We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solidly adequate, but disappointing. Expensive for what was offered.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solidly adequate, but disappointing. Expensive for what was offered.”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

My mother and I traveled to her high school reunion and chose this hotel because it was the closest to the location, a necessity when driving in the dark in unfamiliar locations. The hotel was well booked so the only thing we could get was a smoking room. The hotel offered the use of an ionizer which resulted in my several hour stay in the lobby while the machine worked without much effect. The restaurant's fare was average and uninspired. The large portions would have been welcome if I was sharing or if the room came with a fridge. (The hotel offers a fridge upon request for an additional fee which is waived if there is medical need.) As it was, I picked the vegetables and a few bits of pasta out of a cloyingly cheesy pasta primavera and left behind a serving of pasta still large enough for two. The waiter was nice but not particularly attentive, though he did assist the other diner with guiding others in his party to the hotel by cell phone.

The room was clean, disregarding the smoke stench, but humid despite the cool temperature. We were greeted in the morning by a very mellow grasshopper that had spent the night. The room had two beds, a TV, AC, iron & board, a coffee pot, and a wardrobe, but no fridge or microwave. Presumably due the the hotel's proximity to the casino across the street, there is a safe in the room, for which privilege all travelers are charged $1.50 unless they request the fee's removal. The fee is rather mysteriously titled so as to make it harder to spot on the bill as an unused service. My understanding of the safe's insurance is that the hotel is only liable for $10 of goods if you use it and your things are still stolen. That's a pretty high cost of insurance.

The staff were helpful if you posed direct questions but didn't go out of their way to make you welcome otherwise. Parking was free but a game of musical chairs. One night's stay for two that made me ready to turn around and go home without ever setting foot in Newport cost over $200 with tax included. We spent the next night in a fabulous bed in breakfast, in town, with a private garden, breakfast, and a jacuzzi, for less. For those traveling for leisure, we'd recommend calling the Newport tourism center to get help locating a B&B.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaplenCranberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    190
    163
    86
    82
See reviews for
160
242
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Decent hotel...nothing fancy, but I have to say that $160 a night was kind of high. It was more expensive because we stayed the weekend in a summer month, so I understand that part of it. However, we were located in a separate building from the main front desk, so if you needed anything, it was quite a walk. Not very convenient if you need something from the main building. Other than that, it's a good place to stay since it is only a mile from town!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlmerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Okay, so I know the Best Western isn't the Hilton or the Hyatt, but you can usually count on a basic, clean room. Not the case at the Mainstay Best Western in Newport, RI. The lobby was nice enough, and the people at reception were nice enough, but once we walked through the double doors that lead to the hallway to the guest rooms, it was another story. Immediately we were struck with an overwhelming odor of strong cleaning supplies (burns-your-lungs strong). When we got to our room, it only got worse. The antiseptic/cleaner smell was stronger, but there was also an underlying smell of mildew/mold. We tried leaving the fan on and A/C running, and we even bought a scented candle, but nothing helped. We tried opening the window (no screens) to air it out, which is when we noticed the massive mold stains all over the curtains. (see photo) The shower was good, and that the tub drained well, but we were afraid to step on the bathroom floor because of the mass quantities of mildew on the tile. (see photo) Needless to say, the upgrade to a B&B was well worth the extra $$.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittersmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Mini-vacation to enjoy Newport summer activities. Originally set to stay at higher-priced downtown Newport hotel, but found the Mainstay for less. Why not use the savings for spending money! You can pay more for the extras elsewhere, but our stay here was good for the buck. Would return if another visit to Newport.
-Great location: close to downtown; good eats & stores available in nearby area.
-Rooms: functional; clean bathroom/tub/towels (my top criteria!!); supplies readily replenished; great water pressure in shower!!; nice having a safe.
-Service: friendly, efficient check-in/out.
-Pool: smallish. We didn't use but would be good for families with kids.
One down side - We were on the NO-Smoking floor but this was ignored. From my room, I could smell someone smoking in another room. Perhaps the no-smoking rule can be enforced more rigorously by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobbie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I was hesitant to book with this hotel but it was in Newport and near the Touro Synagogue which was a site we wanted to visit. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by what I found. The room was very nice and very comfortable. The price was very reasonable as well. I have to say that the only concern is that if i did not have a GPS I would not have found the property so late in the evening. All in all I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2TravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

If you're looking for a no frills place that’s comfortable and clean and a lot cheaper than the hotels in downtown Newport, this is the place. It’s at a great location just outside of the middle of Newport with easy access to everything by car. The rooms are clean and the in-room refrigerator is an added bonus. My only complaint is that the beds are a bit too soft for my liking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
238 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Had to stay here w/ the boss for work. This is a discount hotel so amenities are NOT to be expected. But it was dirty, old, smelly, run-down, not easily accessible and the rooms were utilitarian. The bathroom was ghetto, period. The bed was OK, but the comforter, blankets, pillows were low-rent as well.

It has to be re-stated that this hotel is not competing w/ the high-priced Newport chains, but it was just NOT a good hotel by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
173 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one mile from Newport, Rhode Island's historic waterfront, Mainstay Hotel and Conference Center offers convenient amenities and relaxing facilities in a great location. Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; ATM; fitness center; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing