We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sweet New Year's Eve stay”
Review of Armistead Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Armistead Cottage
Ranked #14 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2008

My boyfriend and I were looking to spend New Year's Eve outside of Manhattan and remember Newport being quite beautiful from an earlier trip. All we really wanted was a cute B&B with a fireplace, Armistead Cottage gave us that along with an incredibly gracious hostess (Ramona) and amazing food (her breakfast offerings were very good). I especially loved that the rooms and bathroom (and entire house, for that matter) were spotless. She also provides free sodas, bottled water, and candy, which came in handy for those late night sugar cravings.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 274 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2008

Wanting to celebrate 1st Night in Newport, we reviewed
several B&B's. We couldn't have made a better choice than
the Armistead Cottage. Owners Romana & Charles have
captured the essence of what makes for a relaxing, interesting
(check-out the carrot museum) & refreshing stay. We loved
our room- adorned with antiques, fireplace, & Victorian decor.
Even a heated towel-rack ( we enjoy being spoiled).
The delicious breakfast was a good start to the day- and a bonus was our fellow guests were great conversationalists.
Great B&B's attract like-minded travelers. Overall,
a top notch inn- one we will return to.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Holmesagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This was, hands down, the best bed and breakfast I've been to. Everything was just as I'd want it. Our hosts, Romana and Charles, were very friendly and extremely informative about the local attractions, restaraunts and activities. The breakfasts were superbly prepared and refreshigly different. Overall I really liked the fact that, due to the smaller size of Armistead, I truely felt at home..... Romana and charles were extremely attentive, but also did not invade our space. They were both there if you needed something, but never overbearing as some hosts can be. The carrot museum was quite funny, and Romana was kind enough to show us some of her stained glass work. I personally prefer b&b's because of the personal feel of the experience, as opposed to the commercial coldness of Hotels. This was a perfect example of the level of personal care that make b&b's worth staying in.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emptyfootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

Nov. 6-9, 2007
Charlie and Anita, New Jersey

We were so lucky to have chosen the Armistead Cottage from the dozens of B & Bs, inns, and hotels in Newport. Our room was cozy, charming, and immaculate--as was the entire cottage. The three course breakfasts were phenomenal! Not only is Romana a wonderful chef, but she's a fun, easy-going, and accommodating host. She is also very knowledgeable and answered all of our 'tourist' questions. Her tips made navigating Newport so much easier. Romana and Charles have made their home very welcoming--from the warm decor, to the in-room fireplaces, and the dish of cookies and mints that were waiting for us every day! There were so many extra 'touches' that added to our perfect stay. The cottage is close to all the Newport attractions, but just far enough away from 'downtown' that you are able to enjoy a peaceful stay. We enjoyed our stay so much that there is no need to look for any other accommodations when we visit Newport again. We would most definitely return, and will recommend the Armistead Cottage to family and friends.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Roscoecat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

This was our first stay at a B&B. My husband and I had avoided B&B’s due to some anxiousness regarding sharing a home with other guests and the host/hostess. Ramana, our hostess, was so comfortable in her skin, that there was never a single moment of awkwardness. Our experience was totally favorable, creating a very high standard by which to measure other B&B stays in the future. Ask about "Charles Sightings," witnessed by only one of us.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jillsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

What a delightful surprise! While I have always enjoyed a good B&B, my boyfriend was very hesitant about staying here. We had a great time exploring the city of Newport. We were within walking distance to most parts of town and a very short drive to all other areas of interest. The furnishings are gorgeous, the owners were fun and very helpful to ensure a great time was had by all. This city has something going on ALL the time. Very impressed. Thanks Romana & Charles!

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank capecodvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

If you want a nice personal experience when visiting Newport, RI then book a stay at the Armistrad Cottage B&B. The owners are warm and friendly. The atmosphere is very inviting. The location is convenient. The rooms are well-furnished and interesting as is all the house and you will get to see the fabulous "Carrot Museum" put together by Romana. It's a knockout with about 2000 items. And Romana is tons of fun. All of the above and the price is right to boot. In short, my wife and I had a wonderful stay with Romana and her husband. But don't expect eggs for breakfast as you will have three courses far more interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneoyeFalls_NYRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,068 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armistead Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armistead Cottage

Address: 55 Hunter Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $189 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armistead Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armistead Cottage is a Victorian style bed and breakfast with two guest rooms offering elegant king or queen accommodations and all the comforts of home, such as air conditioning, private bathrooms, romantic fireplaces, flat screen cable televisions, with DVD/CD and WiFi. A full gourmet breakfast is included with your stay as well as free on site parking and more!!!! We are located within walking distance of Cliff Walk the beach and the beautiful downtown harbor with all its restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Armistead Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armistead Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing