We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem right in our own back yard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #2 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at this Inn for a few nights and could not have been more delighted. Visiting many Inns throughout New England, we rate this local Inn as one of our favorites. From the ease of check-in to a very comfy and well appointed room, we felt like we were many hours away from home! The Inn's staff was wonderful, the breakfast delicious, and the afternoon tea quite plentiful with wonderful treats each day. The owner of the Inn was very accommodating and made us feel right at home. We cannot wait to stay again during the winter months to enjoy the many fireplaces throughout the Inn.

Great get-away!

Cindy & Michael

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Cindy,

Thank you so much for your kind response! I know you had to "dust off your passport" and drive all the way here from Johnston! Thanks for making the trip! :) Enjoy the rest of the summer and we'll see you and Michael in the off season- cozy by one of the many fireplaces!!

Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very comfortable and staff very accommodating to our family's special dietary requests. Location and parking a pleasure for Newport, RI. Courtyard delightful and relaxing, room very upscale, and meals one of a kind for a B&B establishment. Everyone treated like royalty!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdrex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Francis Malbone House is perfect for a romatic getaway. This is the second time that my wife and i have stayed at the inn while our kids were away. The Inn is centrally located to downtown shopping, dining, and marina activities. The house and guest rooms are beautifully decorated. Breakfast is thoughtfully prepared with lots of options, served in a lovely dining room or in the garden when the weather is nice. When you need a break from your afternoon activities, the afternoon tea is a treat with savory and sweet items. The owner operator has long stranding ties to the community and has wonderful suggestions for dinner and recreation. Overall, the service is delightful.

The Francis Malbone is a quintessential Newport experience. I cant wait to return next summer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Newport building are newer than the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my first time at this wonderful Inn. It is right in the middle of Newport, but given how the rooms are set up and maintained, you would think you were in the middle of the country. The owners and their family were appropriately friendly and welcoming. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I was in 3 C and it was terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDonaldSchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Don,

Thank you so much for the great review of our Inn, we were sorry that you had to head out so early it is a shame to have to miss out on our wonderful gourmet breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my second stay in the inn in the past few weeks, once on a business trip and another with my husband, staying in first floor rooms each time. They had started us out in a third floor room that was small and didn't have anywhere near the ambiance of the other rooms, so we requested a switch which they were thankfully able to accommodate. Breakfast was included and we ate outside in the courtyard beside the fountain. They have a continental buffet or you can order from two menu choices that changed each time we were there. One is sweet and the other savory. We opted for the latter, a Benedict variation of poached eggs on a bed of fresh spinach on toasted English muffins, with a delicious Hollandaise. This is not a B and B where the owners live there, which my husband appreciated. A staff member is at the reception desk until 10 or 11 pm. Although we carry our own luggage, be aware there is no one to help with this and there is no elevator. With a first floor room this is not a problem. The inn is ideally located. There is a multi night minimum on weekends, but we were able to get a one night stay each time.

Room Tip: Carefully select your room in advance, they vary widely. We liked the first floor rooms with a shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel21403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our historic Inn.

As an historic home we work very hard to accommodate our business clients as well as our leisure guests, I am so glad that it worked out well for you. We are very fortunate to host many executive corporate offsite meetings here at the Inn and have done a top class job of blending Historic charm with modern amenities.

Looking forward to your return to the Inn.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If their we're six stars this inn would earn them
Great price
In the heart of Thames St
Close to everything
Afternoon coffee, tea, lemonade, And iced tea
Freshly baked breads cookies and fruit
Gourmet breakfast
Fresh fruit
Hot fruit with crumble
Crossiants
Your choice of three for entree
I had the best waffles from home right here
Please don't walk, run and make a reservation
You will be happy that you stayed at The Francis Malbone
Enjoy
Deborah
Pennsylvania

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Deborah,

It was so lovely to get to meet you, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and were able to add an additional night and relax.

Looking forward to meeting you again.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We decided to go to Newport for part of the long Fourth of July weekend with our son. The Francis Malbone House was a find! It has a great location, free parking and an unbelievable good breakfast. Will, the owner, showed us to our room and his accommodating friendly staff continued this hospitality for the rest of our stay. I highly recommend it and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The newer rooms have quieter air conditioners, but the rooms in the old part of the house have water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaamstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Manager at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Inn, our gourmet breakfast menu is really fun and exciting to develop each week - I am glad that you enjoyed our offerings.
Of course the courtyard setting doesn't hurt either!

Hopefully we will see you again while your son is studying in Providence - it is a great reason to visit the area.

Thank you for the wonderful review and it was lovely to meet you all.

Kind Regards
Anne Maria & Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,067 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $293 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing