We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
145
60
26
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
60
26
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small plates tapas style boutique hotel a king deluxe room oats scones tea selection the bed was super comfortable warm cookies minute walk complimentary breakfast outside patio old house no elevator upon check the air conditioning bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 243 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2016

We came from Alabama to visit the wonderful town of Newport and had a very pleasant stay at Gilded. We occupied 3 rooms which were all decorated beautifully and provided a wonderful atmosphere for our trip. The breakfast each morning was a healthy selection which had something for everyone, and at night we enjoyed sitting on the patio playing games and talking. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go with the exception of Castle Hill Inn and getting to Cliff Walk. We started Cliff Walk at the end rather than the beginning, which i recommend. When we finished the trail we walked up to a great pizza place in town and then back to Gilded. Our trip and our stay at Gilded could not have been any better. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lc0uch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016

The term 'gilded' accurately represents this bed-and-breakfast-style hotel, as its overall charming aesthetic masks the unsanitary conditions and lacking features of this property. While it seems that each room in this hotel may be laid out differently, room 303 was so tight that the door touches the bed when opened, making it difficult to maneuver in and out of the room. The gold-accented decor throughout the room created a modern feel, but would have been much more appreciated if the room was actually clean -- there were dead bugs in the bedroom's overhead light fixture and the dust was visibly thick on the velvet headboard. In addition, the stall shower lacked a curtain or door. There were also ants crawling around the hot water/coffee/tea area by the reception desk.

If not for the dirt problem, Gilded could potentially provide a wonderful, intimate stay in Newport. There was ample on-site parking available, and the tourist attractions were easily accessible by walking. The small plates breakfast (coffee cake, fancy oatmeal, salad, etc.), was convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sonya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W, Public Relations Manager at Gilded, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Yes, Gilded is quirky indeed, and each room is totally different from the next - we think that's the charm of it! The room you had is our petite queen, which is a small, but therefore our most affordable accommodation. Some of our rooms and suites are very large - we really have something for everyone. We're dismayed to hear that you found the room to be so unsatisfactorily cleaned - please be assured we are addressing the issues you raised with our housekeepers as these types of things are unacceptable to us, and we're certain are an anomaly. Thank you for your feedback so that we can take care of these issues right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

The staff at this hotel is wonderful!!! They are so friendly and made us feel right at home!!! They were happy, polite and smiled a lot which we loved!!! The room was very clean and adorable. The bed was so comfortable, I wanted to take it home with me. :) We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

the Lark Hotels concept is so attractive, as are their Attwater and Break properties, so maybe Gilded is their exception. It is more like a run-down B&B than a luxurious boutique hotel
the staff tries their best but can not overcome the physical limitations of the property. If the long hair on the shower floor in the tiny bathroom was not enough of a turnoff, the room was too dimly lit to even consider reading (perhaps hiding other dirty areas).
The limited selection at breakfast was problematic for anyone with dietary restrictions or preferences. At $500/night not having decaffinated coffee or a dining room were only some of the unacceptable factors.

Room Tip: try somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ellmktg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W, Public Relations Manager at Gilded, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Gilded is a very different style to our other Lark Hotels, and may have not been to your design tastes if you've loved The Attwater and The Break in Newport and Narragansett RI respectively. It's a very historic building, which definitely has its quirks, but also has a ton of charm and many people adore that about it. We do, in fact, have a dining area, both indoors and out, though we're sorry to hear that you didn't find the selections plentiful enough... if you stay again, please do let the customer service team know of any restrictions or preferences you have, and they will be very happy to incorporate that into breakfast during your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

My husband and I were looking for a reasonably priced spot for our one night in Newport and Gilded fit the bill perfectly! Very eclectic, fun atmosphere...imagine mixing an older victorian style home with modern design...fun! It is centrally located for everything we wanted to see while in Newport (Cliff Walk, downtown). The breakfast is small (sampling basically), but enough for me and very tasty. My hubby left a little hungry but he likes a big breakfast. I would stay here again when in Newport.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JodiDanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W, Public Relations Manager at Gilded, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

So glad you had such a great stay at our boutique Newport hotel! Eclectic and fun is a great description of Gilded, and the location is really idea - quiet, yet super accessible to all of Newport. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews