We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #2 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

They provide a delicious breakfast in either dining room or enclosed patio, and an opulent afternoon tea. Everything freshly prepared and delicious. The owner and staff were extremely helpful with restaurant and touring recommendations, and make the guests feel genuinely valued. We highly recommend the Francis Malbone House!

Room Tip: We stayed in the original building, facing the street. We had no problem with noise, and recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is the most fantastic Inn I've ever stayed at. The owners and staff at the Malbone have every detail covered down to the last. Customer service is 200%, CLEAN, fastastic breakfast/service, quiet, spacious, intimate, friendly, accommodating, great spread for tea time and the location can't be beat...did I mention CLEAN? The owner, Will, was on site each morning and makes it a point to know everyone, really quite charming. The rooms have been renovated, not some cheesy updating, renovated, classy, and CLEAN. There is a parking lot in the back which doesn't sound like much until you see how tight the streets are! Listen if you're looking for a fantastic place to stay in Newport, this is it. If I could give it 10 stars I would.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportGuyNewportRI, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you so much for the 10 Star rating !! We work hard to please and I'm glad you noticed all of our little touches! It was great chatting with the 3 of you in the mornings and pleased you were able to take advantage of all of Newport's offerings. Enjoy your summer and hope to see you all again soon.

Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Francis Malbone House was "the" unexpected gem of our vacation! Booked for one night and stayed for three! Convenient location in the busy downtown, but step inside and you felt like you were in a quiet sanctuary. The rooms were well appointed, the staff incredible and morning breakfast in the courtyard relaxing! Thanks Will and Sue - we will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Since we hadn't prebooked, we stayed in three different rooms. All were lovely, well appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportGuyNewportRI, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Tanya,

What an unexpected reservation! Reserve one night and stay two more! So glad you were able to try out three different rooms in the inn! The weather cooperated too! Enjoy your summer in Nova Scotia!

Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Let us offer at the onset that we are not B & B people. We typically only stay in hotels because from past experience, you often trade modern amenities for small rooms with historic charm. It was only at the suggestion of our traveling companion that we agreed to try the Inn. And it was perfect.

The Pros.
1. The location is perfect. Located in the middle of the town, it is within walking distance of almost all the restaurants and shopping in the area. You could easily avoid having to rent a car. If you do have/rent a car, there is parking in the back of the Inn.
2. The Inn itself....it's perfect. The large open rooms are beautiful, historic with all the modern amenities including plasma TV, air-conditioining, upscale bath products and free wi-fi. Our room opened through french doors onto a private patio. Every evening had turn down service.
3. The staff are the most professional, friendly, knowledgable and accessable staff in any hotel we have stayed. Every suggestion for dinners, lunches and shopping was exactly as they described.
4. The morning breakfast. It was amazing that it was included in the cost of our room. A full spread buffet with a additional menu offering several choices for the day....
5. Afternoon tea. Every afternoon they offer a full formal tea. The only problem was that everything was delicious and it was too too easy to go completely off our diets

The Cons.
1. Absolutely none. Not a single flaw, problem or concern. We read through the previous reviews looking for a "bad" one. Having stayed for several days, we understand why everyone raves about the Inn.

Go..........enjoy........and wililingly join the ranks of the Francis Malbone House fan club.

Room Tip: We loved the newer rooms in the new addition in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportGuyNewportRI, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Wow! Thanks, Paul , for starting the Francis Malbone House Fan Club! It was a pleasure to have the three of you stay at the inn. So happy we converted you from a hotel guy to an inn guy- (we're more like a small hotel anyway!!) Become our Facebook "friend" and watch for some great last minute specials!
Happy 4th-

Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The team at the Francis Malbone went above and beyond to make our stay totally relaxing and pleasant before our wedding. Breakfasts were delicious and perfect outside in their beautiful courtyard space. Rooms were spacious and bright. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karay831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Having stayed here 3 times now, I have no interest in looking at other accommodations. The location is perfect for walking both to the waterfront and restaurants. Will and staff could not be more helpful in providing information and booking dinner reservations and outings. The afternoon tea and breakfast are lovely. The inn itself is charming and the bedrooms comfortable.

Mary K

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Your arrival at Francis Malbone House Inn sets the stage for the rest of your "home away from home" experience. The staff and Innkeeper seem to always be present and happy to see their guests. The courtyard is a particular haven as you start your day with their handcrafted breakfasts that are unique each morning. Sue grants her guests every wish with a smile and genuine willingness. Janet will give you excellent tips on what to see -- and skip -- in Newport. Will, the Innkeeper, is charming and engages with all of his guests at a personal level making your departure particularly bittersweet. Go! Stay! Be blessed by this amazing place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#9 of 21 in Newport
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $237 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing