely time that I had to post a review of our stay. First of all, I was happy that we were able to get accommodations together in one suite - other bed and breakfasts required two separate rooms. The Perry Suite, where we stayed, was spacious, and my teenaged daughter had her own area to sleep and relax in the sitting room of the suite complete with a fridge and a television. The breakfasts each morning were divine - most (if not all) of the fruits were organically and locally grown. There was a nice variety too, such as strawberry pancakes and sausages with fresh fruit one morning or rosemary thyme biscuits with bacon and eggs another. We had a choice of two dining times - one for early risers and another for those that enjoyed sleeping in a little bit. The innkeepers also provided afternoon snacks each day such as homemade chocolate chip cookies or brownies with servings of tea, spring water, or sherry. The inn is located within walking distance of shops, restaurants, the infamous Cliff Walk, and the Newport mansions! We didn't need to use our rental car at all. If you are looking for a nice, quiet atmosphere with laid back innkeepers, hearty breakfasts, and a historical setting, you should try the Architects Inn. You won't be disappointed! Oh, almost forgot, one member of our family is vegetarian. The innkeepers had no trouble accommodating her diet at breakfast! In fact, they asked us before we arrived if we had any special dietary concerns. Both innkeepers, Nick and Bryan, were very gracious and helpful. The innkeepers themselves will make you want to come back for a return stay!

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with children or if you have one child, try the Redwood or the La Farge Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#3 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle View Inn
Belle View Inn
#40 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#14 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#16 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Beach Inn
Old Beach Inn
#50 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House

Property: Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
Address: 2 Sunnyside Place, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Architects Inn - George Champlin Mason House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing