We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sugarloaf, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

In a town where elegance is common the
Francis Malbone House stands out. Every aspect of this wonderful inn reflects the refined taste and the genuine gift of hospitality of the hosts Will and Don. We cannot praise the Francis Malbone House enough. John & Maribell Maschal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    43
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
98
748
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Medfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed here several times and never been disappointed. The afternoon tea is plentiful, the rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. The staff is terrific, too! The location is convenient to the center of town, the Harbor and the Cliff Walk.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marydeird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Francis Malbone House came highly recommended and exceeded our expectations. Great breakfast and afternoon tea, comfortable rooms and perfect location between the harbor and Newport's mansions. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davefreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just completed my visit and it truly is the very best place to stay in Newport. I was nervous about staying in a B&B at first and usually stay in a hotel. But Will and his staff went above and beyond to assist and make us feel truly comfortable and at home, while also providing us our privacy. Will was there everyday to talk too us and provide guidance on places to see and eat. There wasn't anything that we requested that Will and his Staff did not provide for us (including Will delivering the supplies to our room to start a fire in the fireplace before the cold weather season officially started). Everything was perfect, the room (loved the mattress, so comfortable), the food, the House and garden. If you stay there over your Birthday, please let Will know. He doesn't like when you try to sneak a Birthday by him! But seriously, I left Newport missing the town, but also missing the B&B and Will and his Staff. I loved those guys and I won't stay anywhere else again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was the best B&B I have ever stayed in! It is a beautiful landmark building designed by the same architect as the Touro Synagogue, in fact we saw it's photo while touring the Loeb Visitors Center! It was beautiful, keeping the traditional look but with every modern convenience, like air conditioning! The soaps and shampoos were terrific, but what really impressed me were the fluffy towels that smelled amazing! The food was excellent! I think I gained 10lbs. In the couple of days we were there. When we came back at night to go to our room, there was even a plate of cookies in the main hall, for a sweet treat before bed!
The staff were so friendly and helpful. They made suggestions and recommendations that were on target. Also the location was excellent. We were able to walk to shopping and restaurants, and of course the water! All in all it's a MUST! We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolltwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Will and staff were wonderful during our stay Oct 3 and 4th. The food was great, the home amazing and the room was wonderful. Not having to worry about parking and a great breakfast provide a nice reduction to the $400.00/night charge for the room. Everything was just lovely and we would stay again if in the area. This is a great location for romance and just reconnecting. We found the breakfast more independent than with other B&B's as you can sit off by yourselves if you wish. Two entrees each morning, afternoon tea with real appetizers and attention to detail. Thank you very much. We loved the room and fell in love with Newport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been coming to Newport from Connecticut for nearly 30 years and once we found the Francis Malbone our search for our go-to Inn was over. It is beautiful and comfy and a great home base for all things Newport. It is walkable to every where and there is plenty of parking and if you know Newport there isn't much of that.
There is a wonderful tea every afternoon and there is a scrumptious breakfast that comes with the room every morning. The courtyard is beautiful in which to enjoy a glass of wine.
Our daughter was engaged here too, no question how wonderfully special this place is to us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntiemame40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.0 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.4 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#3 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Property: Francis Malbone House Inn
Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing