We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - glad we stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marshall Slocum Inn
Ranked #9 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place - glad we stayed here”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It's more a B&B to be honest...and a wonderful one at that. Quaint with lots of antique furnishings. They've gone out of their way to make this a quiet, peaceful and memorable stay. Free iPads if required. No TV - which at first seemed a bit odd, but later felt that simply added to the ambiance. Stay here - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Call well in advance - they'll be full a LOT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we enjoyed meeting you. We do have televisions in some of our rooms as well as IPads with Netflix and Hulu Plus for guests to watch television and movies..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    82
    17
    13
    5
See reviews for
37
305
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I were at the Marshall Slocum Bed & Breakfast for a two night stay this past November 2012. Once entering the B&B you are made to feel immediately welcome and at home! We stayed in the Rose Room, which was wonderful - a room of good size, clean, neat and tidy! There was a cold bottle of Bubbly and an Assorted Cheese Platter for us upon our arrival, just as we had requested - they are "very" accommodating at the Marshall Slocum!

The B&B is very centrally located, yet still in a "quiet" neighborhood, so within just a few minutes walking you are right in the middle of town/the piers where all the action is.

Mark arranged the Mansion tickets for us, so the following day after breakfast we were good to go with no lines, no waiting!

A fresh, hardy and delicious Breakfast Menu is offered every morning (see photos) and this also offers a nice time to chat with Mark (Owner and Chef) about all there is to do in Newport, fun things to see, restaurants to visit - gearing up for all the days events/walking while enjoying a nourishing breakfast meal.

We enjoyed our stay so much, I've just booked another visit to them this coming April 2013!
This time We will try out the Captain's Quarters and we are very much looking forward to our next trip back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla-frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your review Carla. We look forward to seeing you in April again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Marshall Slocum Guest House very much. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and the idea of sharing your experiences over breakfast with fellow guests was great. I would recommend the guest house to anybody - it's located really centrally and Mark was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction for restaurants and all the points of interest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a wonderful two nights here and were made most welcome, with tips ad ideas and the most yummy breakfasts. Great location to visit the mansions, walk or take the trolley to save energy for the houses! Somewhere we would definitely go back to if we visit Rhode Island again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marielle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had read a few reviews online and read about the room 6. Panic set in when we were shown to this room! But I need not have worried, it was just perfect. Possibly small by American traveller standards but as a European this was more than fine and the room has a large bathroom which helps give the feel of more space.

The bed linens were lovely and luxurious, and with the room being at the top of the house, was very cute and snug. We had to leave early to travel on after just one night so we didn't get to have a breakfast or meet the owner in pereon. My only reservation was the bed, although comfty, as it was a little squeaky so any turn or move made a noise. Would be fab if this could be looked at as the only small annoyance in an otherwise lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Comfortable rooms, great breakfast and good location to walk downtown. Very relaxing place at a reasonable price. Mark is a great chef and very knowledgable about the area. The breakfast experience here, mingling with others from around the world is fabulous. Oh and Newport is a town you need more than just a few days to see.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer53f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night and wish we had booked another night or two. From the moment we arrived, we felt comfortable and welcome. The owners are very relaxed, allowing their guests to feel like their home was our home. There was a nice sitting area inside full of books about the area. Outside, you could sit on a patio and enjoy a hot or cold beverage. Our large room was in a converted garage in the back of the property, which was very private. The king-size bed was SO comfy and the linens were top-notch. The bathroom was large and all the amenities were provided. The Inn is located in a charming neighbourhood full of stately old homes, and is an easy 10-minute walk to the marina where there are ample restaurants to choose from. We had a great sleep (super quiet) and breakfast was a choice of French toast, an omelette or yogurt parfait and coffee cake - made fresh for each guest. We were surprised at how many guests showed up for breakfast - you'd never know there were that many guests in the house! All were super friendly, and the conversations with the other guests added to our positive experience.

On another note, Newport was amazing. There's a 3.5 km cliff walk which is easy and level and enables one to see the front yards of the mansions lining the sea. You can purchase tickets to view the inside of the mansions with a self-guided audio-tour. We parked our car at one end, did the cliff walk to the other end, and took the bus back to our car. Easy peasy. All of us wished we had another night in Newport - such a lovely place, and such great accommodation. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Slocum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Inn

Property: Marshall Slocum Inn
Address: 29 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Marshall Slocum Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to its original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Marshall Slocum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing