We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Francis Malbone Is Our Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Francis Malbone Is Our Home Away From Home”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been coming to Newport from Connecticut for nearly 30 years and once we found the Francis Malbone our search for our go-to Inn was over. It is beautiful and comfy and a great home base for all things Newport. It is walkable to every where and there is plenty of parking and if you know Newport there isn't much of that.
There is a wonderful tea every afternoon and there is a scrumptious breakfast that comes with the room every morning. The courtyard is beautiful in which to enjoy a glass of wine.
Our daughter was engaged here too, no question how wonderfully special this place is to us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntiemame40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    43
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
99
760
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Gracious, clean, cozy, delicious breakfast, location, location location....just a few words to describe this phenomenal Inn. This is our 50th time in Newport, and sadly our first at the Francis Malbone House. I wish we had knew about it years ago. On the advise of friends, we booked our room. Will, the host, makes you feel welcome the moment you walk in. I would recommend this Inn to everyone! Rooms are impressive, the beds comfortable, the breakfasts were impeccable. The location is right in the heart of Newport which made dropping off my wife's shopping bags easy. Free parking and never had to use the car while we were there. It's relaxing atmosphere made me hate how fast time flies. Easily would have stayed 2 months if we could. Do yourself a favor, and make a great decision.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMac350Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Newport Tourist information bureau sent us here, what a wonderful choice for us. Beautiful, we did not want to leave! I would rate the afternoon tea in the garden as one of the highlights of our visit to New England. This hotel is wonderful and I would recommend anyone visiting Newport to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed @ the very top, room smaller than some of the others, but quiet, clean and sooo comfy. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nenims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have visited the Francis Malbone House 3 times in the past year and love, love, love it! My last visit was an extended stay (2 weeks) and I hated to leave. Will and his fabulous staff truly understand that details matter! From the moment you arrive, you feel welcomed and at home. You can't wait to go to breakfast and afternoon tea is worth planning your day around. I have a daughter at university in Newport and I'm thrilled that for the next 4 years the Francis Malbone House will be my home.

Room Tip: I've stayed in 5 different room and every one is charming, clean and inviting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Empressdye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind words Sharman! You are now part of our Malbone family and if your daughter ever needs anything while she is at Salve makes sure she knows she can rely on us!!
Hope you had a safe trip home-

Regards,

Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We would like to echo the many positive reviews for The Francis Malbone House. We just celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary so we wanted a special getaway. I was nervous coming from Philadelphia as we knew nothing about Newport, RI, but Anne Maria made me feel so comfortable on the phone that I decided to make The Francis Malbone House our choice. We just spent the weekend there and it really is a wonderfully charming historical little hideaway. It is so relaxing and peaceful. The staff, including the innkeeper, Will are so generous with their time. They enjoy listening to your experiences and were so helpful in providing information about the places to see and the Newport Mansions. The made dinner reservations for us at Jo's Bistro. We had so much fun there with the staff and owner. They too, made our evening memorable.

We sat in the "red room" each morning to read the paper and enjoy several delicious cups of coffee. We then moved to the courtyard garden where french doors go out to a garden with beautiful wrought iron tables and a trickiling fountian with litlle birds taking in water. Breakfast was delicious and all the staff greets you when they walk by but quietly. The location is the best. We walked everywhere. Our room was quaint and I think the smallest but it was still wonderful. It is very clean and well kept. We took a peek around at some of the other rooms when we were leaving and we can't wait to return. Thank you to everyone at Francis Malbone House for truly making our stay so wonderful!!

It is really a wonderful place. You will not be disappointed. Newport, Rhode Island is a beautiful place. The weather was picture perfect to visit the mansions and to stroll along the Cliff Walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Jill,

Thank you for the nice comments about the Malbone House. I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy the inn for your anniversary. The owners of Jo's Bistro said they had a nice conversation with you both! Glad you liked our suggestion. Enjoy this beautiful Fall weather and we look forward to hosting you again!

Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The afternoon tea, I miss immediately once back to regular life. The amazing full breakfast in the morning, the luxurious bathrobes, the fireplace in each room. It is all so perfect and amazing. This particular visit, we chose a courtyard room that had french doors opening out to the beautiful couryard. We spent so much time relaxing in the open air, yet secluded from the rest of the world. We are steps away from the restaurants, so we do not have to worry about driving or parking. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I hope to never stay anywhere else while relaxing in Newport.

Room Tip: Each room is beautiful and different. The Harborview rooms and the Courtyard rooms are the roomiest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Quaint, clean and the beautifully kept grounds are second only to the atmosphere, attitude and professionally friendly staff. Don't judge the outside; within the walls will transform your thoughts. Absolutely loved it here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vballplyr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.0 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.4 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Property: Francis Malbone House Inn
Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing