We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retirement Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #2 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

On April 1st, I began my retirement and we could not think of a more appropriate place to celebrate the occasion that at the Francis Malbone House. We have stayed there many, many times and every time we come away with the same feeling "our home away from home". Breakfasts are great, the afternoon Tea is always different and very appetizing. The cleanliness and care for the rooms are the BEST!! We spent much of our time sitting by the fire, reading and conversing with much of the help and other guests.

Francis Malbone House, you are the BEST!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pauldelmonico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Happy retirement!

As always it was our pleasure to have you as our guests. See you both soon.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

We just returned from a lovely weekend in Newport RI, made even lovelier by the staff and accommodations at the Francis Malbone House. To start with the place is a show place. Squeaky clean, beautifully decorated,historical. I could just go on and on. The room was lovely (although if staying here in peak season I think a front room could be a bit noisy. Major thoroughfare and so lots of traffic and sirens etc) The roominess of the place is amazing. The attentiveness and friendliness of the staff was really above and beyond anything we have ever seen. Each person introduces themselves to you, asks what they can do for you. Centrally located, restaurants within walking distance galore, shops and the waterfront steps away. Plenty of off street parking ( a big deal in this little town). We cannot say enough about the place. Stay here, you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Maybe you would want a rear room during peak times (summer time especially).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joycelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Joyce,

It was so nice to meet you both, thank you for your very kind review. We look forward to seeing you again at the Inn.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

the weather was the only thing that was not great! However, the bad weather gave us the opportunity to sit by a wonderful fire and just read and relax. The afternoon tea was much more than tea ---appetizers and desserts that were mouth watering delicious. The morning breakfasts were outstanding and much, much more than we expected! The room was beautiful and the bed so comfortable we slept later than we usually do. The jacuzzi tub was also a great treat and eased any and all tension from driving and walking in the wind and rain.
The best part was the staff. Elizabeth was so warm and friendly. She would light the fire, suggest restaurants that were what we were looking for, gave me a tour of the house and other rooms, and was just a delight. Janet was also really helpful and friendly and clearly motivated to make sure the guests enjoyed their stay. Sue ---our morning breakfast star was so fun and happy to make sure we were stuffed before we left the dining room! All of the staff was friendly and helpful. The whole place is immaculate and inviting --not at all stuffy and intimidating.
Just an awesome place to go. We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: I had a tour of many of the rooms and all of them are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryES_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Mary,

Next time I will be sure to order better weather for you! I am glad that you were able to relax and enjoy the comforts of the house - the roaring fireplaces are very comforting during the winter months.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

What a treat - to stay at the Francis Malbone B & B. We've come so often, we've been affectionately named "the sisters" by the staff at the Inn. We treasure our twice a year "sisters" visit at the Inn, not only because of the luxurious accommodations, the delectable English tea, and the sumptuous breakfasts - but the staff as well. Will (the owner) has done an amazing job at combining comfort, luxury, coziness and history in this elegant inn. The integral part of this wonderful stay is largely due the wonderful staff: Janet (who does an extraordinary job making sure everything is perfect), Sue, Elizabeth and Suzanne are always helpful and greet us with a hug and a smile! You can't ask for a better experience than visiting this grand Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of the Inn are more historic and rustic, the newer wing is modern and bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Signet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Well what can I say? Thank you both for such lovely reviews. I am pretty sure at this stage that you could both give a tour of the Inn!

We always look forward to the "sisters" arrival and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Sorry I missed you.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We've been regulars at the Francis Malbone House for many years, and this was our most pleasant stay yet. Of course our rooms were lovely and well appointed as always, but the congenial, competent staff are becoming more like old friends. The afternoon tea featured a delicious array of sweet and savory treats, for which we thank the talented new chef. Though the boss was away during this visit, Janet, (the best ever) ran the inn without a glitch. Sue is the star of the breakfast diningroom, and Elizabeth and Suzanne were wondrful as well. Almost everything is within walking distance, and staff are always happy to recomend restaurants, and make reservtions for you. There is ample parking in the back, so walk and explore.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the inn are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CtCatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Well what can I say? Thank you both for such lovely reviews. I am pretty sure at this stage that you could both give a tour of the Inn!

We always look forward to the "sisters" arrival and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Sorry I missed you.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Having stayed at the Inn numerous times we always have a wounderful and restful stay. The staff is always attentive and ready to take care of any of our special requests or needs.The rooms are always well apointed and immaculately kept.The inn is in the central part of town and one can walk to many of the sites and restaurants. If you are to visit Newport the Francis Malbone House is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We like the second floor rooms more windows and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2js4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Welcome back! It is always lovely to have guests return to the Inn. Harborside rooms two and three are really well appointed with so much sunlight, gas fireplaces and amazing detail from 1758!
See you both again soon.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I just spent our first night at The Francis Malbone House. The facility is decorated well in the Federalist style. The staff were very friendly. The location is right downtown allowing walking to sights and restaurants. We loved our stay and will come back to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Trust Janet with any special needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanU2952VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your first stay with us at The Francis Malbone House. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#8 of 21 in Newport
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $237 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing