We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've been going to the Francis Malbone for the past ten years and it's always been a pleasure to return to this beautiful B&B. Our most recent visit was the second week of September. It's in a great location, across from the wharfs and near downtown shopping and restaurants. A big advantage is having on-site parking for all the guests which is important in the crowded downtown Newport area. It also gives you fast access to the mansions and other area attractions.

The beautiful restored mansion offers you many room choices from basic rooms to luxury suites, all with well-appointed colonial period furniture with a seafaring theme, and all rooms are extremely clean and well-maintained. All the common areas in the mansion (i.e. parlor, dining room, etc.) make you feel like your visiting someone's home and not a hotel. Will and staff couldn't be more cordial from the minute you arrive until you leave the premises. Will makes it a point to socialize with the guests at breakfast, and during the day he and the staff are available all day to assist you in making reservations at area restaurants and attractions.

For us, the highlight of the day is the full course breakfast that is served in either the dining area, or weather permitting in the beautiful garden courtyard. The courtyard is our favorite. It's hard to imagine that such a beautiful garden courtyard is located in busy downtown Newport. There is a fountain in the middle of the courtyard and the area is surrounded with wisteria, hydrangea plants and a colorful myrtle tree. Quite a serene setting for resting and reading. In the afternoon, the staff serves a complete afternoon tea with all kinds of goodies. It's hard to leave this place

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The gardenside rooms are a little noiser at night being near the street. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you, thank you, thank you; you have said it all! Our greatest compliment is returning guests like you.

Will and I look forward to seeing you both again.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I chose this B&B for the location and because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't dissappointed! The location was perfect- just a short walk to shops and restaurants and a 5 minute bike ride to the beach. The breakfast and Afternoon Tea were outstanding! After a delicious and filling breakfast we were able to skip lunch and enjoy the bountiful Afternoon Tea. We loved eating in the gorgeous courtyard. The owner was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean but we found the bed a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noworriesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your review and for staying with us here at the Francis Malbone House Inn.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that the trip advisor reviews help with your decision making. The courtyard is still looking lovely and we hope to enjoy it for breakfast and afternoon tea for a least another few weeks before the house becomes all about cozy fireplaces.

Enjoy the fall season and we look forward to welcoming you back to Inn and our beautiful city by the sea.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I visited the Malbone House for an offsite work function. The place is the best location in Newport. The place is serene and calm. The property is exquisite and cleaner than my home. The owner and the staff are friendly and nice, the food is great. This was my second time here it is was consistently excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieanddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Katie,

Thank you for your review and most of all for returning to the Inn, we love to see familiar faces. It is nice to be able to enjoy the amenities of the house even if you are here for work.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Not normally a B&B traveler, came upon this by chance and could not be happier
Room was wonderful, Owner and staff welcoming , breakfast to die for! Just do it! Location on Thames put you in walking distance to bars and restaurants

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John890000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review - we love to have first time bed and breakfast guests at the Inn, they are usually easily converted!

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a great experience staying at this b&b. The staff is extremely, friendly and helpful! It was very regal inside and relaxing! We enjoyed all Newport had to offer. Great restaurants, a sunset sail aboard the Aquidneck, and all the great sights on cliff walk. I would definitely recommend this b&b and I am sure we will stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RynoCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you, thank you.
What a lovely review. Will and I really enjoy welcoming all of our guests to the Inn and making them feel at home, we are very fortunate to have such beautiful surrounding to work in and of course we get to meet such wonderful people!

We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Inn.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been trying to find new words to describe our stay at The Francis Malbone House but its all been said! What makes this Inn outstanding is the attention to detail.Will greets everyone at breakfast and he obviously listens to his guests.I commented on a dish that I enjoyed . I got the recipe and a surprise........Will left a bowl of it in our room fridge!!, so funny.
We arrived in a heavy rainstorm but all was forgotten when we walked through that beautiful blue door and met Anne Maria and her warm welcome.Our trip was a gift in so many ways! Thanks Will and Anne Maria.

Room Tip: All are good but we enjoyed the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is amazing!! The staff were super friendly and helpful, the property is beautiful and the food was great. We weren't thrilled about the breakfast on sunday but that's really more of a personal preference. Afternoon tea was a nice bonus and eating in the garden was truly lovely. We stayed in a room right off the courtyard and while you might think noise would be an issue, it wasn't and we loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,068 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $293 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing