We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marshall Slocum Inn
Ranked #8 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a wonderful two nights here and were made most welcome, with tips ad ideas and the most yummy breakfasts. Great location to visit the mansions, walk or take the trolley to save energy for the houses! Somewhere we would definitely go back to if we visit Rhode Island again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marielle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    87
    17
    15
    5
See reviews for
44
326
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had read a few reviews online and read about the room 6. Panic set in when we were shown to this room! But I need not have worried, it was just perfect. Possibly small by American traveller standards but as a European this was more than fine and the room has a large bathroom which helps give the feel of more space.

The bed linens were lovely and luxurious, and with the room being at the top of the house, was very cute and snug. We had to leave early to travel on after just one night so we didn't get to have a breakfast or meet the owner in pereon. My only reservation was the bed, although comfty, as it was a little squeaky so any turn or move made a noise. Would be fab if this could be looked at as the only small annoyance in an otherwise lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Comfortable rooms, great breakfast and good location to walk downtown. Very relaxing place at a reasonable price. Mark is a great chef and very knowledgable about the area. The breakfast experience here, mingling with others from around the world is fabulous. Oh and Newport is a town you need more than just a few days to see.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer53f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night and wish we had booked another night or two. From the moment we arrived, we felt comfortable and welcome. The owners are very relaxed, allowing their guests to feel like their home was our home. There was a nice sitting area inside full of books about the area. Outside, you could sit on a patio and enjoy a hot or cold beverage. Our large room was in a converted garage in the back of the property, which was very private. The king-size bed was SO comfy and the linens were top-notch. The bathroom was large and all the amenities were provided. The Inn is located in a charming neighbourhood full of stately old homes, and is an easy 10-minute walk to the marina where there are ample restaurants to choose from. We had a great sleep (super quiet) and breakfast was a choice of French toast, an omelette or yogurt parfait and coffee cake - made fresh for each guest. We were surprised at how many guests showed up for breakfast - you'd never know there were that many guests in the house! All were super friendly, and the conversations with the other guests added to our positive experience.

On another note, Newport was amazing. There's a 3.5 km cliff walk which is easy and level and enables one to see the front yards of the mansions lining the sea. You can purchase tickets to view the inside of the mansions with a self-guided audio-tour. We parked our car at one end, did the cliff walk to the other end, and took the bus back to our car. Easy peasy. All of us wished we had another night in Newport - such a lovely place, and such great accommodation. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Marshall Slocum Inn is very charming! The location was perfect! Walking distance to practically everywhere! It was in a quiet neighborhood with beautiful other Inns and homes in the area; a very safe walk during the nights. We were very impressed with the gourmet breakfast menu that changed daily. I wouldn't say the same for the coffee. Mark was very hospitable and quite helpful with suggestions in the area.

We stayed in the snuggery and although it's the smallest room, we were pleasantly surprised with the size of it. The bathroom is upstairs and you have a spiral staircase, so I don't recommend anyone with any physical challenges to get this room. Overall, it was good however the bed felt like it was sinking in the middle. Unfortunately, that was the only bad experience we had. Aside from that, I would say the Inn was awesome!

We ate at some of the best restaurants during our 10 day east coast trip. Restaurant Bouchard is highly recommended. Make sure to order the Soufle! We also found a quaint place called Rosemary & Thyme that served a variety of panini's/sandwiches. OMG! If you want something different, try this place. We ate at the Brick Alley Pub in town our first night and was also a good place that had everything on the menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutunatu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

So in attempt to give my parents an anniversary gift, I contacted this bed and breakfast to reserve a two night getaway for my parents. I wanted to give my parents a voucher in a their anniversary card. The lady who I spoke to offered to overnight the voucher to us and she also offered to "WAVE THE FEE" of the overnight charges. I thought it was a nice gesture and I said thank you. On her way to the post office to send me the voucher she found out that the price for shipping was higher than she assumed. She then decided to call me up and tell me the price was more than I thought it was and wanted to charge me for the shipping. I told her, well maam you offered to wave the fee. She responded saying, "Yeah but I didn't know how much it would cost." I then said to her, "Well you shouldn't have offered if you didn't know." She said, You're right. Listen we're not the Marriot, we're a small bed and breakfast, if you wanna take advantage of us you can. I thought you were a nice guy but you're not." After, being insulted I then proceeded to ask her to cancel the reservation. I then called back to ensure I would get my money refunded. I spoke to the owner and he told me, "It was a mistake on her part and all you [--] people in New Jersey don't have class." I was never treated with such disrespect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
This particular incident did not occur with our Inn and we are unsure as to why this is being posted on our page. The reviewer did not refer to any of our staff by name nor do we mail gift certificates. All gift certificates are emailed to purchasers. We can assure all readers of this post that we provide 5 star customer service to all of our potential guests and in house guests. Please refer to our other reviews. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at several B&Bs in New England. This wasn't "over the top" but it was fine for the price. Breakfast was good, and close proximity to everything. Mark gave suggestions on things to do, places to eat, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDtrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilsonri, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. Newport was recently ranked one of the top most expensive hotel cities in the United States. We pride ourselves in providing a great product at a fair and affordable price. View our specials for many of our great deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.6 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Slocum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Inn

Property: Marshall Slocum Inn
Address: 29 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Marshall Slocum Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to its original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marshall Slocum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing