We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location. Amazing Food. Even more Amazing Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #2 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I LOVED my time here! So much so, I even blogged about it... The people are wonderful, the rooms are comfortable, the locations is amazing, and the food is so good, you won't want to leave the breakfast table. I wouldn't stay any where else in Newport. For a longer review, check out my blog... http://meattheveggie.wordpress.com/2012/09/05/the-francis-malbone-house-in-newport-ri-the-place-to-stay/

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

899 - 905 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our weekend at the Francis Malbone House was exceptional. The staff was very knowledgeable about Newport and made some fantastic recommendations for restaurants and things to see in Newport. As stated by the other reviews, the food during both breakfast and tea time was delicious. Our room was immaculate and was very nicely appointed. We loved that we had doors onto the patio that could be opened for the beautiful weather each afternoon. Although the inn is located on Thames, the rather busy main street in town, there is free private parking lot (a definite plus as other inns do not provide this service), and the courtyard is so quiet and peaceful that the excitement out on the street is barely noticeable. The location itself was right in the heart of Newport making it very easy to see everything Newport had to offer. Will has done an excellent job and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

There's no better B&B than the Francis Malbone House. All you've read is true: the comfort and cleanliness; warm, professional service without pretentiousness; fabulous breakfasts that change daily; beautiful rooms furnished in period style; the gentle respite of afternoon tea; and owner Will Dewey, host extraordinaire.

Will purchased the 18th century property 23 years ago and made it the gem it is today. He's a true professional. This B&B isn't the mere "retirement project" of some innkeepers; Will trained at Johnson & Wales and lovingly made it his life's work. His high standards and unerring eye bring you a guest experience that's all about comfort, ease, and culinary delights in an elegant, tasteful setting. Perfect for the small, historic city of Newport.

It's always amazing how, once inside, you immediately feel transported from busy Thames Street outside. You've entered another world. You can rely on the information on the Malbone's website, and it does an excellent job or representing the rooms. Some on the first floor have a semi-private patio, landscaped with thick bushes and flowers. Most B&Bs provide just 1 sitting room. The Malbone has 3, each affording a nice feeling of privacy. It must be wonderful in winter, with all 3 fireplaces blazing away. Good reading materials abound: books in the library, daily papers (NY Times, Financial Times, USA Today) and a well-chosen variety of upscale magazines. The lushly landscaped courtyard is the serene heart of this house.

The staff's loyalty speaks volumes. We've been coming for 10 years and it's always nice to see familiar faces. A special mention for Sue, who starts your day off just right with her warm and cheery welcome at breakfast. She makes you feel that her life's sole object is that you have everything you want. (On this last trip the luscious Wild Maine Blueberry Crumble more than filled that bill!) But maybe you just feel like a simple egg white omelet and toast? No problem.

Afternoon tea (for guests only) is 3:00-6:00, a welcome prospect for new arrivals. It's laid out in the 18th century dining room, and a generous repast it is. In summer, iced coffee, iced tea and lemonade are served; they'll gladly make some hot tea or coffee if you prefer. The chef prepares 6 or 7 offerings, one savoury plus sweets; selections change daily. During this 4-night stay, the table groaned with vegetable dips & crackers, quiche, a divine apple blueberry coffee cake, molasses cookies, banana chocolate cake, coconut macaroons, chocolate chip cookies, key lime bars, pound cake, cheesecake, sliced fruit and other delights. Want to make one of these treats at home? They're happy to give you the recipe. Generosity is always the key word here.

First-timers to Newport often have questions about what to see and do. The staff is knowledgeable and can also recommend restaurants and handle your reservations (if you're staying on a busy weekend, it's good to call ahead of time to take care of this). A desk in one of the sitting rooms has brochures on area attractions, from the Breakers to walking tours to sunset sails in the harbor. And don't underestimate the value of the Malbone's private parking area. Parking in Newport can be a challenge, and this amenity is really convenient.

As is the Malbone's location: when you step out onto Thames Street, you're in the center of town and much of the downtown area is within walking distance. You can stroll to the shops and galleries on the wharves, opt for the more upscale shops on Bellevue Avenue, or visit nearby King's Park (on Wellington Avenue) for a tranquil, unbeatable view of the harbor, as yachts of all sizes and vintage ply their way in and out of Newport.

The Francis Malbone House is unlike any other B&B we've visited. On a scale of 1 to 5, it's really a 10. We treasure the Malbone and would never consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are partiularly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We recently spent 5 glorious nights at the Francis Malbone House. We have stayed at B&B's all over the country and none top this experience! The Inn is well situated and beautifully appointed - with attention to historic detail. The garden area is lovely and a great place to relax and unwind. The breakfasts were unfailingly excellent, offering dishes that featured seasonal ingredients at their best. The teas were beautifully laid out and unbelievably generous - offering cakes, cookies, pastries and savory selections. Will's picture should be next to the word "innkeeper" in the dictionary! He is absolutely the best innkeeper we have ever encountered. All of his suggestions and recommendations were perfect. The entire staff was great! Ample off street parking is an added bonus. If you are visiting Newport do not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njr1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great courtyard!
The staff started breakfast early for us so we could get to a different location in time for an early morning meeting. Breakfast was prepared to order as well as the typical, but fresh, continental with cereal.
Sleeping rooms were spacious and the beds extremely comfortable.
Great location - would definitely return.

Room Tip: I clicked excellent swimming pool by mistake - there is no swimming that i'm aware of and I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John4444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper02840, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thanks, John, for the kind words. It was great to see you and your staff back at the Malbone House. No , we don't have a swimming pool but a few of our tipsy guests have fallen into the fountain!! Enjoy the remainder of the summer!

Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We first learned of The Francis Malbone in 2007 and have stayed there each time we visitied Newport since then. The garden is lovely,relaxing and pleasant, as are the rooms and the staff. Will is very knowledgeable regarding all that Newport has to offer and regarding where the best experiences are to be found. The rates are very reasonable for all that The Malbone
has to offer. We look forward to many future stays.

Vermont visitors.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmcmahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The service was impeccable, the breakfast was delicious. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. It is perfectly situated. The atmosphere is relaxing and welcoming . Highly recommend staying here!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amruallano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,113 reviews
1 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $237 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing