We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

This B&B is a hidden gem in a great location just off Bellevue Avenue. Noreen is great to work with and very accomodating of individual needs. She will gladly make excellent restaurant recommends if you want to eat where the locals do. Settle in and enjoy feeling like you have a home away from home while visiting Newport.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel201011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    8
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We (husband and our two dogs) spent Thanksgiving week in the studio apartment and we could have not asked for more. The room was clean, comfortable and a great location for our morning walks with a park and the "cottages" just a block away. Everything worked just the way our hostess said it would, and she provided a wealth of information about the area. While we were there for a family gathering, the B&B provided a calm place when we needed it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank J&JHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Dear Noreen,
In our brief 3 days visit, we walked our two greyhounds (Samson & Delilah) along the entire Cliff Walk. Little did we know that they are part mountain goat as well.
Our time here was every bit worth the 835 miles we drove from Cincinnati, Oh (West Chester). You must load google earth on your computer. I will post our pictures there for you to find. After all, that's how we found the Murray House.
The dog friendly restaurants were wonderful, and the October weather, sunny & 70' something, could not have been more idlyllic.
Each day we returned to our room, we were enchanted by the new table settings.
Samson & Delilah were overjoyed with the dog treats you left.
Without further digression, Murray House and our hostess, Noreen, far exceeded our expectations in a wondrous setting.
Don't change a thing.
Alex, Cindy, Sampson & Delilah.

This letter is what I wrote in the guest book at the end of our stay. In addition to this, the proximity to the dog park and beach makes this location even more prime. Our two greyhounds make a road trip a bit more involved, logistically. Noreen's Murray House is the kind of place pet owners search for and don't always find.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandCindyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

was disapointed with murray place,we have stayed at over 6 different B&B's in Newport and i have to say i was not pleased with Murray Place. When we got to Murray Place after a 3 1/2 hour drive we were 10 min early and were asked to come back in 20 min because the room was'nt ready which we thought was rude after our long drive.When we were brought to our room the room was small and had a musty smell. We were told not to close our door to our room because of the breeze thats comes through but we think it was to hide the musty smell, so we had to keep most of our belonging in our car because we could not close or lock the door.The only nice things are you do get a hearty breakfast served to your room and the grounds of the Inn are very nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shin1370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Murray House Bed and Breakfast is absolutely charming! I had a smaller room as it was only my daughter and myself, but it was roomy enough for two. Room was very clean and decorated very nicely with alot attention to detail. The private patio and pool area were beautiful. The innkeeper was very nice and her gourmet breakfasts were delicious! Overall an excellent experience and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spieslak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

My wife and I spent the better part of the week at the Murray House. Accomodations were excellent! Poolside room was very comfortable and roomy. Breakfasts were spectacular--different every day. Our host Noreen was very helpful pointing out places to go and was on the money with restaurant recommendations. Really enjoyed ourselves. Noreen also delivered tremendous weather!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laddiemut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed at 1 Murray House B&B in mid-May for a short get-away weekend. What a nice find -- a B&B located very close to the Newport Mansions and the Cliff Walk area. Noreen was a pleasure to work with in making our reservations, helping us to know about great places to eat in Newport, and doing the extra effort for our special requests like extra coffee and doing some research for us when we needed to figure out an impromptu wedding gift for some friends. We stayed in the Safari room and it was comfortable. Bathroom was a nice size. It was wonderful having a mini-kitchen for snacks, beverages, and such. We would definitely stay here if we visit Newport again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daybreak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hawthorne House of Newport
Hawthorne House of Newport
#51 of 102 in Newport
5.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#2 of 102 in Newport
5.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#12 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#11 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
#14 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#26 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast

Property: 1 Murray House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Murray Pl, overlooking Almy Pond, Newport, RI 02840-4223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reasonably priced in a fabulous Location. Short walk to the beach and the Newport Mansions. Gourmet breakfasts served to your room. Private outside entrances and private patio areas to each room. In-ground swimming pool and hot tub. Cable TV, WI-FI, A/C,& ceiling fans in room. One room with a water view and screened summer room. All this and at a reasonable price. Seasonal rates 99 to 299. Did I say private? Nice! Think about waking up in a sweet place! Murray House B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing