We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
natick
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best inn”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We are pretty fussy. The Francis Malbone House never fails to disappoint. It is lovely, charming and meticulously maintained. Everyone from the Innkeeper Will and all the staff are friendly and helpful. We always feel we are home and part of their family. The historic beauty of the house makes us want to stay and come back year after year. The breakfast and tea are fresh, innovative and delicious. There is always lots to do in Newport if one wants to, but just walking, shopping, going to a "cottage" or two and out for a wonderful dinner is often more than enough.

Room Tip: We always love room 2 but we have also stayed in newer rooms and enjoyed them too. It depends how m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbnNatick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    44
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
107
776
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This city by the sea has many lodging choices, but in the many years we have been coming, we know there is only one.We visit often ,and Will Innkeeper ,and his extraordinary staff have always been to us like a family we look forward to seeing again!There are many reasons to go, not just for special occasion but just to relax and enjoy. You will feel like you are in your home, they attend to your every need , have perfected hospitality. Plenty of parking, Intown location, park the car and never get in it till you check out, delicious breakfasts, afternoon tea with delectable home baked goods, comfortable well appointed rooms,and many wonderful common living rooms for your added enjoyment! Go, wander around, explore ,and enjoy, we know you will be back many times like us ,and Frances Malbone will become your home, Will and the ladies like family, and many years of wonderful memories, an experience not to be missed!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for four nights. The Francis Malbone House is a gorgeous historical home both on the outside and on the inside was beautiful, Old World charm that we really loved. As soon as you walk in you feel like you’re part of the family. Will and his staff are very welcoming and hospitable. They will assist you with whatever needs you have and are always making sure that your stay is beyond perfect!
Everything in this house is impeccable from the service to the linens, bed sheets, towels and furniture. The ambiance, cleanliness and attention to detail are fabulous.
The breakfast and the afternoon tea were just wonderfully presented delicious and plentiful.
It is in a great location and very central to all the downtown action.
I would absolutely recommend staying there if you are in the area.
We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nodriverslicense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Francis Malbone house many times. It is near my in-laws and when they have a full house it is a great place for us to stay and still be near family. The staff is always friendly and welcoming and the rooms are always comfortable, clean and cozy. In the winter it is warm and inviting and in the summer the rooms with outdoor spaces are great and the inn is in a great location near shopping and restaurants. I would highly recommend to anyone coming to Newport for any occasion.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great...have never stayed in one that I didn't like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courteneyf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just spent Thanksgiving weekend with good friends here.What a lovely experience. Enjoyed visiting with them in the cozy day rooms and were delighted by the delicious and creative treats during the afternoon tea and breakfast. The rooms were beautifully appointed with extremely comfortable beds. The location couldn't be better. Walking distance to many great restaurants and shops. Our hosts were gracious and personally looked to our every need. Would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We've stayed at the Malbone House a number of times. The first was for our anniversary, but we've found excuses to stay many times since. The inn is beautiful and in a great location. The detail is amazing and a peek into historical Newport. The breakfast and afternoon tea provided are very, very good. If you're looking for an elegant place to get away for a while this is it!

Room Tip: The garden rooms off season are a good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuplarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in October and loved the Inn! It's in a great location and the rooms are lovely. The breakfasts and afternoon teas are amazing and not to be missed. As the owner of a travel agency I would not hesitate to send my clients to this lovely inn!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard tend to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessiDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Property: Francis Malbone House Inn
Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing