We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Could not have been better!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a great B&B this is-Everything was just perfect from the location,the room and especially the staff! Very friendly and informative--The breakfast was outstanding as well as the afternoon tea. When we return to Newport we will certainly be staying here!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picasso-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    44
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
104
768
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

words pale when trying to describe the experience we had @ the francis malbone! love the staff; love the afternoon tea; love the breakfast; AND we fell in love all over again. will, we will definitely be returning to see you soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecuddlebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been travelling the USA for the last 3.5 weeks, and have stayed at 9 different hotels and B&B's over that period, and I can honestly say that the Francis Malbone house has been our favourite, by far! Beautiful, large rooms, comfortable beds, the breakfasts are delicious, and the complimentary afternoon teas are AMAZING, I've never had anything like this at any place I've stayed anywhere in the world!
Newport itself is a lovely town, we're so glad we included it in our tour of the states. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff was excellent ! Best part was location to all of the downtown Newport seaport area! Historic old building, yet all the modern conveniences needed. Rooms were cozy and comfortable. Afternoon tea was great with an assortment of treats and a warm fire in the fireplace to enjoy them. Breakfast had some unique offering including table service items.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuryTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Went to the Season 4 Premier of Downton Abbey at the Jane Pickens Theater & Event Center and decided to stay at the Malbone with my “Downton Fan Club”. What a treat! It was like stepping back in time. The five of us arrived on a cold, rainy day and Janet greeted us like we were old friends. Taking us on a tour of the Inn, answering all our questions and showing us to our rooms. It was such a grand experience, from the lovely afternoon tea to the fabulous morning breakfast. It was our first time here and it certainly will not be our last.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Staff was very professional, while alowing us to remain quit casual. Their knowldege of area and drecomendations of activities was key. Breakfasts were wonderful, and location in Newport was perfect. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atatat274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Enjoyed the queen size bed with fireplace in the newer addition to the bed and breakfast. Purchase an additional log for the night. Afternoon tea had chocolate cheesecake, a variety of cookies, as well as gourmet cheese and crackers. My partner loved the vegetarian omelette in the morning. The freshly baked pastries were wonderful. Excellent service with a smile.

Room Tip: C9 Newport Room has a view of the parking lot, but I enjoyed the separate entrance. The double Jacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MZaidi227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Property: Francis Malbone House Inn
Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing