We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience Newport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
2 reviews
“Good experience Newport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Newport, RI Best Western and really enjoyed our stay. We had a King suite for 2 adults, 2 teens and it was a nice room and overall good experience. We were on the 4th floor and the walk to the pool was a bit of a walk, but other than that we liked the hotel. The bed linens were missing for the sofa bed upon arrival, we called the front desk and within 5 minutes they were delivered. We also had a problem with one of the televisions, and it was replaced immediately. Hotel was only a short distance to the Newport mansions, without the price of staying directly in Newport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank G2556WDrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    179
    162
    86
    82
See reviews for
157
236
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We basically avoid the lower-end chains, but had no choice as the hotels of Newport were either full or over the top in price.
Our stay here was better than we really expected. The standard of interior design leaves a bit to be desired, the bathrooms tired and depressing but the room was big and the bed comfortable.
Good parking and a quiet room at the back with a grassy and foresty view left us perfectly happy.

Room Tip: back ground level room looking at the parkland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gra1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stay in a lot of nice hotels for work. And I also stay in a lot of not-so-nice hotels for personal travel. I'm okay if the not-so-nice hotels don't charge nice hotel prices. This Best Western, however, charges super nice hotel prices for a really poor hotel experience. The hallways smelled like mildew, if you get a unrenovated room then be prepared for outdated less than awesome experience. If you get one of the smoking/pet-friendly rooms, be prepared for super mildew and a barely functioning air conditioning unit. In the renovated rooms, the beds are SUPER comfortable, but everything else feels old and weirdly threadbare...lamps, fridge, ironing board, etc. was just old and felt grimy. For the price they charge, one should expect a nice experience than this. It's really unfortunate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alyssa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Pleasantly surprised !! The room was big , comfy and clean ( nicely updated :) Restaurant was Great ! Drinks were awesome . We would Definitely stay again. Everything was close enough to get to . This hotel made it possible to stay longer in Newport in Peak Time of Summer on a Holiday Weekend .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was pretty much the only place we could find for a last minute stay for 5 on the 4th of July. It's right outside downtown Newport across from First Beach and the Atlantic Beach Club. If you stay here, you can park at the hotel for the beach and save $20 on parking. If you don't mind the no frills hotel and only need a hotel room to shower and sleep this place works fine. The only complaint we really had was a drunk kid banging on our door looking for his room in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We visit Newport often, and booked the BW Mainstay via booking.com.

Given the high prices and low availability in Newport during the high season, the option to stay one night plus a reasonable room rate decided us.

The hotel could use some updating, but our room was clean and comfortable with a flat screen TV, mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. We found the front desk staff efficient, helpful, and courteous. One huge perk was the inexpensive shuttle service to downtown Newport and to the beaches.

Overall it was a fine place to stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

there was a baby crying somewhere nearby that woke us up. The footsteps of the upstairs resident was very loud. Poorly lit room and bathroom. Decent bed. Dirty carpeting. No protection in ground floor window to keep it from being forced open. Nice lobby and good check in staff. Should have been redone 10 years ago. Very disappointing. TripAdvisor's rating of 18/21 might be too generous. It certainly is not a place that I would return to and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. There are some nice B&B's in Newport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 151 Admiral Kalbfus Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1310 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one mile from Newport, Rhode Island's historic waterfront, Mainstay Hotel and Conference Center offers convenient amenities and relaxing facilities in a great location. Across the road from Newport Grand Casino and half a mile from Newport Naval Station, we are just a few minutes drive from historic mansions, beautiful beaches, a bustling harbor and many other area attractions and activities. Our 200-room facility offers complimentary parking; seasonal shuttle service (surcharge) to downtown; ATM; fitness center; seasonal outdoor pool; self-service laundry; complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as conference and banquet facilities to host your private party or corporate event for up to 150 people. North End Steakhouse, our restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from 6:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. Sundays to Thursdays, and until 10:00 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, with bar service daily from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. We offer casual, friendly dining for all tastes, with a special accent on signature steaks and great seafood featuring Steak Night Tuesdays, Rib Night Wednesdays, Seafood Thursdays with changing lunch, early bird and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Mainstay Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing