We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful place!!”
Review of Armistead Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Armistead Cottage
Ranked #16 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful place!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed in Armistead Cottage for my boyfriend's birthday. It was excellent, Romana is a wonderful host, food was delicious, rooms super clean and cozy. B&B is very close to the Second beach and Cliff Walk, location is great. I very recommend it!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful time with us at Armistead Cottage Kate, and we look forward to your return visits.

Thanks again,

Romana and Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    14
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
188
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2012

It was mine and my partners first time in Armistead Cottage and we loved it. From the moment we saw the cottage we knew we had made the right choice. Its a beautiful, dream house, with a lovely swing on the porch. I felt in love with the house straight away. Its beautifly designed and furnished in very elegant style with great attention to detail, just perfect.

I could definetely live there and spend romanting evenings on the porch covered with blankets and drinking hot tea with fresh mint from Romanas garden. I just cannot rate this place highly enough. Romana and Charles were great hosts. Warm and friendly and we felt like a part of the family. Romana gave us all information and ideas of where to eat, things to see and do. We just didn't have enought time to fit it all and it was bit cold so we will be coming back summer time and we will be staying longer next time.

Romana is a great cook. She makes amazing breakfast, fresh and organic. And I have to admit she makes better muffins than my mum ( hope she is not reading it :))

We will be definetely coming back. We could not find anything to fault. The house is beautiful with great location, rooms very clean, beds big and comfortable, food delicious, friendly atmosphere, just perfect a home away from home.
We can highly recomend Armistead Cottage to everyone, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AniaF35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we are looking forward to your return in the warmer weather. We will save you a spot on the swing. Sincerely Romana and Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for an escape from the city and went to Newport. Although we thought about going somewhere else to try something new, we keep coming back to Armistead Cottage, it is always our B&B of choice and has been for years. First of all we love Romana and Charles. They always treat us and all their guests like family. They want to make sure that everyone has a great stay. And Romana's breakfast! So good, especially love her homemade muffins with fresh fruit from the garden.

The Cottage is centrally located - just a five minute walk away from first beach and cliff walk, since it was cold outside we decided to do Cliff Walk, a great adventure! We also loved our room. It was spacious yet very cozy. I saw another comment about a plunger in the room, and unlike the other reviewer, I really appreciated it! I've been known to have a sensitive stomach and it's always embarrassing to have to ask someone for a plunger because I clogged the bowl, so better it's in there!

There are some fun idiosyncrasies of the house like a carrot museum. This is a place with a lot of character, charm and soul.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoy coming back time and again to stay with us, and we are looking forward to the next time. Best wishes Romana and Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Me and my husband thought it would be a good idea to take a weekend away from the kids, therefore he insisted we take a trip where we could have time to focus on us. Newport has always been one of our favorite destinations so we researched local B&Bs in the area. I have always liked the home-like and welcoming atmosphere that a B&B offers, and after careful consideration, The Armistead Cottage seemed to be the perfect fit.

We arrived and were greeted by a friendly hostess. Romana showed us to our room and after we settled in, she gave us a tour of the house which included the carrot museum which was recognized by the Guinness Book of World Records as the largest single carrot collection and it was quite interesting. Romana was also very helpful with her suggestions of dining locations. The restaurants she recommended turned out to be excellent.

One thing I consider very important is the cleanliness and the house was absolutely spotless. We woke up to a delicious breakfast prepared by Romana at 9AM and we had a lovely conversation with her and her husband, Charles. Romana is very cheerful and has a great sense of humor and made us feel welcomed in her home.

Overall, our stay at the cottage was fantastic and we highly recommend The Armistead Cottage to anyone who needs a weekend away. Thank you Romana and Charles for making our stay memorable and pleasant. We will definitely be coming back the next time we need another weekend away from the kids or just to enjoy one another’s company.

Sandy and Brad

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieandRo, Owner at Armistead Cottage, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Sandy and Brad
We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us and had such a wonderful experience. It was a pleasure meeting both of you, and we hope that you will have the opportunity to come back and do it all over again, Sincerely, Romana and Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband and I went for a one night getaway. Location of the BnB was very good. There were some idiosyncratic but fun elements about the inn...the carrot museum to begin with. Our room was poorly heated...bathroom had no heat whatsoever. The shower was very small and I am not that big (5'4"). It was nice to have a TV in the room with a large collection of DVDs available to watch. The fireplace was very nice. However, the night we arrived the toilet was not working. There was a plunger right next to it leading me to believe there are some ongoing plumbing problems. The breakfast was not very good...and there were WORMS on my plate! Apparently, the owners grow their own mint, which I think is fantastic. Next to my French toast, there were two mint leaves. Another guest at one point during breakfast asked me,"Is something moving on your plate?" I saw two tiny green worms, reaching one by one for the French toast. They were the same color as the mint, so I can understand how they would have been cammouflaged and unnotived. We told the owner. What was upsetting, was that there was no apology about it, just an "How did that happen?!" response, which I thought was unacceptable. When we checked out, we thought she would reduce the charge, but no. This place is not worth it. We won't be back. My suggestions to the owners: With some upgrading and attention to detail, this place could be so much better...We would have been more likely to recommend the BnB and return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nadiaboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I had a week off of work and decided to take my girlfriend on a nice relaxing trip to Newport to unwind and hopefully, relax a little. We researched a lot of nearby places and Armistead came up and we decided to read the reviews. Needless to say, the reviews were right on the mark. This place is amazing.

Romana, the hostess of this great little B&B was a joy to be around. She was full of life and personality, I found myself listening to her with utter enjoyment. The breakfast was great, healthy but hit the spot just right. There was also a young lady, I believe her name was Emine, who was just a joy to be around. She helped with the keeping the place spotless which she did very well.

The rooms were immaculately kept clean and the atmosphere was cozy and romantic. Me and my girlfriend had such a great nights sleep. The B&B was located in a very quiet street, and was close to the renowned cliff walk. This place is just as described, a great way to enjoy a weekend with someone special.

I highly recommend Armistead Cottage for anyone heading to Newport and looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We celebrated our 16th anniversary at the Armistead in late October. The room was very romantic, the breakfast was fantastic and Romana is truly one of a kind, in the most complimentary way of course. If you go to Newport and don't stay here you will regret it.
Sincerely, Gary and Laura from NH

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLPERRIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.4 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#7 of 95 in Newport
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armistead Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armistead Cottage

Property: Armistead Cottage
Address: 55 Hunter Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armistead Cottage is a Victorian style bed and breakfast with two guest rooms offering elegant king or queen accommodations and all the comforts of home, such as air conditioning, private bathrooms, romantic fireplaces, flat screen cable televisions, with DVD/CD and WiFi. A full gourmet breakfast is included with your stay as well as free on site parking and more!!!! We are located within walking distance of Cliff Walk the beach and the beautiful downtown harbor with all its restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Armistead Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing