We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The MOST hospitable and lovely inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The MOST hospitable and lovely inn”
Reviewed March 15, 2007

We just returned from a 2-night stay at the Francis Malbone Inn. Typically I'd be too lazy to write a review, but this Inn deserves outstanding kudos. From the moment we walked in, until the time of check-out, everything was 5-star excellence. We were greeted by the most charming, friendly innkeeper, Anne Maria. Her knowledge of the inn and the Newport area was terrific. Her personality was absolutely delightful. She's a real "jewel". Our lovely king-bed room was EXACTLY as it appeared on the web. The bed linens were beautiful. Everything about the inn was elegant and comfortable. Breakfast and afternoon tea were delicious and plentiful. In speaking with other guests, many of them return year after year and we surely could understand why. The location is terrific and the inn has it's own parking lot which in Newport, is a real premium. I just cannot say enough wonderful things about the Francis Malbone House. All of the staff was wonderful. At check-out we booked our next stay!

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — I cannot think of one thing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whoopi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    44
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
110
783
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Wonderful staff, rooms and food and we could have not asked for anything more. It was just an exceptional place to stay and look forward to returning at the end of the year!

  • Liked — They were very clean and romantic
  • Disliked — The water pipes inside the walls made very loud noises all night and when it was brought up with the staff they said that nothing could be done about this because of the age of the inn which was understandable.
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KIEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

The food, service, location, furnishings, and rooms were all outstanding! Our stay was delightful, despite the cold January weather. We had a room with a fireplace, which I would highly recommend for a winter stay. The Inn had a lot of nicely arranged common space, and ample information on what to do around town. Save room for goodies served with the afternoon tea (3 pm to 6 pm). The only negative was that we had a room that faced Thames Street, which was a pretty busy street. It wasn't too bad with it being winter, but in the summer I can see that being a major problem.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank needcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

We just returned from a 3 day stay at Malbone House and wish we were still there! This was our second visit and won't be our last. The inn is just beautiful, serene and relaxing. Location right near the harbour is great. It is within walking distance to dining, shopping, etc. Immaculately kept, the inn is decorated beautifully and comforatbly. Each room has it's own character and some have fireplaces for an added bonus. We stayed in a Courtyard room which had both a fireplace and french doors that opened into a semi-private courtyard. The innkeeper and all of the staff are very accomodating, pleasant and friendly. They will assist you with touring plans, restaurant reservations and anything else you may need. The breakfasts were delicious and the afternoon teas were just fantastic. All of the homemade baked goods were scrumptous! It truly is a memorable getaway! We intend to make this an annual tradition and can't wait to go back. Visit Malbone House and you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Liked — Everythin!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!!!!!!!!!! No complaints!
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring comfortable shoes as you will be doing alot of walking around the town,e tc.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeeBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

After our horrible experience at the Clarkson / Wynstone inn, this place was absolutely amazing. The people who worked there were so overly friendly and helpful, not to mention that the place was absolutely gorgeous!

They gave us excellent recommendations regarding what mansions to see, directions how to get there, great restaurants to eat at.... everything a good B&B should do.

Also, the rooms at this inn are so beautiful! Our room had a jacuzzi tub more than big enough for me and my wife to fit comfortably, a huge, extremely comfortable bed, very nice soft sheets, warm, comfy bathrobes and movies you can borrow from the front desk.

Overall, the best thing about this B&B (aside from the staff) has to be the food. They have an afternoon tea which is to die for. They had spanakota (the greek filo dough things with spinach inside), strawberry shortcake, excellent cookies, a crab dipping sauce with crackers, and a bunch of other little snacks. Each item was better than the last! Plus breakfast was excellent. They have a small garden you can eat outside in with a little fountain - it was so nice and relaxing.

  • Liked — The service and food were both exceptional
  • Disliked — Honestly, nothing comes to mind. Our experience was outstanding!
  • Tips/Secrets — The gelato across the street at Cold Fusion is excellent. Definitely worth a late night stop.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tim&Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, MA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

My wife and I just returned from an overnight trip to Newport and the Francis Malbone House and had a wonderful time. I wish it could have been longer.

I was looking for a romantic place to celebrate my wife's birthday and turned to TripAdvisor, as I typically do when planning a trip. I selected the Francis Malbone House based on all of the positive reviews and articles that I found here. As usual, my fellow reviewers did not steer me wrong!

The property itself is very tastefully decorated. All of the appointments are so well done - from the super comfy bedding, to the bathroom soaps, to the antique filled public rooms, and the meticulously kept grounds. They have found a nice balance between retaining the historic character of the Inn and providing all of the modern comforts. They must have staff working on the place 24 x 7 because it is absolutely immaculate. The location is great - a short stroll to a multitude of shops, restaurants, nightclubs and other activities. However, being in the wharf area, you will need to drive if you want to tour the mansions.

The gourmet breakfast was delicious. They serve an assortment of baked goods, cereals, fruit, yogurt, etc. and then on top of that you have a choice of 2 entrée's cooked to order (or as I found out from one of the other guests, you can have both!) They also have an afternoon tea which was excellent - assorted cakes, cookies, pastries, and finger sandwiches.

The staff at the Inn are very gracious and can’t do enough for you. I had called ahead and asked them for restaurant recommendations and they were more than happy to help. While we were there they offered to make reservations for us for dinner, boat tours, etc. They even offered to cancel reservations that I had double booked for dinner. During breakfast our hostess visited a number of times to make sure that the food and everything else about our stay was to our liking.

Our favorite feature of the Inn is the garden courtyard. Seeing that we were there in the summer, we spent a lot of time there. It provided a quiet little oasis from the hustle and bustle of Thames Street on the other side of the wall. I had read one review of the Inn being loud since it is in the middle of the busy waterfront, but we found it to be very quiet - especially considering that we were there during the peak season.

All in all the Francis Malbone House is a wonderful place to stay and explore Newport. They may be a little more expensive than some of the other Inns/B&Bs in the area, but they are well worth it. I highly recommend the Francis Malbone House and we look forward to staying there again in the future.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank TonyC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

We largely booked the Francis Malbone House because of the reviews here - and it is as good as they say.
The decor, the furnishings, the food, the hosts, the staff, the location - nothing can be faulted.
We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday and it was the perfect restful stay that we had been hoping for.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennidcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Property: Francis Malbone House Inn
Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing