We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
Nearby Hotels
Yankee Peddler Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$305
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $319/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Viking(Newport)
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $327/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $556/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Attwater(Newport)
$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$390
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$645
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$750
$695
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $794/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$836
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
158
14
17
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
14
17
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurder mysterywithin walking distancebed and breakfastnew englandnick
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 205 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed at the Architects Inn for 3 days and opted for the lowest rate and was told that it was some sort of special deal although it is a published rate. So if you go for the $69.00 rate as we did just remember the B&B becomes Bed only. And for that price you get to go up 3 floors to the attic and your room will look like part of an attic that may have been used to store stuff. It looks ok until you are in it for a few hours and realize that the usable space is very limited because you are liable to bang your head on the ceiling unless you stay within a certain space. The bathroom is nice but it is tub only and you can't stand up due to the attic slope so it awkward to bath. The bathroom sink has very little water pressure. Nick said that the room usually goes for $225.00 a night but that would be a major rip. The thing the owners have about no shoes due to the floor and carpets should be rethought especially if you come down the stairs with socks on. The last set of stairs going up to the attic rooms are very steep. The first day I fell but was able to grab onto the railing and prevent a major accident, after that we wore our shoes because the risk was too great. Also they were having problems with their credit card processor and could only accept cash or checks. We went back and forth on that issue. Then I read the info brochure in the room it stated that they only take credit cards if the bill is over $600.00. That is a violation of any credit card company's agreement. Everything else was charming but I would not highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get as many specifics as you can. When we asked how much breakfast would cost we were offered a package that was more that twice the price. Don't believe that you will get upgraded if rooms are available... they were never full when we were there and never offered an upgrade.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sinis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This trip,was the third time staying here. In the past I only traveled to Newport for the day,but after staying here at this Inn for a short stay, realized how much better it is to not rush home in the evening,but stay for awhile and really see Newport. There is so much to do here in this town,impossible to see much in a day visit.Once we stayed here,it all became clear that with the close walking distance from this place to the whole town,this was the best place to choose for a overnight stay,or longer stay.We twice spent four nights here,and I was never bored at all.This mansion is spectacular,a very Newport feel to the place.The owners are great,the breakfast is amazing,the rooms comfortable.I plan another visit here in Dec,hope they have rooms for me!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TommyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a night this weekend, as she was heading to Newport to get a tattoo done at Anchor Steam. We stayed the night at Architect's Inn, and immediately wished we had booked a longer trip - owners and the other staff were great, as was the breakfast. We had a great time talking with everyone. We'll definitely look to stay there next time we're in Newport.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwpeters8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Just came from a weekend stay in Newport at the Architect's Inn. Beautiful Victorian inn (built 1873) with nicely appointed rooms. We stayed in the Perry Suite which was two rooms and a beautiful private bathroom. I had an opportunity to see two other rooms - and each looked really nice.
The innkeepers were really helpful with their knowledge of Newport and made great recommendations when we were undecided about how and where to spend the few days we had.
Being an historic property, the owners ask you not to wear shoes inside the house - so it might be helpful to know to bring slippers or something - but I was not at all put off by this and once you see the beautiful floors in the house, you'll no longer wonder why they ask this of guests.
Since parking at the mansions in town is plentiful and they are fairly far from the inn, it's advisable to drive to the mansions, but then park at the house for dinner in town as parking is difficult - and expensive. The walk back to the house is short - and beautiful.
Breakfast each morning was delicious and they offered a selection of juices and coffee / hot water for tea.
Really enjoyed our stay in Newport - and I'd highly recommend the Architect's Inn. I checked other places on the island and they were outrageously expensive. This was a really nice place to stay, very comfortable and a great value for the quality of the house, rooms and breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisagmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend at this inn for our 35th anniversary and were disappointed. Except when breakfast is served, the inn has no visible staff. To reach a manger, you have to call his cell and wait for a return call. The common rooms were dark and the small porch was pretty shabby.

Although the Inn knew it was our anniversary, there was no acknowledgment, such as fruit or flowers, that we have usually received. We stayed in the Perry suite, which was fine, except cots and other items were stored at the end of the hallway of the suite.

Shoes are required to be left at the Inn entrance, which gave off a sort of funky smell after the first day.

We bought the package with an extra each day, like a massage or boat tour, but would have paid the same or maybe a little less had we just paid the room rate.

On the plus side, the Inn is within walking distance of town, the breakfasts were spectacular, as were the cookies left out in the afternoon. The masseuse who comes right to the room was marvelous.

Newport itself was great but we would not choose this Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank megannyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews