We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A few days in Newport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Malbone House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #1 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A few days in Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The breakfast was amazing and the afternoon tea was a total treat!!!!!
Rooms beautiful and all amenities above and beyond our expectations...
But more so was the personal touch added by Will the very proud innkeeper and AnnMarie. We'll return for sure......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWF903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    38
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
82
663
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Higganum, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Malbone House and I know we will be back again. The rooms are elegant and clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The afternoon tea is a wonderful opportunity to meet some new people and have a snack before dinner. The breakfast is the best you will have at any bed and breakfast, with many hot and cold choices. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing and elegant stay within walking distance to almost everything in Newport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Francis Malbone House exceeded our expectations once again!! This was the second time to the Malbone House and we could not have been happier with our stay. From the second you walk in the door, the staff go above and beyond to make their guests feel warm and welcomed! The rooms are beautiful, clean and well kept. The common sitting areas with the fireplaces are perfect for a relaxing and romantic weekend getaway. And..there is a working fireplace in most rooms. Tea time with treats in the afternoon and a DELICIOUS homemade breakfast daily!! What more can you ask for!! It is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Newport within walking distance to the cliffwalk, mansions and all of the shops. Thanks again for a wonderful and relaxing weekend. We will definetly be back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WkendTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were lucky enough to be gifted with two nights at this elegant inn.
We chose to stay for Valentine's Day and the following.
For a large, historic inn it had a very cozy feel. Nothing like a real fire in the Winter!
Breakfasts were all one could ask for and the afternoon tea,hearty and attractive and
enough to tide one over until dinner. The inn's location is convenient, walking distance to
shops and the waterfront. Don't miss the co-op antiques stalls in the nearby armory....a stroll back in time! Oh yes, and the Inn is right near Ben and Jerry's.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, CT
Level Contributor
152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had stayed at the Francis Malbone House (B&B) before and it was excellent. They had a special for Valentine's Day, so my wife and I went there again. This time we stayed in a better room and it was excellent, well maintained and very comfortable, with a fireplace. The afternoon tea spread was also excellent, as was the breakfast the next morning. The owner, Will, is so very pleasant and accommodating. We will definite return and recommend this B&B to everyone. Although our next visit to Newport we may try their other B&B, Hilltop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinMar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a really wonderful place to stay. The rooms are beautiful. Tea in the afternoon consists of a dining room table filled with all kinds of "goodies." Wine, beer, and soft drinks are availble in one of the three common areas on an honor system. Daily newspapers were available for our perusal as we sat in the living room by a cozy wood fire. It's within walking distance to shops, restaurants, raw bars and entertainment. It's a perfect choice for anyone wanting to spend time in Newport. Will, the owner is always on hand greeting people as they enjoy a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Francis Malbone House was wonderful. Excellent staff, delicious food and beautiful rooms. The Counting House Suite was amazing. Comfortable, clean, and charming. I will definitely recommend staying here to anyone who wants a relaxing, elegant, stress free, getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmj0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Property: Francis Malbone House Inn
Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing